J. C. Penney "credit card applications" Reviews | Glassdoor

J. C. Penney Employee Reviews about "credit card applications"

Updated Dec 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
J. C. Penney CEO Jill Soltau
Jill Soltau
210 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The managers pressure you into getting credit card applications of they take away your hours(in 398 reviews)

  • "Benefits are too expensive and there are only a few full time positions(in 203 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "credit card applications"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "If you are SERIOUS about the beauty industry..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Jcp Sephora Product Consultant in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J. C. Penney part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love working here! Has taught me so much and grown my artistry. If you are just looking to work somewhere for a makeup discount then go to Ulta. If you are serious about starting a career in the beauty industry SiJCP offers you a BEAUTIFUL foundation to do so!

    Cons

    Credit card applications, clients consistently asking about coupons and smaller product range. Eveything else is honestly tolerable. Gets a bit frustrating when clients question the store's authenticity.

    Advice to Management

    Keep in mind that your associates are in fact people. Some deal with coaching better than other. Never ask your team to partake in something that you personally wouldn't do. Using the build, tear, build techniques always helps when tough coaching is needed. Asking for feedback from the team often will also give great insight as to what they are feeling/ thinking!

    J. C. Penney2017-08-20
  2. "Okay to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at J. C. Penney part-time

    Pros

    It was okay as a starter job

    Cons

    Too focused on credit cards

    J. C. Penney2019-12-20
  3. "Not a bad starting job, just don't select as main career path."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Manteca, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great friendly team staff atmosphere. Great benefits as a team member with JCP Rewards and discount offers. Good starting entry level job for experience to conduct yourself as a professional.

    Cons

    Too heavily focused on credit card applications. Offer more compensation incentives for hard working employees. Selection of team members should be decided by department not management.

    Advice to Management

    Don't stress employees too much about credit card applications, it hinders their hard work, efforts, and dedication. The means of determining value of daily work by the amount of credit card applications procured, is quite disheartening. How management interacts with the team members does heavily effect performance.

    J. C. Penney2019-11-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The discount is great, and can be used on a lot of things.

    Cons

    -Awful, and poor management. Often get yelled at for not getting enough credit applications. -The management never put in a tax form I filled out when I got married. -They owe me pay for hours that I've worked. -The credit card application pushing is terrible. -I never got my break on time, if I was working until 9pm I would be lucky to get it at 7 or 8pm. -Not honoring my availability.

    Advice to Management

    Stop yelling at us for not getting enough credit card applications! Pushing them onto customers that don't want them is manipulation!

    J. C. Penney2019-11-29
  5. "Great company, but really big push on credit card applications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy work, fairly relaxed environment (at least at my location), and I was basically in charge of myself

    Cons

    Credit card applications are everything. You get reprimanded if you don’t meet a certain quota per customers handled.

    J. C. Penney2019-10-22
  6. "Customer Service Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Woodbridge, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Nice people, ok management, ok place

    Cons

    -Force you to sell credit cards

    Advice to Management

    -Ok

    J. C. Penney2019-09-15
  7. "company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time

    Pros

    good relationships and nice work environment

    Cons

    having to make a quota for credit card sales

    J. C. Penney2019-08-29
  8. "Great first time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Aurora, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good experience for teenagers seeking their first job, fun-friendly environment, easy work, employee discount (that includes Sephora), build great customer service experience, flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Pressured to get customers to sign up for a JCPenney credit card, minimum wage, work on Thanksgiving, cleaning the fitting rooms.

    Advice to Management

    Become more organized, please.

    J. C. Penney2019-08-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good starter job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with Fun environment

    Cons

    Too much pushing for credit card applications. Ruins the experience.

    J. C. Penney2019-06-23
  10. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. C. Penney

    Pros

    Wonderful experience. Co-workers were great as well as management

    Cons

    Having the pressure all day to get I-caps (people signing up for credit cards.

    Advice to Management

    Turn over too high....why you ask? Not enough hours. Remember that there are other good qualities we have besides I-caps!

    J. C. Penney2019-06-21
Found 398 reviews