J D Wetherspoon Bar/Floor Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1229 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
504 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

      Pros

      Great work and co-workers. Challenging, but satisfying way to grow professionally . This job will stretch you! I enjoy the work but wait for the cons.

      Cons

      Management lack of people skills. Although good business acumen, management treats employees like crap. No coaching skills at all.. many have moved on because of treatment.

      Advice to Management

      Get a clue.

      J D Wetherspoon2018-05-15
    • Helpful (6)

      "Horrendous"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Team Leader in Wakefield, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than a year

      Pros

      Gained friendships. Money off food on shift. You're always busy..

      Cons

      Zero hours contract so one week I could earn an amazing amount and the next be so broke I can't afford transport to and from work. Taxis as I did a lot of late shifts. Management allow bullying to take place. Management are supposed to back you up if someone is drunk or rude etc.. but in my experience they haven't done this at all. Promised the world promotion wise and they gave someone else the job that was lined...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I wouldn't even bother giving advice it's that much of a joke.

      J D Wetherspoon2016-04-11

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      April 18, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

      Thank you for your comments, we will pass your all of them on for further discussion and investigation. Just to pick up on your feedback around hours, we do not work with zero hour contracts at all as a company, we agree a minimum guaranteed hours when we employ to minimise the fluctuation ...

      Show More
    • "Good summer job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Bar Associate in Portsmouth, VA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Was a good summer job where you meet lots of people in a fast paced environment. Training was good with very friendly staff. Getting paid weekly is also good along with discounted food.

        Cons

        The pay was poor and it was difficult changing around shifts. Dealing with drunk people is hard work and can get exhausting.

        Advice to Management

        Increase pay, especially on bank holidays and holidays. More flexibility with shifts and improving the mystery customer set up .

        J D Wetherspoon2015-08-10
      • "Decent job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Bar Associate 

        I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

        Pros

        - staff benefits good - nice team - staff looked after for pub environment

        Cons

        - late nights (though do get paid an extra hour) - busy , takes time to get used to.

        J D Wetherspoon2019-07-12
      • "Flexible"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Shift Manager in Redditch, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Extremely flexible. Lots of rewards and benefits. Great work life balance. Fast progression. Lots of support. Well run and structure

        Cons

        Very demanding. Always need to be in ‘contact’ with the pub

        J D Wetherspoon2019-07-12
      • "Flexible"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Bar Associate 

          I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

          Pros

          Good Pay and Flexible Hours

          Cons

          Varying shift times from week to week

          J D Wetherspoon2019-07-12
        • "Stressful but rewarding!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Swansea, Wales
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          . Flexible hours. . Hands-on, fast-paced work. . Rewarding for those who show initiative and want to advance. . Generous pay for a bar job. . Enhances your communication skills.

          Cons

          . Long, unsociable hours with little to no assistance at times. . Can be very tight-knit so workplace drama can be a distraction. . Working in a skeleton-crew pub can be demanding, in which case expect to be asked to cover shifts short-notice.

          Advice to Management

          On-the-job training can be rushed or too piecemeal. Leading by example rather than delegating too much work for associates to do could increase morale and may provide helpful insight into different, sometimes better approaches to certain jobs.

          J D Wetherspoon2019-07-13
        • "Good for short term"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Bar Staff in Blackpool, England
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Can have as many hours as you like, big teams where most people get along, progress from within most often

          Cons

          Those in higher positions seem to look down on other staff, a few lazy managers, very busy shifts

          J D Wetherspoon2019-07-11
        • "Wetherspoons life"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England

            I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

            Pros

            Good hours and generally a good company to work with, with good benefits.

            Cons

            Might not be able to get a shift sometimes.

            J D Wetherspoon2019-07-09
          • "Bar associate"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Current Employee - Bar Associate 

              I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

              Pros

              Flexible working hours for students

              Cons

              Sometimes long hours, on bar or floor

              J D Wetherspoon2019-07-09
            Found 1229 reviews