J. Alexander's Reviews | Glassdoor

J. Alexander's Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 205 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
J. Alexander's CEO Lonnie J. Stout II
Lonnie J. Stout II
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good money and nice discount for workers(in 15 reviews)

  • "The tips are good per table, the price points are high enough to make a decent amount and the majority of people will tip 20% if you are competant(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long Hours, Working Most Holidays(in 13 reviews)

  • "Side work is a little much but not horrible(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. Alexander's part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great customers and very good tips.

    Cons

    A lot of side work. Long hours.

    J. Alexander's2019-04-22
  2. "Left After Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. Alexander's part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You can make good money here serving, and hosts get raises but I didn't stay long enough to get any

    Cons

    Ridiculous rules and unfair treatment of staff, you pretty much can't request dates off and they won't allow you to work at other places which is crazy

    Advice to Management

    The rules and expectations are a little ridiculous

    J. Alexander's2019-04-01
  3. "good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J. Alexander's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great money, good hours, very flexible.

    Cons

    to say the least sometimes management is a little up your behind but I guess its was worth the pay.

    J. Alexander's2019-02-24
  4. "Host"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at J. Alexander's part-time

      Pros

      The kitchen is always clean, unlike many restaurants. Usually, never low on staff.

      Cons

      As a host, you make little to nothing.

      J. Alexander's2019-02-27
    • "Lots of favoritism"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Northbrook, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at J. Alexander's full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      High prices so checks are higher than average

      Cons

      Lots of favoritism with table rotation

      J. Alexander's2019-02-20
    • "Awful. Seriously don't work here."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Troy, MI
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at J. Alexander's full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Some really cool people work here. Unfortunately I think they just deal with the b.s. for the good money which is sad. If you are a good server or worker there are plenty of other places you can find that might actually treat you like a human being.

        Cons

        Where to even begin. Everyone hates their job. Probably because it is like the military and you constantly get barked orders over mundane details that no-one cares about. Like what direction the tip of the napkin is facing. I was never even formally introduced or welcomed. It was like I was just there. There is no team environment or culture of helping each other out. It's every man for themselves. I imagine the...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Respect the people that work with you, treat people like a team. No one wants to feel under appreciated and undervalued. Why do you think you have constant turnover? People don't respect the job because you don't respect them.

        J. Alexander's2019-03-11
      • "The whole staff works well as a team. Good work environment to be in! Fast pass!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Hostess in Columbus, OH
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at J. Alexander's part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Great place to work if your looking for short work hours/days and good pay. You get 40% off your food ONLY! The black dress it’s bad to wear, found all mine at the thrift store all designer dresses. Make sure you get comfortable shoes, will be on the go all day!

        Cons

        Can get slow at time but picks up randomly

        Advice to Management

        Management is great!

        J. Alexander's2019-01-25
      • "No"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at J. Alexander's full-time

        Pros

        Nothing at all, worst place to work

        Cons

        The whole establishment and how it’s ran

        J. Alexander's2019-03-01
      • "Toxic"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server in Raleigh, NC
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at J. Alexander's full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        When the "team" concept works-it works very well. I made decent money. Many guests asked for me.

        Cons

        Managers had favorites. Managers were quick to always respond to a customer complaint, and not support servers. No such thing as "friendly bust" amongst coworkers. Very rude, demanding, and hostile coworkers. I think the most disappointing experience was being verbally reprimanded on many occasions by management staff and coworkers. I was not alone. Every server that worked there had a great serving background, so it's...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Be kind to staff. Provide "coaching" and not "reprimanding". It's humiliating.

        J. Alexander's2019-02-23
      • "Money is okay, Run like the military"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at J. Alexander's part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Money, schedule in advance, busy

        Cons

        Micro management, run like a military

        Advice to Management

        Chill out

        J. Alexander's2019-01-31
      Found 205 reviews