KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

J. Alexander’s

Is this your company?

J. Alexander’s

Add a Review

J. Alexander’s Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 332 of over 340 reviews

3.6
54%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
J. Alexander’s Chairman, President, and CEO Lonnie J. Stout II
Lonnie J. Stout II
129 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good money, fast paced environment(in 25 reviews)

  • "Good Pay, Job Security, Benefits(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Can work long hours but always worth it with clientele and compensation(in 20 reviews)

  • "The side work and running duties were too much for less than 100 a shift(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of J. Alexander’s and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Review

      Oct 15, 2021 - Animator in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have great work hours.

      Cons

      I have nothing negative to say.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Too much work and not enough money

      Oct 15, 2021 - Server/Waiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers are fun people. I enjoyed everyone I worked with at J's.

      Cons

      Lots of sidework...lots of sidework. It would take me at least an hour to get my sidework done, finish my tables and roll silverware at least after every shift...even as a closer it is an unreal amount of sidework. The servers do everything at this restaurant...from taking orders to putting up dishes to cleaning the bathrooms (even changing the tampon bags). It is a lot of work for honestly, not enough money in my opinion. Dress code isn't enforced and cliental is pretty shady at times. You only get a three table section unless you do well and prove yourself, then you can get a four table section. Even with four tables, it just wasn't enough money for me and I am a strong server with lots of experience. I really liked the people I worked with but I had to leave because it just wasn't enough money for me and the work expected from the servers is unreal. Also, the matrix schedule is annoying. You can't request off any days. You are responsible for getting your shifts covered which isn't ideal for anyone who has other obligations. I hate to leave a bad review for a job, but I wouldn't recommend this serving gig to anyone who has experience. This is more of a job for someone who has never served before. J's has a specific way they want servers to serve and it's hard to break out of habits you've had forever. There is a specific jargon you are expected to learn. If you are a hard worker, they will notice but also you will be picking up a lot of slack from your teammates. I spent a lot of time putting up dishes in Hobart all night only to have to do it again after management or the closers would start reprimanding the servers for not pulling their weight when it came to running sidework. Anytime I tried to skip taking a right out of Hobart to put up dishes, it was noticed and I was reminded to do it. Putting up dishes every time you pre-bus when you're in your rush gets old pretty fast especially when you are one of three or four servers actually doing it. It's just a lot of running sidework and closing sidework for $200 a night in my opinion. If you've never served this is a good gig, but if you know your worth as a server, you can make more money at another restaurant in Nashville for a fraction of the work. They are huge on teamwork here and when it's done, it is great but when you aren't working as a team, be prepared to pick up a lot of slack. Also, be prepared to get stiffed. When I worked there, management was aware the cliental was stiffing the servers and was pulling for auto-great to be added and pushing for the dress code to be enforced. I don't know what it's like now on whether or not this has changed. A lot of the servers were miserable working here because upper management didn't have their back and wasn't pulling for them.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great money but extremely taxing

      Sep 14, 2021 - Server in Overland Park, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great money every shift. Consistent regulars. You know what to expect when it comes to stress level and late shifts. Getting out early is an added bonus.

      Cons

      Everyone in the industry is exhausted and understaffed. Management is frustrated. You have to run food and bus your own tables. Sometimes you end up taking the slack for lazy workers. You almost always end up closing the shift or are there almost as long as the closers. This makes it difficult to have another job or have your family be reliant on you at a moments notice.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great training

      Oct 10, 2021 - Server/Waiter in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent Training, great pay good benefits

      Cons

      Intense work environment, very critical

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company if you like rules

      Oct 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Dunwoody, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clear expectations for performance, friendly staff, clean, positive environment, happy

      Cons

      favoritism, harsh ranking system for employees, non-communicative, time-management issues, inconsistent

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Awesome experience and culture

      Sep 29, 2021 - Server 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Money, teamwork, fun, hours, opportunities

      Cons

      Hours, physical, benefits, staff issues, bad days

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      okay experience

      Oct 13, 2021 - Server in Oak Brook, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -somewhat of a flexible schedule -good food

      Cons

      -unethical management -too much for little money

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      good

      Sep 20, 2021 - Staff Accountant in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      cool people to work with

      Cons

      really busy but that makes good tips so...

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Terrible management

      Aug 31, 2021 - Server 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is an established restaurant with a consistent following.

      Cons

      J.Alexander’s was a self running machine. It was easy to make great money in tips with a consistent kitchen and working with strong servers. That has all changed this past year. The management does not want to be there and go out of their way to avoid doing their job. The restaurant is extremely understaffed and the attention to detail is gone.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Better than other places I've worked before

      Aug 8, 2021 - Server/Waiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Manager and staff really helps you as much as they can. You can make great money there and not having to leave so late. You just have to put the time in

      Cons

      You will work weekends and some shifts are slow than others but overall great place

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 332 Reviews

    Popular Careers with J. Alexander’s Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at J. Alexander’s? Share Your Experiences

    or