J. Crew "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

J. Crew Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
J. Crew CEO Michael Nicholson  (no image)
Michael Nicholson
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of benefits for part-time employees(in 91 reviews)

  • "At the time I worked there you had on-call shifts, which could be a bit irritating(in 80 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great atmosphere, fair scheduling and pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J. Crew part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with great people, ability to work independently but ask for help when needed. Learned many sales and retail skills in a short amount of time.

    Cons

    Short lunch breaks. I think it's standard for part time though.

    J. Crew2019-09-16
  2. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at J. Crew part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly, light and supportive atmosphere. Higher level manager respect to the employees and between the same level employees. No pressure. Flexible work hours.

    Cons

    Minimum hour rate pay, as a part time employee - no social benefits

    J. Crew2019-09-06
  3. "Overall Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Associate in Lafayette, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. Crew part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful co-workers, decent pay, good discounts, great part-time college job. I got lots of experience working in visuals which is what I wanted to pursue.

    Cons

    Not many down sides. Could maybe pay more but other than that the worst part was any crazy customers which comes with any retail job.

    Advice to Management

    Create more visual merchandising opportunities!

    J. Crew2019-08-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at J. Crew part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great sales experience

    Cons

    Hours can be few and far between for part time associates

    J. Crew2019-06-14
  5. "Your basic retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Washington, DC

    I have been working at J. Crew full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good discount

    Cons

    No PTO for part time employees

    J. Crew2019-06-26
  6. "Daily Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Lake George, NY

    I worked at J. Crew part-time

    Pros

    An all right part time job

    Cons

    Management was unorganized and they talked badly about coworkers

    J. Crew2019-06-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Don’t work here unless you’re a college kid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at J. Crew

    Pros

    A discount on the product sold (Note: sometimes doesn’t apply or in the end you ultimately pay less as a customer)

    Cons

    No benefits of any kind for part time associates, no paid time off, no work life balance (if you have open availability prepare to work every weekend and holiday, no exceptions) , and no clear path for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Don’t expect associates to respect you when you only act professional when the store director or other higher ups are around- we’re really not as stupid as you think we are. Pay attention to schedules. When you have the same 4 people closing every night of a holiday weekend they are going to burn out. When you hire someone off the street, and you pay them $2-$4 more an hour than the previously mentioned burnt... out employees, everyone knows about. I know you tell everyone we’re not allowed to talk about salaries, but we do. Just like how you’re not allowed to sit in the office and do nothing when you’re closing but you do.

    Show More
    J. Crew2019-06-17
  8. "Amazing company despite lack of benefits for part-time employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J. Crew part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Anatomy, they offer great training programs, volunteer work, great people.

    Cons

    Lack of benefits for part-time employees.

    J. Crew2019-05-13
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesperson 

    I worked at J. Crew part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good, fun job, well run

    Cons

    Not a ton of part time hours

    J. Crew2019-03-27
  10. "Fun Student Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J. Crew part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    J. Crew has been a fun company to work for as a part time student job. Coworkers are fun and laid back, pay is low but competitive with what other sales associate jobs pay in the area. Lots of potential to grow with the company if interested. Managers were fantastic about working with us to make sure we liked our schedules, in spite of having to work the occasional closing shift/weekend/holiday. Employee discount is... great!

    Show More

    Cons

    Somewhat high turnover rate. Typical retail schedule which jumps around a lot/requires weekends/holidays at times.

    J. Crew2019-01-17
Found 151 reviews