J. C. Penney "credit card applications" Reviews | Glassdoor

J. C. Penney Reviews

Updated Feb 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
J. C. Penney CEO Jill Soltau
Jill Soltau
233 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good starter job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with Fun environment

    Cons

    Too much pushing for credit card applications. Ruins the experience.

    J. C. Penney2019-06-23
  2. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. C. Penney

    Pros

    Wonderful experience. Co-workers were great as well as management

    Cons

    Having the pressure all day to get I-caps (people signing up for credit cards.

    Continue reading
    J. C. Penney2019-06-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Extremely high pressure, no morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Idaho Falls, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J. C. Penney full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good paid time off benefits for full time employees. Good associate discount.

    Cons

    Culture of shaming. Company runs on negative pressure to drive results. This only lowers morale. Extremely high pressure to get credit card applications. Poor work/life balance. Low pay.

    Continue reading
    J. C. Penney2019-07-23
  4. "Just mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sale Associate in Harrisburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are a school student and need an extremely flexible schedule this is the job for you.

    Cons

    Managers don't manage. All managers care about is how many credit cards you sign people up for. None of your other hard work is ever recognized that needs to be done on the actual sales floor. I left and was getting paid maybe 8.35 after 2 and a half years of being there and I was doing jobs that were definitely not in my job description. Managers hire employees with poor work ethic and force others to pick up their slack but yet never fired them due to us being so short staffed.

    Continue reading
    J. C. Penney2019-06-20
  5. "Okay place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J. C. Penney full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts Fair pay Schedule Go workers Good customers

    Cons

    Hr management Managers Hours Credit cards Busy Raises

    J. C. Penney2019-05-31
  6. "Good place to work during school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Topeka, KS
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at J. C. Penney part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and coworkers that made it feel like less of a job

    Cons

    Basically forced to ask every customer if they want to apply for a credit card, even when you know that they are younger than the required age, or won't be accepted for the card. It will be a ding on their credit score but the company doesn't care as long as you sell credit cards

    J. C. Penney2019-05-30
  7. "terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Hattiesburg, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the associate discount which was 25%

    Cons

    terrible management, constant nagging about credit cards, and bad hours

    Continue reading
    J. C. Penney2019-06-09
  8. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time

    Pros

    The discount was great and its a great first job for high school or college aged kids.

    Cons

    They focused way too much on getting credit card applications, my location had lazy managers that did not care about their employees or their success or happiness. There was a lot of favoritism that was played amongst managers and employees, and we were often expected to pick up slack in other departments where other people hadn't done their job.

    J. C. Penney2019-04-23
  9. "lots of standing and pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Whitehall, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the store manager was very understanding and kind.

    Cons

    The managers pressure you into getting credit card applications of they take away your hours. you also have to constantly stand and be doing something or you get in trouble. some of the managers are very rude, and dont take your needs into consideration.

    Continue reading
    J. C. Penney2019-04-11
  10. "Great place to make friends, not to grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Coworkers, Learning Experiences, Flexibility, Starter Job

    Cons

    Holiday Hours, Pay, Selling Credit Cards, Unrealistic Sales Goals

    Continue reading
    J. C. Penney2019-03-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 400 reviews