J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1288 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
530 Ratings
Pros
  • "salary very competitive for the pub trade(in 100 reviews)

  • "Good pay, bonus and promotional opportunity(in 68 reviews)

Cons
  • "Much busier than your average Pub/Restaurant(in 147 reviews)

  • "Long hours with not enough breaks(in 142 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Great work and co-workers. Challenging, but satisfying way to grow professionally . This job will stretch you! I enjoy the work but wait for the cons.

    Cons

    Management lack of people skills. Although good business acumen, management treats employees like crap. No coaching skills at all.. many have moved on because of treatment.

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-15
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Horrendous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Wakefield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than a year

    Pros

    Gained friendships. Money off food on shift. You're always busy..

    Cons

    Zero hours contract so one week I could earn an amazing amount and the next be so broke I can't afford transport to and from work. Taxis as I did a lot of late shifts. Management allow bullying to take place. Management are supposed to back you up if someone is drunk or rude etc.. but in my experience they haven't done this at all. Promised the world promotion wise and they gave someone else the job that was lined...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn't even bother giving advice it's that much of a joke.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-04-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 18, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    Thank you for your comments, we will pass your all of them on for further discussion and investigation. Just to pick up on your feedback around hours, we do not work with zero hour contracts at all as a company, we agree a minimum guaranteed hours when we employ to minimise the fluctuation ...

    Show More
  3. "Employer rating."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Warehouse Developer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and friendly atmosphere. Good interaction with team members.

    Cons

    Some red tape and policy imposition on consultants.

    J D Wetherspoon2015-08-28
  4. "Good summer job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Portsmouth, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Was a good summer job where you meet lots of people in a fast paced environment. Training was good with very friendly staff. Getting paid weekly is also good along with discounted food.

    Cons

    The pay was poor and it was difficult changing around shifts. Dealing with drunk people is hard work and can get exhausting.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay, especially on bank holidays and holidays. More flexibility with shifts and improving the mystery customer set up .

    J D Wetherspoon2015-08-10
  5. "Bar tender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Blackpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Time goes quick while serving

    Cons

    Busy environment sometimes makes things difficult

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-21
  6. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bar Staff 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    weekly pay is really good

    Cons

    long shifts are very annoying

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-15
  7. "Satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Progression, pay, benefits, the team and friendly

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, staffing levels, rude customers

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-14
  8. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Sale, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good money and good environment

    Cons

    working hours and management aren't too good

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-13
  9. "Friendly staff, flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bartender in Brighton, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, flexible hours. t .

    Cons

    Customers, short staffed. t t

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-11
  10. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    40 hour working week, great team, highly involved area manager and higher management. Fantastic pay.

    Cons

    High turn over of staff

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-09
Found 1288 reviews