J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 238 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
102 Ratings
  1. "Good summer job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Bar Associate in Portsmouth, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Was a good summer job where you meet lots of people in a fast paced environment. Training was good with very friendly staff. Getting paid weekly is also good along with discounted food.

      Cons

      The pay was poor and it was difficult changing around shifts. Dealing with drunk people is hard work and can get exhausting.

      Advice to Management

      Increase pay, especially on bank holidays and holidays. More flexibility with shifts and improving the mystery customer set up .

      J D Wetherspoon2015-08-10
    • "Great place to work if you don't mind late nights"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Bar Associate 

        I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Lovely staff, everyone gets along really well

        Cons

        Shifts finishing a lot later than initially told

        J D Wetherspoon2019-06-18
      • "Good company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Bar & Floor Associate 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Friendly place to work for a short period fast progression

        Cons

        management sometimes they over work you

        J D Wetherspoon2019-06-19
      • "Reliable work, got the hours needed"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Bar Associate in Cardiff, Wales
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Flexible hours, high pay for bar work, good social aspect

        Cons

        Hard to manage due to worker to management ratio Customers are often rude

        J D Wetherspoon2019-05-27
      • "Unfriendly bar management team , busy , friendly associates (York Postern Gate)"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Bar Associate in York, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Discounted meals are useful on the low wages

        Cons

        No proper training ....just get on with it Staff room appallingly small , you are supposed to eat in the same place sweaty colleagues are changing clothes , male and female in this barely 2m2 little cubicle of a room. Management seemed to talk to me only when I had made mistakes Because of owner some members of staff have jumped on the anti-foreign bandwagon

        Advice to Management

        Embrace all people

        J D Wetherspoon2019-06-09
      • "Floor Associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Birmingham, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Excellent weekly pay and Flexible hours

        Cons

        Can be boring and less availability to work on the bar

        J D Wetherspoon2019-05-22
      • "Not bad"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        decent environment for working in

        Cons

        always closing, so get home late

        J D Wetherspoon2019-05-21
      • "Bar associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Bar Associate 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

        Pros

        Good for overall development

        Cons

        Easy to get stuck in the job

        J D Wetherspoon2019-05-15
      • "Not amazing but not the worst"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate 

          I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

          Pros

          Can earn good bonuses and hours are flexible

          Cons

          Not every pub I've worked in has been the same, its all down to management style and so some are worse than others

          J D Wetherspoon2019-05-29
        • "If you fit the part then sure, if not AVOID"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Bar Associate 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Good pay, frequent bonuses, 50% off meals

          Cons

          Long shift hours, Very rude customers, Finishing at 3AM, Management pick who they like and treat the rest like dirt, for example I requested to be bar trained but was refused due to having a little facial hair, which I shaved off and was still refused. Management granted me holidays but then took my last day of my holiday away without advising me and I got a disciplinary for not turning up for work, Shift patterns are...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Speak with your staff about issues instead of jumping the gun on certain issues you have with them. Treat all staff equally regardless of facial hair or any appearance, Stop speaking to staff like children, Work out fair shift patterns instead of random each week. Take the time to actually thoroughly train your staff instead of throwing them in the deep end.

          J D Wetherspoon2019-05-23
        Found 238 reviews