J.B. Hunt Transport Reviews

Updated May 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
J.B. Hunt Transport President, CEO, and Director John N. Roberts III
John N. Roberts III
863 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay for the work requested(in 58 reviews)

  • "Many great people I have met during my 9 years at hunt(in 49 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Can have long hours on occasion(in 122 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is not really possible in this role(in 107 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of J.B. Hunt Transport and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Experience

      May 16, 2021 - Operations Manager in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Teams - Family Atmosphere - Fast Paced -Hands On

      Cons

      lack of opportunity - lack of training

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Innovative

      Feb 14, 2021 - Director of Logistics in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Highly innovative company focused on high growth and technology. The leadership really care about the people and are invested in growing the organization.

      Cons

      All growth opportunities and career advancements happen in corporate. Oftentimes as a seasoned professional you will find that leadership has absolutely no clue about the true nature of the business nor the team that they are leading. The VP's are typically moved from asset to non asset several times and are relying on the Sr. Directors & Directors to help guide theor decisions, however those people typically are from the same divisions as they are from so it's the blind leading the blind. It's deeply frustrating to try getting anything done from a business perspective if you are not in Lowell because a Coordinator or Analyst in corporate that has an entry level role can override a decision or effort of a Manager in the field and will get support from leadership in corporate. Much of the inefficiencies are built into their model making things extremely difficult to conduct business. This isn't the place for a serious professional that has lots of experience because all of leadership has been within the organization for 30+ years and still believe much of the old structure is appropriate for the organization today when it's actually the organizations achilles heel.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Local Driving Gig

      Apr 23, 2021 - Local Inter-modal Driver in Lancaster, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Pay, Decent benefits, Good Equipment, Steady, Consistent Work. Most issues can be reasonably worked out locally, but any issue I had with local management was always swiftly addressed by corporate management when needed.

      Cons

      Pay is seniority based, so regardless of prior experience- you start at the bottom. Your fleet manager determines your success. Some loads are easy money while others take forever. Pay is activity based, so the more you do means the more you make.. The longer it takes- the less you make. If you have a poor attitude, and/or don’t get along well with your fleet manager- you can be given the less desirable loads where you sit, and sit.. Plan on 12hour minimum days. As with any job in trucking- You suck, and It’s always your fault..

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      J.B. Hunt Transport Response

      Social Media Manager, Corporate Marketing

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback - we take all comments into consideration.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Lack of Growth Potential

      May 12, 2021 - Truck Driver/Trainer in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Company to work for Pay is Competitive Benefits are great.

      Cons

      Lack of Growth Potential Pay is maxed out New Drivers are earning same as Vested 10yr drivers within 90 days.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company and good team support

      May 12, 2021 - Carrier Support in Lowell, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training, support in anything you need help in or explain again to you.

      Cons

      At the moment I don't have any cons towards anything and anyone.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company

      May 12, 2021 - Capacity Procurement Representative in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People I worked with were good Great training Lots of room to grow Fastest pace of job I have ever worked

      Cons

      Work weekends periodically Minimum of 50 hours a week

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      2 years at JB Hunt

      May 12, 2021 - Senior Business Analyst in Lowell, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are united in the single purpose of achieving the goals of the company.

      Cons

      I didn't experience any negative situations.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Awesome company

      Mar 6, 2021 - Regional Service Manager in Lowell, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They are an amazing company to work for from Day 1. When I was with the company a little over a year during a physical they found an anamoly in my bloodwork which turned out to be a form of stage 3 bone marrow cancer. After working around treatments for almost 2 years and through a transplant snd time off on disability they held my job and allowed me to work from home or have flex hours never affecting my finances. When I came back in under a 18 months I was approached by a former manager who recognized my work through the times I was ill and after I returned from my transplant snd was recruited into a coveted position in corporate. They have been hands down, nothing but a great company to work for I could not see myself ever with any other company after 6 years. I plan to make this and have made this my home.

      Cons

      Like every job there are coworkers who are “bad apples” but typically they are weeded out quickly.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      May 12, 2021 - Transportation Manager II in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great employer with solid benefits and relaxed work enviornment

      Cons

      It can get busy at times and certain tasks may seem tedious

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Solid job

      May 12, 2021 - Driver Recruiter in Rogers, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay, good management, no forced overtime

      Cons

      Forced everybody back into the office quickly during COVID

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,726 Reviews

    Popular Careers with J.B. Hunt Transport Job Seekers

    Operations Manager Trainee
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Capacity Procurement Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Experience Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Operations Management Trainee
    Learn About the Job

    Work at J.B. Hunt Transport? Share Your Experiences

    or