KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

It's Just Lunch

Is this your company?

It's Just Lunch

Add a Review

It's Just Lunch Employee Reviews about "old leads"

Updated Aug 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 317 reviews

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
It's Just Lunch CEO Melissa Brown
Melissa Brown
183 Ratings
Pros
  • "Can work from home, flexible hours, excellent training program(in 34 reviews)

  • "This is dating, and can be a little bit of a roller coaster, but when you hear your clients success story it makes coming to work worth it(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Tough to hit commission with selling dating during covid(in 35 reviews)

  • "Most of the old leads have bad numbers and emails but they keep rotating them around to different reps so it looks like you have more leads then you do(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "old leads"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Dating Specialist

      Dec 10, 2013 - Dating Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can honestly say this is the best job I have ever had!! My schedule is very flexible which is great for appointments, illness, even making plans with family and friends! Income potential is fantastic. Work from home. I hope to work here for years to come!

      Cons

      This is sales! It is hard work but the payoff is huge! But if you are not disciplined and you don't want to put forth 110% effort every day this is not the job for you! We do work old leads and they may not be happy when you call them, but its all about timing! You may call someone and they are ready now!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great concept poor execution

      Aug 30, 2020 - Dating Specialist in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent base salary to start.

      Cons

      Leads-during the interview process I asked a lot of questions about leads and was reassured they had more than enough leads. They brag about the quality and abundance but it is all smoke and mirrors. There are very few new leads coming in so you might get 1/day and of those many are bogus, bad quality Facebook or instagram clicks not a quality lead. In reality they expect you to cold call leads up to 20 years old even married people or people that asked not to be called again which is illegal but they don’t care. Most of the old leads have bad numbers and emails but they keep rotating them around to different reps so it looks like you have more leads then you do. Managers take the best leads which is infuriating. Sales reps are struggling to hit their numbers but managers cherry pick the leads. They try to project a team atmosphere but make no mistake it is very individualized. Once you go thru training it is next to impossible to get a manager to help. Since it is a revolving door of employees they are constantly hiring new reps and managers are always in training. Most reps do not make it a year, there are a handful of reps that make it but most see right away how the company operates and the opportunities they talk about during the interview are not achievable. Then if you do get a few sales the customer service is so bad they sometimes just cancel. Read the reviews they are very accurate online about how clients are treated. Matchmakers stick clients on hold without consent so they don’t have to match them, it is horrible how they ignore clients calls and emails. If they actually followed thru and offered the services we sell this company would be incredible.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      CEO

      Thank you for your feedback and opinion. Your comments are focused on the leads you receive from various sources in which potential clients show interest in the service. However, it is contradictory for you to imply that there are not enough quality leads while also citing numerous examples of platforms from which you receive leads daily. Our experienced Dating Specialists focus on providing information and answering questions about our service. This process thrives on the continued training and support given by our managers to new hires and existing team members. It is also unfortunate that you believe Sales Managers are too engrossed in selling and training team members as that is their primary function. We value your feedback and encourage you to reach out to one of our numerous managers if your direct manager is not available for a question regarding the process.

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Would NOT recommend

      Mar 26, 2020 - Inside Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can't think of any at all.

      Cons

      Weak training that encourages being uber pushy asking for a credit card at least 3 times after being told the client wants to think about it because if you do not close on the first call, you can forget it. TOO long script that encourages you to be fake. Old leads, poor training pay, lied about overall pay (base does NOT equal $50k) can NOT work from home, fresh leads only given to mgr and maybe one or two other sales people, low value to product offering.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      CEO

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your thoughts on our training process. While we appreciate feedback that can help us make improvements, we do also rely on the company’s proven success as a measure of our training program. We provide a comprehensive training platform and ongoing support to our sales team in a variety of ways including webinars, role play, self-study and ongoing instruction from talented Sales Managers. Additionally, our Dating Specialists obtain success by incorporating positive energy and excitement into discussions with potential clients. What you have described as ‘fake’ is your perception and perhaps why you did not find it to be a good fit. IJL is in the business of helping clients with their dating life, and a positive attitude towards the matchmaking process is imperative to a Dating Specialist success. Regarding the pay, our new Dating Specialists are paid a competitive salary of $24.03 per hour and have the ability to earn performance incentives as well.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Dating Specialist

      Sep 20, 2018 - Dating Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Positive , mostly happy work environment ! I’m a very positive and upbeat person and I always make the best of everything and all situations . I love helping people find solutions and love .. so this was a great fit for me ! I was excited to excel at this job .

      Cons

      It’s hard to go negative , rather I simply inform and tell it as I experienced it to try and help others with realistic expectations. I was disappointed with the “old leads” that were provided , as I felt the salary that the company offered , although very adequate , was “dangled as a carrot “ and not quite attainable . I called at least 100 leads a day and no one ever answered . When they did , they were not interested as asked to be removed from the list . Some of the leads went back to 2008 .. in fact and that seemed to make it quite difficult to earn the proposed salary , which was more than motivating ! CRM was also inefficient . Salesforce is a much better tool for overall success . I consider myself talented in sales and more importantly , in helping others . Unfortunately , there were no “fresh “ leads and no one for me to help . Very disappointed ... And a word to Mgt. ... I don’t think we need to be micro managed or babysat ... most of us have the ability to exceed expectations . Let us be responsible , hard working and diligent and we will surely shine !

