KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

It's Just Lunch

Is this your company?

It's Just Lunch

Add a Review

It's Just Lunch Employee Reviews about "matches"

Updated Oct 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 317 reviews

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
It's Just Lunch CEO Melissa Brown
Melissa Brown
183 Ratings
Pros
  • "Can work from home, flexible hours, excellent training program(in 34 reviews)

  • "This is dating, and can be a little bit of a roller coaster, but when you hear your clients success story it makes coming to work worth it(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Tough to hit commission with selling dating during covid(in 35 reviews)

  • "Most of the old leads have bad numbers and emails but they keep rotating them around to different reps so it looks like you have more leads then you do(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "matches"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Be prepared to lose sleep at night

      Sep 30, 2020 - Dating Specialist in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’ve had a few different sales positions including car sales and fundraising (direct sales), so compared to those types of positions this is miles above that. You have a nice work-life balance. Management is encouraging, coworkers are friendly and eager to help. You CAN be successful here.

      Cons

      I left because IJL started messing with my base pay, which is not okay and not what I signed up for. You can mess with the commission structure all you want, but when you start messing with my guaranteed, that’s when I don’t trust you anymore and I know you don’t have my best interest at heart. Be aware that this company is very misleading and you will lose sleep over it. The company tells its clients that they can’t “promise love” but they are the best option because they vet and interview everyone, so you will only get matched up with top-tier clients. So the thousands they spend will ultimately make sure the matches they get are willing to spend thousands to also “find the one” and can afford it. The matchmaking side is sloppy and do not make the extra time to give the client what they want. I’ve seen supermodel 10s get paired with momma’s paying 2’s. So with this job you have to mentally prepare yourself to screw people over. It would be fine if you were only dealing with CEO’s and attorneys, but instead you are forced to tell preschool teachers to pull out another credit card or put themselves into debt over a service you know your company cannot perform. Like I’ve mentioned, I’ve worked in fundraising where only a small percentage of donations goes to nonprofits and also in car sales but this is a tough pill to swallow.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      RUN!!! The five star reviews are FAKE

      Oct 25, 2020 - Executive Matchmaker in Miramar, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Nice office/location -Staff (other matchmakers helpful/supportive) -Hourly pay amount was good

      Cons

      -All five star reviews are bogus -Toxic culture (the one thing that bonded staff was a hate for the job) -You are brought in under the preface of "making a difference in people's lives" its all BS - I cannot stress this enough!! -You are expected to do 80 hours of work in a 40 hour work week; if you stay to do overtime you are encouraged to show up to your next shift later so they do not have to compensate you for the extra work/time you stayed. -When you contact clients they typically are apprehensive and disgruntled because you will be the 6th or 7th matchmaker they have spoken to (this is because the job literally is so awful your coworkers walk out left and right). -Clients love to tell you how much they dislike the company, and constantly want refunds because it is not what they were promised when signing up. -You play damage control for 8-9 hours straight. As you put out one fire and talk a client off the ledge, you will get another client handed to you who requested a new matchmaker because of the same problem, there are no matches, they haven't been on a date, the matches presented are awful and they want a refund. -There is no training or discussion on how to make more money besides the hourly compensation - therefore under $40k a year is what most matchmakers will make. -Expected to keep your phone in ready your entire shift which means that while you are trying to match or respond to e-mails you can take a call quite literally at any time and it could be someone else's client and they will take your time telling you anything they can.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      If It's Just Lunch - Bring Your Own Brown Bag - Cause Their Serving Sh*t

      Sep 18, 2019 - Sales Associate in Ontario, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was hired. They put my up in a really nice office at their expense.

      Cons

      My God - where to begin? There were NEVER enough people to match, so calling an outdated list of leads that begged and threatened to be left alone was pure folly. There were virtually NO new people on their leads list - so everyone keep calling the same people OVER and OVER - some were even married by the time I got to them. DNC (Do Not CALL) next to a name - didn't matter if you needed to make a sale. How in the world does a company barely advertise, have no leads and thus NO one to match? If you do FINALLY get someone on the phone? Granted there were top sellers - If you DID manage to sell you did get a few fresh leads. I closed ONE measly sale the entire time I worked there and had to CANCEL her contract because there was NO ONE to match her with!!! No leads = no matches = no sales. This is a horrible job. I would dial and pray for voice mail - or get cussed out because someone else from IJL called 30 minutes earlier with the same sales pitch. Yes - I needed a job - which is why I was there. So thanks for that. I pray I never have to be this desperate for a job again.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Do not waste your time working at this fraudulent corrupt company

      Aug 10, 2019 - Executive Matchmaker in Miramar, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved my co-workers and the environment was upbeat

      Cons

      Run as fast as you can unless you want to be part of the lie that IJL is. All day is about dealing with clients that are rightfully upset at the lack of service provided. They will most likely have more matchmakers than actual matches as an IJL member. If you want to get yelled at all day by abusive clients only to be told to put up with it by management then this job is for you. Clients want refunds and threaten to sue more often than not, and they will never get their money back because “we can still service them”. There is NO time limit as to when the dates guaranteed are supposed to be fulfilled. Most clients are on the “recruitment list” which means that there are zero current matches for them. They will remain on this list indefinitely. Matchmakers are constantly quitting because of treatment by dissatisfied clients and because of lack of support by management. You are set up to fail because there really aren’t enough matches for clients. IJL has such a bad reputation that working there will affect your own. Stay away from this disaster of a company that is currently being sued. Do some research before even agreeing to an interview.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Pathetic sadness....

      May 6, 2014 - Dating Specialist in Hallandale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None, that I can think, maybe that you get to work from home?

