KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

J.C. Hart

Is this your company?

J.C. Hart

Add a Review

J.C. Hart Reviews

Updated Nov 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 of over 32 reviews

4.4
95%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
J.C. Hart President John Hart
John Hart
23 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Real Estate professionals
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing

    Sep 29, 2021 - Maintenance Technician in Fishers, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They genuinely give a crap about their employees

    Cons

    Hiring process is very lengthy

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    J.C. Hart Response

    V.P. of Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback regarding your experience at J.C. Hart Company. We are pleased to hear that you feel we genuinely care about our Associates. While we recognize that our recruiting process is sometimes perceived as a little slow, this is intentional as we take our time to find the best core value and talent fit. In fact – that is how we found and hired you! Thank you for your dedication to J.C. Hart Company. We appreciate you. Karli Kohler – VP Human Resources

  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Awful experience

    Nov 23, 2021 - Leasing Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I genuinely have nothing to say here.

    Cons

    Please see “advice for management”

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Ok

    Oct 27, 2021 - Assistant Property Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Commission is good. Schedule is ok. If you are at a good property then the people you work with are ok.

    Cons

    I like the company but after working with different people I’ve realized that JC Hart is not good at hiring people who actually know what they are doing. Basically if you know how to kiss butt then you are good.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    J.C. Hart Response

    V.P. of Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback regarding your experience at J.C. Hart Company. We are pleased to hear that you think the commission is good and the schedule is fair. We regret that you feel we are not hiring the best or most competent talent all the time. Please know that our HR/Property Management and Operations Teams have worked diligently to hire and develop solid talent. Our recruiting process is sometimes perceived as a little slow because we take our time to find the best core value and talent fit. This year in particular, the Operations Team has worked to build a new PAS (Performance Acceleration System) that will officially launch in 2022. This is a system in which new Associates receive job-specific skills training and coaching in a consistent way so they gain needed skills, knowledge, and competencies during their first 6 months following hire or promotion at J.C. Hart. In the meantime, if you are willing to share the specific nature of your concern, I am willing to discuss it with you off line in hopes of getting it resolved. Thank you again for your input. Karli Kohler - VP Human Resources

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company

    Sep 15, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Westfield, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great people - great perks

    Cons

    - work weekends - deal with the public

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company to work for.

    Feb 25, 2021 - Maintenance Technician in Greenwood, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fair pay. 401K. PTO. Benefits

    Cons

    Frequent on call. Snow clearing in winter.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great structure. Lack of execution

    Jan 28, 2021 - Maintenance Technician in Southport, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, lots of parties, education opportunities

    Cons

    Very low raises, poor site management, Nepotism.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Competitive benefits in it’s industry but not in the job market

    Dec 31, 2020 - Leasing Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    •Encourages professional development •Founder is active in reviews and hiring process •Promotes several charities

    Cons

    •Lacks modern benefits compared to the general job market •Only focuses on benefits compared to its own industry rather than the job market •Uses common holidays as incentives to earn those holidays as days off (despite lack of business on holidays) •Very low base pay for very high work load depending on the property •Employees are heavily undervalued and construction is cheap which leads to maintenance inefficiencies and overworked employees •Other than sales and reducing expenses, other job responsibilities are pointless due to nonexistent incentives and it’s relevant accomplishments are often overlooked

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    J.C. Hart Response

    V.P. of Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. We appreciate the feedback regarding your experience at J.C. Hart Company. We are pleased to know that you appreciate all of the professional development opportunities offered. Development is a core value that we take very seriously and have made significant investments to really bring this core value to life! John Hart is very involved in all aspects of the organization and we are also pleased that you acknowledge his commitment to the hiring, annual review process and many charitable causes. J.C. Hart also makes a significant investment in benefits for all Associates which includes affordable healthcare, generous Health Savings Account contributions that are above average for the state of Indiana (regardless of industry), Employee Assistance Program focused not only on mental well-being but also a financial and legal component, generous 401k contributions, wellness bonuses and 9 paid holidays which includes your birthday as a holiday and in 2020 we offered Christmas eve as a holiday (10 paid holidays in 2020 while 8 is the norm for U.S. workers). We also encourage volunteer time and offer an additional 8 hours for charitable work. Regarding compensation, we have used a comp study to pay correct for the past 2 years which has resulted in merit increases 3.4% above the national average. J.C. Hart Company also gathers and monitors industry specific data to ensure compensation is in line with the market so that we can continue to attract, retain and motivate our Associates. We are always open to feedback and welcome the opportunity for you to provide examples of ways that we could specifically improve out total rewards strategy (compensation, benefits, development, recognition and paid time off/work like balance). J.C. Hart Company has been a Best Places to Work in the state of Indiana 9 times and plan to continue this trend. J.C. Hart focuses on sales and NOI as it directly impacts the cash flow a property can generate allowing for further investment in the property and our Associates from both a compensation and training/development perspective, which consequently impacts Resident experience and Investors selecting J.C. Hart Company as a Partner of First Choice. The gateway to achieving these results are lead generation, brand exposure and Resident enjoyable living experiences and is the reason our Regional Managers and teams strive for Excellence. Specific and direct feedback will only help us to keep improving and provide the best possible experience to all of our valued Associates. Please feel free to contact me (Karli Kohler VP - HR) directly with any questions or specific suggestions.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place to Work!

    Mar 2, 2020 - Assistant Manager in Noblesville, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great teamwork, welcoming associates from the whole company, most put together management company I have ever worked for, organization to the next level, consistently wanting their associates to succeed and further their knowledge, cares about not only the associate but also their family.

    Cons

    I couldn't list a single con so far.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good compensation, generally understaffed

    Feb 27, 2020 - Assistant Manager in Carmel, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great communication, most members of the executive team know everyone’s name, commission structure is very fair, focus on creating well balanced teams and hiring the right people. Overall, a wonderful company to work for.

    Cons

    Sites are understaffed and corporate just doesn’t accept that. Substituting AI for people is a cost cutting measure that I don’t agree with. It should be supplementing people, not replacing them.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fantastic work environment and amazing core values!

    May 31, 2019 - Bookkeeper in Carmel, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is extremely kind and helpful and welcomes you into their work family with open arms! This is by far the best company I have ever worked for and I hope this is my forever job. Not only is the work environment amazing, but they offer great pay and benefits as well as many rewards you can earn for your hard work. They also believe in having a balance between work and personal life which is very important! There are a lot of employees who have been working for the company 10+ years which I think speaks for itself. I just can't say enough nice things about this company. Best decision I made was applying for a job at JC Hart!

    Cons

    None that I have seen or heard from any other employee so far.

    1 person found this review helpful

    J.C. Hart Response

    V.P. - Exceptional Customer Experience

    We are thrilled to learn that your experience with JC Hart has been so positive. We are proud of our family culture and that you have joined the team. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

Popular Careers with J.C. Hart Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at J.C. Hart? Share Your Experiences

J.C. Hart logo
or