J. C. Penney "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

J. C. Penney Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Jan 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
J. C. Penney CEO Jill Soltau
Jill Soltau
210 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The managers pressure you into getting credit card applications of they take away your hours(in 398 reviews)

  • "I really need full time to make life happen comfortably(in 201 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "I love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cashier in Mount Vernon, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J. C. Penney part-time

    Pros

    The people are so nice there, you feel included, get the proper time for training, and of course everyone loves an employee discount! It's been an amazing experience so far.

    Cons

    Not having enough money to buy everything LOL

    J. C. Penney2019-08-07
  2. "Workaholics welcome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sephora Manager in Chula Vista, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J. C. Penney full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The employee discount is great and you accumulate lots of time off. The people I worked with were amazing. That’s what kept me there so long

    Cons

    Work most weekends and all holidays. Better not use any of your pto during that time. Store managers expect long hours year long and 6 days a week november and December. It got to be too much. I also felt like I shouldn’t be taking so much pto eventhough I was accumulating it. Felt like store management was afraid of district manager so nobody was honest in opinions. They didn’t want to be the example and get fired

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees. Taking away full time positions and benefits does not motivate loyalty and experienced knowledge. They have lost so many great people by cutting down and expecting the same standards.

    J. C. Penney2020-01-04
  3. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Monroeville, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J. C. Penney part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Coworkers and good employee discounts with coupon and rewards

    Cons

    A lot of recovery (cleaning up after customers) on the floors and not enough break time

    J. C. Penney2019-12-29
  4. "Its retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J. C. Penney part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount and schedule flexibility

    Cons

    Point system is ridiculous, 10 points and you are gone unless you are a favorite. They will adjust the schedule to look like you had off. No work/life balance, credit pressure, no leadership from management. You are on your own unless you can find another coworker that can help. Lots of gossip between management and coworkers. More job responsibilities with no pay increase. Customers complain about walkies

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your associates they are the reason your business is still open. Hire management that knows how to lead their associates and know how to support their team. Revise the 10 point system. Life happens and people are afraid to lose their jobs because their kid is sick, school cancels and they cant find a sitter, a family member passes away or they actually come to work sick and spread it like wildfire to their coworkers and customers.

    Show More
    J. C. Penney2019-12-19
  5. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J. C. Penney part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount. Thats about it.

    Cons

    The managment is awful they don't care about their employees.

    J. C. Penney2019-12-14
  6. "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    employee discount, short hours, holiday additional discount,

    Cons

    poor management, black friday work,

    J. C. Penney2019-12-05
  7. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time

    Pros

    nice atmosphere and employee discount

    Cons

    the pay was low and hours inconstant

    J. C. Penney2019-11-12
  8. "Nice suggestion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Associate 

    I have been working at J. C. Penney full-time

    Pros

    You get 20 % employee discount.

    Cons

    Hardly get 40 hr wks

    J. C. Penney2019-11-07
  9. "JCP Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Valley Stream, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J. C. Penney part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, Salary, Recognition Awards, Employee Discounts

    Cons

    Rude Customers , Sometimes we are short staffed

    Advice to Management

    Mgmt is Great

    J. C. Penney2019-11-17
  10. "JCPENNEY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J. C. Penney full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great employee discounts, associates are like family

    Cons

    No work life balance, continually cutting jobs but expecting more.

    J. C. Penney2019-11-18
Found 574 reviews