J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 259 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
106 Ratings
  1. "Spoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Andover, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Social Busy Great team mates Making friends with customers Drinks after work

    Cons

    Low paid Crazy shift patterns Getting puked on by drunk customers.

    Advice to Management

    Try to manage for once.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-30
  2. "Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good flexibility, Fair wage, Part-time work fits well with studies

    Cons

    Bad branch management, Understaffed shifts

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-27

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  3. "Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are usually friendly people that work there, and a fun working environment. They also provide food and drink discount when on shift and not on shift.

    Cons

    You work very late, way past the closing time in most cases. The job does tend to give physical difficulties after a while, such as problems with your back. Safety in managing heaving things and standing up for long periods of time is quite neglected.

    Advice to Management

    Employ people who are friendly to staff, as well as efficient/experienced, as abrasion between staff is the commonest pattern i see.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-12

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 14, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for leaving some feedback, all feedback is discussed in our weekly meetings.

  4. "An Interesting Experience Of Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounted food, paid online training, friendly colleagues. Chance for progression from Bar Associate to Pub Manager not unknown.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours and clientele can be unfriendly.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 14, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We’re sorry to hear that Wetherspoon wasn’t for you and hope that you find a role that better suits you.

  5. "People are nice but shifts can be long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay Friendly Staff Staff discount on food and drink

    Cons

    Poor training Long shifts Bad management Unexpected hours

    Advice to Management

    Better training should be provided on key as[eats of the job.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-13

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 14, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. if you feel there are areas you need additional training support we would urge you to get in contact with the training team at head office.

  6. "Not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff were friendly and welcoming

    Cons

    I applied to be bar staff ergo work on the bar but was also expected to wait tables. Not a strong suit for me and had I known I probably wouldn't have applied for the job. I earned 18y/o minimum wage while people older than me got paid for for doing the same job

    Advice to Management

    Change the wage gaps!!

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-14

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 14, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. We are sorry you didn't have a great experience. We have recently changed our pay structure so everyone over the age of 18 years are on the same pay banding.

  7. "Good introduction to bartending"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay People are sociable If you want to go on to work in a slightly nicer pub or bar but need the experience this is a good place to start as they will teach you the basics of pulling pints and simple hygiene stuff. If you need to find a local dealer someone in the kitchen can probably hook you up. It's a fun job and time moves fairly quickly. You get to meet lots of new people.

    Cons

    The work can be a little soul-sucking. If you don't like gossip and petty work fights you might find it a bit stressful. Managers don't get treated well at all so they tend to not care about their job, your job, or anyone else in the building. Don't go in expecting fair treatment from them as they're stressed and dgaf. I had to call up head office a few times over pay disputes that my manager didn't want to have to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your employees will do better if you treat them better, I promise!

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-08

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 14, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that some things were not as you had expected and will work to resolve such issues.

  8. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Newbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great staff, by the book and official

    Cons

    Very meticulous, long hours

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-26
  9. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Guaranteed minimum hours scheme, one on one reviews With the pub manager, great chances to move up in the work place and decent pay compared to other large companies.

    Cons

    Can be late shifts and never know if it will be busy or not.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with the staff.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-25
  10. "Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere in the pubs 50% on shift discount 20% when out with friends and family Great personal development opp

    Cons

    Late night finishes and early starts

    Advice to Management

    Management of Associates could be better as it is always certain people who carryout the majority of the work

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-24

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 8, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback

Found 259 reviews