J Craig Venter Institute Reviews | Glassdoor

J Craig Venter Institute Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
7%
Approve of CEO
J Craig Venter Institute CEO J Craig Venter
J Craig Venter
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are some great people there and I have made some lifelong friends(in 8 reviews)

  • "The work environment is very relaxed (though cramped)(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management shares no information with workers(in 8 reviews)

  • "JCVI basically it has an academic structure without the course offerings and accompanying teaching requirements(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Craig Venter Institute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy given to interns when appropriate.

    Cons

    Summer internship program is not available now to my knowledge.

    J Craig Venter Institute2019-06-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "academic feel, corporate goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher in La Jolla, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J Craig Venter Institute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible work environment prestigious research institute encouragement for cutting edge research good benefits free coffee

    Cons

    huge turnover (at will) management does not communicate cramped open office areas very cramped lab space old lab equipment and no central organization underpaid relative to other equivalent positions high pressure no clear opportunities for advancement

    Advice to Management

    learn how to communicate

    J Craig Venter Institute2019-07-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Research Institute with a Corporate feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher in La Jolla, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J Craig Venter Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Advanced research institute with top tier researchers

    Cons

    Feels top heavy with executives.

    Advice to Management

    As a research institute, more emphasis should be placed on maintaining and advancing excellent researchers.

    J Craig Venter Institute2019-06-14
  4. "Good work and environment,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J Craig Venter Institute full-time

    Pros

    The work is extremely interesting and fulfilling, the work environment is very relaxed and firendly.

    Cons

    I am *massively* underpaid for my skills and experience.

    J Craig Venter Institute2019-03-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "I'd give it 0 stars if I could!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Craig Venter Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Used to be a good place to work

    Cons

    Upper management is horrible! Will lie to your face while slitting your throat. terrible environment to work in.

    Advice to Management

    resign

    J Craig Venter Institute2019-02-04
  6. "Scientific and collaborative work and contributes to the community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J Craig Venter Institute full-time

    Pros

    -Collaborative environment -supportive and helpful collegues - good work life balance

    Cons

    - lower salaries as its a non profit

    J Craig Venter Institute2018-11-14
  7. "Former Employee Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Craig Venter Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    JCVI is a well established and reputed biomedical research institute with great benefits, cordial and competent colleagues, and relatively stable federal governmental funding sources.

    Cons

    JCVI basically it has an academic structure without the course offerings and accompanying teaching requirements. Similar to academia, the main focus is competing for funding from the increasing limited federal research science budget. Also, similar to academia, where you have a lot of intelligent people vying for the same small pot of resources, this paradigm begets tunnel vision and limited career... advancement/development opportunities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to create structured paths for employee career advancement and development, especially non faculty.

    J Craig Venter Institute2018-05-14
  8. "Going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Craig Venter Institute full-time

    Pros

    There are some great people there and I have made some lifelong friends. The facility is also very "pretty."

    Cons

    There seems to be pretty bad management. In terms of finances and just overall environment.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the advice of people who are actually doing the lab work. Also there could be more social activities that are more appealing.

    J Craig Venter Institute2017-10-24
  9. "Staff Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at J Craig Venter Institute full-time

    Pros

    Good Place to work. The work culture is good and people are friendly. From my experience, you are encouraged to raise, if you are a hard-working guy.

    Cons

    You might get plenty of work to do.

    J Craig Venter Institute2017-09-28
  10. "Good people to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at J Craig Venter Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. A lot of exciting research going on.

    Cons

    Not much support from the executive level to scientists

    J Craig Venter Institute2017-07-28
Found 54 reviews