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Dating Specialist

      Nov 2, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      That you work in a climate controlled environment. There are benefits after 90 days. Training is fun and very easy if you put the effort into it.

      Cons

      This company is full of misleading promises and unrealistic expectations. You are not able to work at your own pace and get into your own grove. the office environment is very micro managing and the only ones making sales are the ones that have been there for a long time. There is a few others that work form home and another one in the office that has been doing dating sales for a long time. They are the top salers in the company. If your prepared to be a telemarket agent sitting at a desk all day making 8.50 and hour calling old leads that have been harassed, some called over 40 times then this is the job for you. But if your looking for a career job with a true team and want to go home feeling good about what your doing find something else. Everyone that is working there is looking for something else literally because it's emotionally draining and negative with very low pay.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      This is the most unethical company ever.

      May 30, 2014 - Matchmaker in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get your own office.

      Cons

      This is the most unethical company ever. They hire men and then fire them after a few weeks. All to get around EEO. They listen to all calls and then call you if you didn't shove a contract down someone's throat. They give leads for your territory to someone else that they "like" so you are left with years old leads. Many are so old they have already gotten married! Commissions are paid based on a weeks sales so you won't make much over minimum wage. Better plan on working extra hours and weekends if you want to even have a chance at a sale. Other territories grab your calls after hours if you don't answer at the first ring. They lie about almost everything and the packages are so expensive even Lawyers and Doctors won't buy. You have to make over 100 calls per day to old leads who aren't home during the day. They change territories constantly so you may not have the territory where you live!!! And....you don't EVER give out your last name because unhappy customers have given death threats when you won't (can't) give their money back. Save yourself and don't even apply to this place!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      Human Resources Director

      At It’s just lunch, we adhere to All EEO guidelines and procedures, and would never hire or fire someone based on gender. As with most companies that employ sales customer service representatives, some calls are monitored to help ensure customer satisfaction and quality of service. On occasion, we discover that some representatives may need additional guidance, and we provide it. In most cases, the Rep’s are appreciative of the assistance they received as a result of the monitoring. We also have an unlimited income structure that is a performance based position and our successful Rep’s average over $75,000 per year. We are sorry to hear that this Portland Employee did not meet with success. This career is not a fit for everyone and we do wish them success with their future endeavors.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Tinder

      Mar 1, 2016 - Dating Specialist in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pro is that, this was employment. I was hired under good impressions and the desire to use my sales tactics and advance in a company.

      Cons

      Where do I begin? Commission structure changing . Shady recruitment tactic (ie promoting the job as $60k when they know that is NOT accurate-even with commission). They hire ppl to dial old old old leads. They make you believe that after you sell ONE, that you will be assigned to new leads. Lies! You will dial OLD leads called RDA.Tthey will try to show you the stats of other sales reps, but those ppl are NOT dialing old leads, they are in different campaigns and its always the same four or five people making those commissions. I was fired because I spoke up. I told other ppl about all the lawsuits, and management tried to play the lawsuits down. I spoke up about how it's unfair to change the commission structure so soon. Don't work here. Just save yourself the time , really.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      A bit too phony

      Dec 23, 2015 - Dating Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home. Decent training. Adjustable schedule. Most managers are very helpful.

      Cons

      Phony approach. Decade old leads. Repetitive DNC requests that are not honored. Dated CRM system. Favoritism... Same explanation for advice, as It is not catered to the individual. Not everyone is the same, so approaching someone to get the best out of someone is best when you really look at them and see where the opportunity for improvements lay. Scripted sales presentation is flawed... Looks like a glass ceiling...

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Have Fun Calling 15 year old leads!

      Jun 9, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You work from home.

      Cons

      You work 9 hours a day calling old leads that have been called 100+ times in the last 15 years and had originally said "no" when given the sales pitch. They train you to call them 3 times in a row for weeks and weeks on end "until you get the join". Some of these people called in, found out how over-priced the service is, and said no.....then we call them for 10 years until they answer the phone shouting expletives at new employees.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Client advisor

      Apr 9, 2018 - Client Advisor in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay, nice office, working with people from different backgrounds. Interesting job, something you wouldn’t think of doing. Could have potential to help change someone’s life.

      Cons

      A scam. A literal scam. Over priced. Employees are told to lie to customers. Terrible customer service tactics, told to tell clients they aren’t invested in themselves when they want to cancel memberships. Matchmakers make intentionally bad matches just to get to a quota. Matchmakers call old leads and try and con them into joining just to meet a sales goal. Management refuses to talk to unhappy clients and address their concerns. No refunds to clients even when they do not receive even close to the services they are promised. Morally unethical.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      CEO

      It seems as though you did not work for us for very long, which may explain the numerous inaccuracies regarding our customer service, clients, and integrity as a company. IJL Midwest values a positive work environment, where employees invest themselves in the success of our clients and always have their best interests at heart.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

    Popular Careers with It's Just Lunch Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at It's Just Lunch? Share Your Experiences

    It's Just Lunch logo
    or