J Craig Venter Institute Reviews | Glassdoor

J Craig Venter Institute Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
J Craig Venter Institute CEO J Craig Venter
J Craig Venter
37 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Craig Venter Institute full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    used to be able to bring dog to work wonderful people interesting work flexible hours a good mission in research and genomics

    Cons

    upper management terrible i would rate this 0 stars if i could. no respect for actual 'worker bees' any disent promptly punished

    J Craig Venter Institute2016-06-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Make it what you want"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J Craig Venter Institute full-time

    Pros

    There is a lot of freedom to determine what and how you contribute to ongoing or new research.

    Cons

    Top down communication and strategic direction is not well communicated.

    J Craig Venter Institute2016-05-20
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Favoritism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Craig Venter Institute

    Pros

    Excellent lab equipment. Amazingly talented co-workers. Great blend of knowledge to learn from.

    Cons

    You will only get to advance if the president likes you. If she doesn’t like you or your area of science she will just ignore you. Strange behavior for a president. The finance department is unable to produce a report so you won’t know what your project spend is and no one management seems to care. They always seem to be running around crazy and firing people. Collaboration to them means you blindly agree with the leaders,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put a person in charge that is capable of leading with a positive attitude, openness and a willingness to listen.

    J Craig Venter Institute2016-05-13
  4. "Would work again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J Craig Venter Institute

    Pros

    They do a lot of fascinating work and it's fun to be a part of that. The work arrangement is very flexible.

    Cons

    Not much in the way of advancement

    J Craig Venter Institute2016-04-28
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Incompetent Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Craig Venter Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Are there any? They provide bagels once a month. I guess thats nice. No chance to grow or develop in your career. Nice lab space. Some intelligent people to work along side.

    Cons

    Management has no clue how to run the organization. Constant turnover. Impossible to keep track of the name of the person you can go to for assistance in the organization (especially in accounting department). No one seems to want to work in that area for long or management believes no one is capable.

    Advice to Management

    Employees should avoid the 2nd floor, anytime I go up there I think I may get swallowed up by the disorder and dysfunction. Management must recognize this already but simply don't know how to correct the problem.

    J Craig Venter Institute2016-05-08
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Company environment is the worst!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Craig Venter Institute full-time

    Pros

    Some nice people to work with. Too bad there was not an environment that encourages personal growth and working as a team.

    Cons

    Morale was very low and declining. Upper management didn't have a clue or care about the environment or creating a cohesive environment. Why is showing the employees a little respect and creating a team environment so difficult to do? Worst company I have ever worked for. Working for a positive company now really shows how bad JCVI is.

    Advice to Management

    Look at the structure of the company and actually question why it has gotten so bad and is getting worse. Working at a company that treats its employees so poorly and shows no encouragement results in what they have - a lot of turnover.

    J Craig Venter Institute2016-05-06
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Downward trend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J Craig Venter Institute full-time

    Pros

    The work environment is very relaxed (though cramped). There are still some great people and interesting projects around, but the morale is very low.

    Cons

    There is absolutely no communication from upper management. Employees are not respected. The East Coast location (Rockville, MD) is probably going to gone very soon.

    J Craig Venter Institute2016-03-29
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Craig Venter Institute

    Pros

    The project that I worked on was highly independent and all co-worker's were helpful and nice.

    Cons

    Of course as an intern you are given many menial tasks to accomplish like washing lab ware.

    Advice to Management

    Be given more information about the project and not just told to do the task.

    J Craig Venter Institute2016-02-10
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Trainwreck!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Craig Venter Institute

    Pros

    There are no pros anymore unless you like paying to park at your own building

    Cons

    Upper management shares no information with workers. They keep problem employees because they do not want to deal with getting rid of them yet let the good employees walk out the door. Accounting dept. is in shambles! You have to go over paychecks with a fine tooth comb to catch the numerous mistakes that are always "someone else's fault". Employee morale is as low as possible and upper management could care less.

    J Craig Venter Institute2016-02-09
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Miserable Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J Craig Venter Institute full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful building, great location, good parking, close to ocean

    Cons

    Everything other than above. No management, no leadership, no strategy, no communication, no culture, no products, no motivation, no incentives, no future

    Advice to Management

    Retire and hire professionals to manage it.

    J Craig Venter Institute2015-12-10
Found 67 reviews