It's Just Lunch Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Oct 6, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
It's Just Lunch CEO Melissa Brown
Melissa Brown
181 Ratings
Pros
  • "Can work from home, flexible hours, excellent training program(in 34 reviews)

  • "This is dating, and can be a little bit of a roller coaster, but when you hear your clients success story it makes coming to work worth it(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Tough to hit commission with selling dating during covid(in 35 reviews)

  • "Most of the old leads have bad numbers and emails but they keep rotating them around to different reps so it looks like you have more leads then you do(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work from home"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Its Just Lunch is a Great Company

      Nov 10, 2014 - Dating Specialist in Hallandale Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work from home; no weekend work required; company provides your equipment; great potential to make a lot of money with really hard work and a lot of luck

      Cons

      unrealistic sales goals for new and veteran sales associates

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Be wary of the 'desperately trying to improve our star rating' 5-Star reviews that were posted a few weeks ago.

      Jan 3, 2014 - Dating Specialist in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home, flexible schedule.

      Cons

      Unprofessional leaders, turnover at the highest rate I've ever seen, training is a joke, they coach you to be untruthful to clients, there is nothing professional about the matchmaking that happens (it's all based on age range and location), more bad reviews than the company knows what to do with, so many unhappy customers that are upset because they were ripped off. I don't blame them for being upset the customer service is a 24-hr voicemail line that nobody ever listens to. Seriously, there are too many cons to list. If you say to yourself while reading the negative reviews here 'oh that person just had a bad experience, it's like that anywhere you go' you are horribly wrong, trust your gut and keep on with your job hunt.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      Online Marketing Coordinator

      Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. I am sorry to hear that you do not view your experience while with us as positive. Without going too much into our internal policies, I did want to clarify that it is absolutely against our policy to be untruthful with clients. I realize that everyone responds differently to different training styles, but we get great feedback on our training. We also have thousands of client success stories of happy couple who have met through us. We really do wish you the best of luck and appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Pathetic sadness....

      May 6, 2014 - Dating Specialist in Hallandale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None, that I can think, maybe that you get to work from home?

      Cons

      Horrifyingly bad management, sad, really sad data base of "potential matches" So, basically, they are ripping people off for thousands of dollars when they really don't have a match for them. People are better off taking their chances at match.com or plenty of fish or even eharmony. An article recently posted to The Wall Street Journal stated that match.com has hit the 25 MILLION marker for active profiles. At least there they have some guys/gals to choose from. It's Just Lunch not so much. They are having their employees call leads from two, three even four years ago. Trying to pressure them into joining. Glorified telemarketing rip off and that is for the client. The employees make 140-175 phone calls a day trying to get people to pay a few thousand dollars to join. Now, that is a a lot of no;s and hang ups. If you don't care about making 150 calls a day, reading from a script and getting hung up on. Then you will be fine.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      Human Resources Director

      We realize that not everyone who is hired turns out to be a good fit and that it is not necessarily a poor reflection on them or the company, it was just not a good fit; but this can lead to some employees becoming upset or even disgruntled. We try to avoid these situations with extensive training, management support and years of experience in mentoring and coaching, but unfortunately, an occasional outburst sometimes gets posted online. While we respect their freedom and rights to share feedback on their experience and appreciate them doing so, there are some factual inaccuracies we’d like to clear up, particularly that we have produced over 2,000,000 first dates and thousands of marriages to date.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Dating Consultant

      Apr 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working from home. A very minimal base salary and benefits.

      Cons

      The company nearly 100 sales people and had constant turnover. They were constantly rehiring but did not have enough leads for the sales people who had been with the company for some time, much less enough for a staff of 100. Also, the commission structure was terrible. It restarted at $0 every Monday and unless you had made at least $8000 in sales by midweek, you knew that the rest of the week was a waste of time because no one was permitted to work over 40 hours and therefore could not attempt to "catch up" on the weekend. It was a highly emotional, very expensive sale with most days only 10 people out of 100 making any type of sale at all. Also, even though you were working remotely, the company is huge on micromanagement and will constantly skype you in the middle of sales call effectively distracting you from the conversation you were having with the potential client. Many also suspect, the company was more interested in obtaining people's information to sell to lead generation companies more than they were actually interested in having people join and actual matchmaking.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      Online Marketing Coordinator

      Sorry this did not work out for you. We give all employees equal opportunity for success, but not all positions are a good fit for everyone. We service over 150 locations worldwide, so we need a big team to support all of our clients. We would like to point out that IJL has never sold client information.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Dating Specialist

      Dec 10, 2013 - Dating Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can honestly say this is the best job I have ever had!! My schedule is very flexible which is great for appointments, illness, even making plans with family and friends! Income potential is fantastic. Work from home. I hope to work here for years to come!

      Cons

      This is sales! It is hard work but the payoff is huge! But if you are not disciplined and you don't want to put forth 110% effort every day this is not the job for you! We do work old leads and they may not be happy when you call them, but its all about timing! You may call someone and they are ready now!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Dating Specialist

      Jul 5, 2015 - Dating Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Weekends off work from home.

