J. C. Penney "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor

J. C. Penney Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
47%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
J. C. Penney CEO Jill Soltau
Jill Soltau
223 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The managers pressure you into getting credit card applications of they take away your hours(in 399 reviews)

  • "Benefits are too expensive and there are only a few full time positions(in 203 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I absolutely love this job. It's honestly the best job I've ever had and I feel respected."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J. C. Penney full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Respect. Full time/good hours. Flexible. Great co-workers. Awesome managers/supervisiors. Being satisfied with work done. Rewarded tremendously for achieving goals.

    Cons

    Lots of physical labor. Feet hurt everyday.

    J. C. Penney2018-05-26
  2. "Company/pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Support Associate in Boynton Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J. C. Penney full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits packages for all employees

    Cons

    If you are not full-time, you almost do not have job when they are slow

    Advice to Management

    Be always fair to everyone because you never know what life will bring!

    J. C. Penney2020-01-16
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Not a place you would want to stay long term."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at J. C. Penney

    Pros

    There is a good employee discount and some of the associates are great people and are very knowledgeable and helpful. It is easy to keep busy.

    Cons

    Low pay, hours get cut, current management is frustrating. Benefits are too expensive and there are only a few full time positions.

    Advice to Management

    Communication should be improved, and employees should feel like they are heard when giving their opinions and should feel cared about and appreciated. No Favoritism.

    J. C. Penney2020-01-16
  5. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Moline, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J. C. Penney part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They buy us dinners on very busy days, they offer a 25% discount, I win gift cards all the time for drawings and contests I’m not even aware of, I am told that I am appreciated for my hard work frequently, my co-workers are wonderful and they pay me what I asked for because I’m worth it. They also reward pretty well for credit card sign ups.

    Cons

    I really need full time to make life happen comfortably. They give me just below full time so I don’t actually qualify for full time and am not eligible for any benefits, and I fall short on bills just a smidge. I have to have a second job because of it. I don’t think I am eligible for benefits, anyway. The department in which I work is neglected; replenishment orders are not executed in a timely manner, and a bit fairly obvious maintenance needs to be done. Some of the updates and maintenance that needs to be completed has been mentioned in our reviews. It’s difficult to tell customers that I do not have what they saw in the ad or I’m out of stock because for some reason, that item just never comes in. I’m not sure if this is a management issues or a distributor issue but it’s frustrating to say the least. There are popular items that we have been out of the entire time I have worked there which is over a few months now. So, it’s slightly unorganized. Also, JC Penney runs very unforgiving hours during the holidays. This was stressful to get through and I wasn’t scheduled for a single holiday pay eligible shift.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Inquire with your employees more frequently what THEY think could be improved. Brainstorm more with employees to create ideas on how to improve issues that they are encountering. Employees often can see what customers see or hear what they whisper under their breath, and can relay to you important information and issues that need more focus.

    J. C. Penney2019-12-31
  6. "School job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 

    I have been working at J. C. Penney full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, easy to be in school full time.

    Cons

    Pay isn’t too good, but a good position for anyone still in school.

    Advice to Management

    None

    J. C. Penney2019-12-05
  7. "Great Company to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - JC Penney Cashier in Fayetteville, NC

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    customers co-workers potential for growth benefits were decent if you get full time

    Cons

    management sometimes customers were rude overnight shifts

    Advice to Management

    treat your employees as humans and not like credit app machines

    J. C. Penney2019-09-08
  8. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Business Analyst 
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J. C. Penney for less than a year

    Pros

    Great problems to solve, they actually give you challenging projects.

    Cons

    Their full time offers suck like 22/hr as a graduated student, management keeps leaving, and office politics. They belittled me to make me feel like I provided less value in order to take their full time offer that was 10k less than competitive.

    Advice to Management

    Actually make competitive offers and don't belittle interns.

    J. C. Penney2019-09-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Extremely high pressure, no morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Idaho Falls, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J. C. Penney full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good paid time off benefits for full time employees. Good associate discount.

    Cons

    Culture of shaming. Company runs on negative pressure to drive results. This only lowers morale. Extremely high pressure to get credit card applications. Poor work/life balance. Low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Home Office needs to understand that treating associates with value and respect will go a long way.

    J. C. Penney2019-07-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Barboursville, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J. C. Penney part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely flexible with hours. They have great ways to rewards associates for hard work. Clean work environment! Annual pay raises and benefits for people that are full time.

    Cons

    Having so many associates creates communication errors. Corporate is watching always! The stores are huge, therefore there’s a lot of space to take care of and maintain.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better. The supervisors at my store have very poor communication and it causes way too much trouble. Everyone needs to have a clear understanding of store procedures and rules.

    J. C. Penney2019-05-25
  11. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recovery in Riverside, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at J. C. Penney part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, pot lucks, nice co workers, holiday pay

    Cons

    Late shifts for holidays, rude customers, full time only for management.

    J. C. Penney2019-04-01
Found 277 reviews