J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 259 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
106 Ratings
  1. "Overall review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for, if the pub hits targets you can get bonuses etc

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, very busy at times

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-31

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 12, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your feedback

  2. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to work shifts around studying or other commitments, bonuses can sometimes be good and good career progression if it’s what you want to do.

    Cons

    Tiring job, can be long shifts when you’re on the close and the hours are pretty unsociable

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-31

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 12, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your feedback and hope the studying goes well

  3. "Friendly staff and good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues were very friendly and helpful in teaching the ropes to beginners. Easygoing atmosphere and management happy to facilitate learning more than necessary - e.g. changing beer barrels and cleaning beer lines.

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to book time off and shifts are usually at unsociable hours.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-28
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people, management work just as hard as staff! Pay is very decent for just bar person, and the work atmosphere is always great.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours if you're on a close or early morning starts but this isn't too bad as you get free coffee!

    Advice to Management

    Relax a bit? Keep up the good work!

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-17
  5. "Good as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Social, flexible and often good fun

    Cons

    Insecure, weekly pay, not a viable job when finished studying

    Advice to Management

    Guaranteed full time hours

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-29
  6. "Not Too Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to progress if you're interested in the industry, better pay than many independent pubs or similar jobs, provide quite thorough training, management are supportive when dealing with difficult customers or situations, often opportunities for extra shifts if you would like them, being part of a large company offers you some sense of security and protection as an employee.

    Cons

    Experience is highly dependent on your coworkers and the atmosphere of the individual pub, long and antisocial working hours (although this is normal for the industry), can be hassled into regularly taking on extra shifts or staying longer than you were scheduled to, rota is only known for one week ahead so other aspects of your life end up taking a back seat, can be ethically compromising if you don't believe in the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to plan rotas further in advance and stick to scheduling employees for the number of hours they are contracted for.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-22
  7. "Good pay, and good people. but stressful often."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The manager was lovely, highly understanding and one of the hardest working people I've ever met. Good people, highly social environment, decent pay for the type of work. Very flexible hours.

    Cons

    Dealing with customers in a pub is always a challenge. 90 per cent are lovely, but you will encounter less nice people from time to time. Upper management was remarkably organised, telling us we were going to have a refurb multiple times and never delivering. I knew people who had to leave their job because of this and nobody outside our pub seemed to care at all. Area manager was a bully. To new staff and the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There has to be more accountability from the top down.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-21
  8. "Completely depends on individual pub you work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Other staff members keep you going Quite good pay for bar work

    Cons

    Constant shift changes Called in early and made to stay on most shifts Managers pick on those “too nice”

    Advice to Management

    Treat to associates with respect and they’re more likely to help out

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback. We recommend you speak to your area manager about your concerns so that we can consider any improvements that may need to be made to the rota.

  9. "Kitchen/Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Kitchen Associate in King's Lynn, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a large company and was offered a wide range or areas to go into while working there

    Cons

    They do ask a lot of you with 0 hour contracts so no solid hours.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-12-13
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Newcastle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work with a variety of people, very student based job (young work force). I've worked in 3 different pubs inc a Lloyds. Consistent and continual training opportunities. Great chances at promotion. Managers are generally nice. Hours fit in nicely with other jobs or study. It's easy to transfer to other locations and keep the job.

    Cons

    You may not always get the hours you want (too little) which is ridiculous because they seem to always hire new staff. Shifts can be really short (3.5hrs which is pointless) or they can be really long (9hrs) - doesnt't seem to be that bad (but you'll be on your feet for the majority of it).

    J D Wetherspoon2018-12-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    December 11, 2018Website Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to speak directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a local level.

Found 259 reviews