J. Crew "call shifts" Reviews | Glassdoor

J. Crew Employee Reviews about "call shifts"

Updated Aug 22, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
J. Crew Interim Chief Executive Officer Michael Nicholson  (no image)
Michael Nicholson
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of benefits for part-time employees(in 91 reviews)

  • "At the time I worked there you had on-call shifts, which could be a bit irritating(in 80 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call shifts"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sales Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J. Crew part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Discount, Great Clothes, Fun Environment

    Cons

    There was On Call Shifts. So you wouldn't if you need to work that day or not until that day

    J. Crew2018-03-30
  2. "Sales support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J. Crew full-time

    Pros

    Fun environment great people. Pay weekly

    Cons

    Too many on call shifts

    J. Crew2018-08-22
  3. "Support Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. Crew part-time

    Pros

    Great discounts on their clothing, valid at Madewell also. Managers at my store were pretty flexible with all the university students working there.

    Cons

    At the time I worked there you had on-call shifts, which could be a bit irritating

    J. Crew2018-01-09
  4. "Typical Retail Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. Crew part-time

    Pros

    -Employees (part time and full time) get access to a "60s list" where merchandise is marked down 60%. -Employee discount is 30%, clearance is an extra 50% off. -Each month you can use a punch card to get 50% off five full priced items. -Paid every Friday -Commission

    Cons

    This is your typical retail job. You're on your feet all day, dealing with customers, and folding clothes. I was never trained to be at the register so I folded clothes for 4-6 hours straight. They are very intense about their appearance so there was a strict dress code, hangers were two fingers apart on the rack, and everything had to be folded perfectly. I felt like it was very cliquey and management did not seem... to help. My biggest issue with being part time were the "on call" shifts. You call in two hours ahead to see if they need you. Sometimes I would get a whole week of on call shifts. I barely made any money, probably $50/week on a good week.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please train your sales associates. I had no retail experience and was looking forward to learning everything I could. Don't scold your employees for dress codes, pressure them to buy clearance, and for saying the wrong greetings. I quit after three months because I was being treated unfairly.

    J. Crew2018-01-03
  5. "good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J. Crew part-time

    Pros

    good discounts on their products

    Cons

    "on call" shifts

    J. Crew2017-11-05
  6. "Sales Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J. Crew part-time

    Pros

    - Discount (30%, lots of exclusions) - There is potential to move up - Managers are patient and reall ycare

    Cons

    - Strict dress code - Lots of on-call shifts... hard to plan around - If you want to buy clothes, you're better off buying when regular customer items go on sale

    Advice to Management

    Be more generous with employee discounts. It seemed quite stingy at times, but then again, I'm not the one footing the bill at the end of the day.

    J. Crew2017-09-24
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Part Time Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J. Crew

    Pros

    J.Crew wants employees to look the part which means wearing J.Crew. They have one of the best employee discounts and offer "Crew Clothes", an allotment for new employees. The music played in stores was usually pretty good as well. If you buy into the brand it's a great place to work!

    Cons

    At our store, team morale was generally driven by management and there was a good amount of drama. There was a lot of turnover in the management team the last year I was there. They still had on call shifts too which were super inconvenient and some weeks you'd only have on calls.

    J. Crew2017-04-14
  8. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J. Crew

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, team, and discount.

    Cons

    On call shifts and limited staff on the floor.

    J. Crew2016-10-10
  9. "Decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at J. Crew part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mostly friendly atmosphere, relatively good discounts

    Cons

    "On-call" shifts made it hard to plan, especially as a student

    Advice to Management

    Do away with on call shifts

    J. Crew2016-09-11
  10. "Sales Support Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J. Crew

    Pros

    Easy part-time job for students, decent pay and awesome employee discount.

    Cons

    On-call shifts and bad hours.

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any.

    J. Crew2016-04-20
Found 80 reviews