      Cons

      If you want to be a robot then this is the place for you. Being micro managed and being forced to sale lies to customers is not a great. All the managers sound like they are programed like a robot to talk the same as they do and want you to do the same. Its crazy its like a cult. You are forced to sale dates that are even matches aslong as they get the money. I had customers tell.me that they never received all their dates and call back to corporate to get them and nobody ever called back i use to hear this all the time. One of the managers i worked for she was a psycho she would call me 10 times a day and complete control freak. This place is fraud and everyone that works their is a fraud. They could careless about the customer or employees all they want to do is steal money from customers and mistreat employees. Run away from this place its bad bad organization. Any reviews on here that are any good are the managers that trying to save face its bogus reviews.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Unprofessional Management with the maturity level of a 9th grader.

      May 24, 2014 - Dating Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You work from home. No one breathing down your back at home. You get to eat your own food.

      Cons

      There are so many cons. The town of Stepford would love the management here! Women over the age of 50 are given ONLY ONE MATCH. Define Match according to IJL..LOCATION and AGE. That's it. I was given leads over 12 years old. Even when prospects request repeatedly to be put on the Do Not Call list, IJL NEVER does. They wait a month and keep calling them. Your name and number will continue to be called until you get married. To those reading the reviews, please keep in mind that the positive reviews are from the management of IJL, which has absolutely no credence. The negative reviews are from real employees and telling you how it really is. Don't walk...RUN from IJL. Save yourself a lot of time and effort put forth into this company. Lots of luck in finding people who will actually pay $3000 for a dating membership when other online dating sites can offer a LOT more for a whole lot less money.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      Human Resources Director

      We have had a positive and upbeat atmosphere at It’s just lunch for 23 years now and have found most clients love this about IJL. We match our clients based on numerous criteria, and have several levels of membership available for our clients to choose from. Our Sales Reps are trained and expected to follow all Do Not Call policies and procedures and we continually improve our software to streamline this process in order to make it easier and more efficient for our employees, as this has always been a top priority. Finally, our employees post on this site all the time. In fact it is rare that “managers” post, but they are allowed if they choose, and when they do, it is because they are sharing their own unique experience.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Run don't jog or walk

      Jan 20, 2015 - Dating Specialist in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home, PTO time

      Cons

      I left a lucrative position because of an unpleasant work environment. I was told by the recruiter the rookie was making $50,000 a year..so not true! This would still have been a pay cut but doable. I was the top sales person at my old position and could barely give these memberships away. They are overpriced and the matches are horrible. In most states there isn't even enough matches. You have to lie to these poor people who want to find love and continuously call people who have asked numerous times not to be called. The management is so phony in an almost cult like way. They have all the same answers when questions arise. I lasted 3 months. The pay @ 8.50 an hours is unrealistic and then with the draw you might as well kiss the good week you may have been lucky to have goodbye by the next pay. All these reviews that are good are from the home office which is a complete joke. This company should be called It's just Lies!!!

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      The truth about IJL!!!!!!

      Jun 21, 2015 - Dating Specialist in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working from home and not meeting these fake personalities in person. And that's pretty much it. The idea of their commission structure soundssssss great, but it's not happening.

      Cons

      You make no money! Unless you're okay with just making minimum wage this position will not be your ideal source of income. You might collect a decent commission every once in a while, but on average you're at the bottom of the commission structure because the sale is hard and what you collect is just 1-6%. Which is nothing! Unfortunate your clients don't have a positive experience with our service, and our reviews are very much forced or faked. We have all been asked to write positive reviews about our company I'm sure all the bad ones scare off new recruits, which it should! We host monthly trainings with 30+ potential employees and most don't make the cut! I left a nice job for this... Thinking it would be a smart move and it's not! Recruiter said to me that a rookie would make 50-75k annually, which was a pay cut for me to take but I liked the idea of working from home. But that's not what we make! Don't believe the fake reviews!

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice Staff, Terrible Business Model, Miserable Clients

      May 29, 2015 - Director/Matchmaker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff is nice and tries their best to be helpful. You work from home and have the flexibility to move around your home office.

      Cons

      You sell to people who trust you and then are not involved in their matching process. There are not enough men to match with the women and people are sent out on dates that are absolutely terrible matches for either of them just to get the client out. It is a terrible waste of the client's money. They sell dreams to these people, are on a quota, and you won't make any money, $12 an hour unless you sell a ridiculous amount of memberships to unsuspecting people. If you are desperate for a job you will sell your soul in this one. The hours are horrific you work at night and all day and it is very difficult to juggle your life, especially if you have a family as I do.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews

    Popular Careers with It's Just Lunch Job Seekers

    Inside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    CUSTOMER SERVICE/DATING COORDINATOR
    Learn About the Job
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at It's Just Lunch? Share Your Experiences

    It's Just Lunch logo
    or