      Cons

      Horrifyingly bad management, sad, really sad data base of "potential matches" So, basically, they are ripping people off for thousands of dollars when they really don't have a match for them. People are better off taking their chances at match.com or plenty of fish or even eharmony. An article recently posted to The Wall Street Journal stated that match.com has hit the 25 MILLION marker for active profiles. At least there they have some guys/gals to choose from. It's Just Lunch not so much. They are having their employees call leads from two, three even four years ago. Trying to pressure them into joining. Glorified telemarketing rip off and that is for the client. The employees make 140-175 phone calls a day trying to get people to pay a few thousand dollars to join. Now, that is a a lot of no;s and hang ups. If you don't care about making 150 calls a day, reading from a script and getting hung up on. Then you will be fine.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      Human Resources Director

      We realize that not everyone who is hired turns out to be a good fit and that it is not necessarily a poor reflection on them or the company, it was just not a good fit; but this can lead to some employees becoming upset or even disgruntled. We try to avoid these situations with extensive training, management support and years of experience in mentoring and coaching, but unfortunately, an occasional outburst sometimes gets posted online. While we respect their freedom and rights to share feedback on their experience and appreciate them doing so, there are some factual inaccuracies we’d like to clear up, particularly that we have produced over 2,000,000 first dates and thousands of marriages to date.

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Run the other way!!!

      Jul 15, 2014 - Inside Sales Representative in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The list is short. I guess I would say after working here you can work anywhere else and instantly have a higher self esteem and a lot of patience and be very good at your phone skills.

      Cons

      They rip off clients left and right. It's sickening. There will only be in some areas maybe 5 clients total. You are told to sell them based off one client being open. They let people join for $199 and others pay $5,000 being told there is hundreds of thousands of matches when in reality there is ZERO except our current clients. They take on participants for free and try to get employees to refer their friends and family to date clients. Clients get to work with $12/hr paid dating directors that don't care about their job. Clients get stood up because they are told to go to the wrong place at the wrong time and this is truly not a match making company. It's a disfuctional company that only cares about making money. They do not care about their employees. They pay $8.50 an hour plus commission which amounts to poverty income for most and 1% of the employees might bring home the bacon. If you are wanting to be a client, run. If you are wanting to work here, your nuts.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      Human Resources Director

      Our Dating Specialists present a value proposition to clients and if they feel they are a fit for our services, they may join as a member. There are different levels of membership with different terms and services provided, to best fit our clients’ needs. We have provided over 2 million matches which have resulted in thousands of marriages. Although certain areas may vary in population, we do not bring on members if we are unable to match them. Our employees have varying compensation plans and many perform better than what this former employee claims. It is unfortunate if this employee was unable to match the performance of others. Finally, all dates are confirmed by phone and email, including locations, times, etc. and thus, the claims in this post are not accurate and do not reflect the service we provide to our clients.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Dating Specialist

      Jul 5, 2015 - Dating Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Weekends off work from home.

      Cons

      If you want to be a robot then this is the place for you. Being micro managed and being forced to sale lies to customers is not a great. All the managers sound like they are programed like a robot to talk the same as they do and want you to do the same. Its crazy its like a cult. You are forced to sale dates that are even matches aslong as they get the money. I had customers tell.me that they never received all their dates and call back to corporate to get them and nobody ever called back i use to hear this all the time. One of the managers i worked for she was a psycho she would call me 10 times a day and complete control freak. This place is fraud and everyone that works their is a fraud. They could careless about the customer or employees all they want to do is steal money from customers and mistreat employees. Run away from this place its bad bad organization. Any reviews on here that are any good are the managers that trying to save face its bogus reviews.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Run don't jog or walk

      Jan 20, 2015 - Dating Specialist in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home, PTO time

      Cons

      I left a lucrative position because of an unpleasant work environment. I was told by the recruiter the rookie was making $50,000 a year..so not true! This would still have been a pay cut but doable. I was the top sales person at my old position and could barely give these memberships away. They are overpriced and the matches are horrible. In most states there isn't even enough matches. You have to lie to these poor people who want to find love and continuously call people who have asked numerous times not to be called. The management is so phony in an almost cult like way. They have all the same answers when questions arise. I lasted 3 months. The pay @ 8.50 an hours is unrealistic and then with the draw you might as well kiss the good week you may have been lucky to have goodbye by the next pay. All these reviews that are good are from the home office which is a complete joke. This company should be called It's just Lies!!!

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice Staff, Terrible Business Model, Miserable Clients

      May 29, 2015 - Director/Matchmaker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff is nice and tries their best to be helpful. You work from home and have the flexibility to move around your home office.

      Cons

      You sell to people who trust you and then are not involved in their matching process. There are not enough men to match with the women and people are sent out on dates that are absolutely terrible matches for either of them just to get the client out. It is a terrible waste of the client's money. They sell dreams to these people, are on a quota, and you won't make any money, $12 an hour unless you sell a ridiculous amount of memberships to unsuspecting people. If you are desperate for a job you will sell your soul in this one. The hours are horrific you work at night and all day and it is very difficult to juggle your life, especially if you have a family as I do.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A REAL SCAM

      Jan 23, 2014 - Dating Sirector in Hallandale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The training is short and the work isn't supervised, you can have your cell phone on you and you kind of make your own schedule if you have over time so you can come in late or take an extended lunch

      Cons

      They can be extremely prejudice and have preferrential treatment with employees. There is a lot of gossip, mostly done by the management team. Lying to clients about the fact that they will get more then we are actually going to give when it comes to dates. They fire minorities primarily. It really is a scam and they advised African Americans that they have matches when there are none.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

    Popular Careers with It's Just Lunch Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at It's Just Lunch? Share Your Experiences

    It's Just Lunch logo
    or