J.B. Hunt Reviews | Glassdoor

J.B. Hunt Reviews

Updated January 22, 2019
1,058 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
J.B. Hunt President, CEO, and Director John N. Roberts III
John N. Roberts III
561 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Engineering department has a great community, good work-life balance, interesting projects" (in 30 reviews)

  • "great people and great environment to work in" (in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be tough for work/life balance depending on the account you're at" (in 79 reviews)

  • "If you're a driver, you know the drawbacks of the job as far as long hours and normal stresses" (in 92 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Associate Logistics Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J.B. Hunt full-time

    Pros

    People are supportive of personal goals inside & outside of the woorkplace. Culture is family-focused, driven to include, and encourages calculated risk. Challenging work; it's fast-paced, but everyone is there to support you. One Team, One Platform.

    Cons

    Seating & parking are crowded because quickly growing.


  2. "Great Communication During Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Management Trainee
    Current Employee - Operations Management Trainee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J.B. Hunt part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone I spoke with during the interview process was extremely helpful especially the HR person Cassie who reached out to me first and guided me through the process. In the second interview I talked with an Account manager and finally a general Manager which really gave me a good feel about the whole company!

    Cons

    The hair follicle test is extreme but I understand they have to hold everyone to the same standards as drivers.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with excellent communication with external applicants it's a great distinguisher.

  3. "Trucking company trying to transition to a technology company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    There was free fruit in the break room

    Cons

    HR had a lot of issues with logistics of onboarding


  4. "Awesome place of employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fleet Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Fleet Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J.B. Hunt full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The office staff was absolutely amazing to work with.

    Cons

    Hours were long at times.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    J.B. Hunt Response

    Jan 21, 2019 – Sr. Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for your post!


  5. "Overall this is a good lace to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lowell, AR
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lowell, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J.B. Hunt full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits are a good thing

    Cons

    None that I know of for now

    J.B. Hunt Response

    Jan 21, 2019 – Sr. Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for your post!


  6. "Great place to work if you can handle it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J.B. Hunt full-time

    Pros

    Great pay
    Customer relations
    Busy atmosphere

    Cons

    Stressful at times with the amount of work
    Long hours once on salary

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to complaints from your employees

    J.B. Hunt Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Sr. Director of Human Resources

    We have an open door policy so if you feel like your concerns aren't being heard, please move them up the chain of command.


  7. "Logistics Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Coordinator in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Logistics Coordinator in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J.B. Hunt full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good career experience, good people to work for. Like-minded individuals in management.

    Cons

    Given a lot of responsibility for the pay. Most other companies offer a much more competitive salary for the amount of responsibility you're required to shoulder here. Any career advancement is limited to the field unless you want to move to Arkansas.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your leadership in the field more competitively. You lose great talent to other companies every year because they pay better.

    J.B. Hunt Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Sr. Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for your post and insight. One option besides moving to corporate headquarters would be to consider promoting into another business unit. We have several in the DFW area and actively encourage... More

  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Inter-modal Driver in Fontana, CA
    Current Employee - Local Inter-modal Driver in Fontana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J.B. Hunt full-time

    Pros

    Friendly dispatchers, Organized progressive company that takes advantage of the latest tech and industry best practices, Good Benefits.

    Cons

    There are no drawbacks that are specific to J.B. Hunt. If you're a driver, you know the drawbacks of the job as far as long hours and normal stresses. J.B. Hunt works with you to be make your career as happy and productive as it can be. They are a forward-looking company and they value their drivers. The office personnel are considerate of drivers, smart, and good at their jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    J.B. Hunt Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Sr. Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for your post!


  9. "The working environment is okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Coordinator in Fayetteville, AR
    Current Employee - Logistics Coordinator in Fayetteville, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J.B. Hunt full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice people and interesting workflow.

    Cons

    Underpaid; lack of communication; unnecessary competition internally.

    Advice to Management

    Streamline the various branches goals.

    J.B. Hunt Response

    Jan 21, 2019 – Sr. Director of Human Resources

    I'd like to here more about your concerns. Please contact me directly, or reach out to your HR Business Partner, thanks.


  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J.B. Hunt part-time

    Pros

    Freedom
    Good Hours
    Great Team ( for me at least)

    Cons

    I can not think of any cons from this company

    J.B. Hunt Response

    Jan 7, 2019 – Sr. Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for your post!