Itron Reviews | Glassdoor

Itron Reviews

Updated November 13, 2017
220 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

220 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (3)

    "No work, Managers are bossy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    Work is less and hired people are more as they are acquiring new facility
    Looks in the same pace they will fire in near future.

    Cons

    Not much works.
    Bossy culture.
    If works come only senior person do it

    Advice to Management

    Hire how many candidate is required

    Itron Response

    Oct 31, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    We are very sorry to hear that you do not feel you are getting valuable work. We will continue to grow and acquire other companies to remain ahead of the game and leaders in the industry. However, it... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Spokane, WA
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Itron full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    People care about you and your development. They do a lot of volunteering and fitness programs. Overall very interesting industry with a great company.

    Cons

    Difficult work but it is very fulfilling. It can have the vibe of a big company where you can't get in contact with others very easily. But the pros of working here outweigh the cons.

    Advice to Management

    They are doing everything right!

    Itron Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – University Recruiting Program Manager

    Thank you for your positive feedback! We are glad to hear you are enjoying everything Itron has to offer!

  3. "De plus en plus difficile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Itron full-time

    Pros

    Un groupe international, un marché mondial en plein essor , des compétences et des produits de qualité

    Cons

    De moins en moins d'investissement pour développer le marché européen (y compris la France), une gestion rigide depuis les US, ambiance difficile en interne


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructional Designer in Oakland, CA
    Former Employee - Instructional Designer in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Itron full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company is doing some cool work in an important sector of the utilities industry. The technology is exciting and kept me interested in my work.

    Cons

    At the time I was there, management seemed to be having an identity crisis, and it was difficult to get a grasp on priorities... which resulted in sudden priority changes. In the training and documentation organization, we were constantly in a reactive status, which made laying in a good foundation for successful training programs extremely difficult. Management was sometimes promoted due to seniority rather than competence, which created leadership gaps and reduced morale.

    Advice to Management

    Aligned organizations should be working together, and not struggling toward conflicting priorities. Management positions should be based on high-performers and then supported with appropriate leadership training.

    Itron Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – University Recruiting Program Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are constantly making efforts in all of these areas and hearing this perspective is so important to our continued growth.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Itron"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ipswich, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ipswich, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Professional company, nice place to work, friendly people and supportive culture, good benefits, opportunities to progress, global footprint with opportunities to travel.

    Cons

    Company strategy is often not clear. Feels like everything is a work in progress. Changing goals and priorities.

    Itron Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. As we continue to grow and adapt to the industry it is our goal to make sure we are constantly communicating our strategy within the... More


  6. Helpful (4)

    "Good Company if you dont want to work or learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Itron full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible Work Timings.
    Not much work in most of the projects.
    Good Salary
    Especially good for women and senior people who want to settle down and not do much work

    Cons

    Not Much Learning Scope.
    Bonus are not given every year.
    The Bangalore management is only interested in increasing the headcount - recently more than 80 contractors were made as Full time employees - without much thought to capabilities.
    Many teams are being set up for more than 4-6 months without much work.
    Most of the sustenance projects and old technology work is sent to India - More than 70% projects are in stages of sunset or fix and fail stages.
    Very less career growth as there is not much work - people are relaxed and chilled out.
    Bad quality of work is done as the projects sent to India are Bad

    Advice to Management

    Increasing Headcount by hiring bad people does not mean you are successful.
    Improve HR and Senior + Mid management in India

    Itron Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    We're definitely disappointed to hear this feedback, but appreciate your candidness. We want all of our employees to feel fulfilled in their job, but we understand there are always growing pains. We... More


  7. Helpful (5)

    "Company gets worse every year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Waseca, MN
    Current Employee - Engineer in Waseca, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Itron full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Clean work environment as long as you stay away from the epoxy equipment. Great people besides management.

    Cons

    Management has no clear direction on anything. No bonuses. No profit sharing. Hard work will get you nowhere. No chance of moving up.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on your employees than your shareholders.

    Itron Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we are sorry to hear about your experience. We encourage you to speak with your local management to provide specific details and help us... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Boring place and depressing attitudes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Design Engineer in West Union, SC
    Former Employee - Associate Design Engineer in West Union, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Itron full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    decent pay, especially for this area
    manufacturing and R&D under one roof
    relaxed work environment much of the time

    Cons

    It's located in West Union SC and there is hardly anything to do there
    There isn't very many other places to work in the area so be careful buying a house
    The products they make are pretty boring to the general public
    Many or most of the people there are pretty old
    they don't have a fitness center and wont let you throw frisbee in the grassy fields

    Advice to Management

    give more incentive to meet goals and deadlines
    work closer with the design engineers and notice who is actually doing the work

    Itron Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. We do try and take care of our employees through compensation and regular activities and events to provide a rewarding and engaging... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Over all a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Back Up Team Leader/Operator in West Union, SC
    Current Employee - Back Up Team Leader/Operator in West Union, SC

    I have been working at Itron full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The pay is very good

    Cons

    Requires a lot of over time


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Average place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Itron full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good work life balance.
    Less work pressure.
    Flexible time.
    Kind of good technology work. But it may apply to only few team.

    Cons

    Bonus are not given consistently. Bonus are always given less than 80 % and some years even 0% was paid. And there is no transparency in number.No intimation, no letter about bonus and what is basis of calculation.

    HR especially Indian HR is worst. They have to come out of room and talk to people. Policies has to be defined properly and communicated to employees. Policies usually goes by mouth to mouth, instead of HR communication. Now this is not 20-30 people company.

    Career growth on technical side is not clear. And even there is no correspondence between designation and role.

    Mind set is like of service company. If some one has worked in product company expect same thing, they will be displeased.

    Recently they changed lot of contractor to permeant, in that few not worthy people were also transferred. Off late management in India is looking for man count than quality of work. So they are hiring without knowing what to do with people.

    Advice to Management

    Good that it has more focus on service model. Please continue on that. Also try to focus on non utility application(like gas, water and electricity) and more on value added to utility.

    Itron Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    We appreciate your candidness. As we continue to grow in this region, polices and procedures will continue to evolve and it is important that these be communicated across the company. We use... More


Showing 220 of 238 reviews
Reset Filters