J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1195 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
488 Ratings
  1. "Floor Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent weekly pay and Flexible hours

    Cons

    Can be boring and less availability to work on the bar

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-22
  2. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    decent environment for working in

    Cons

    always closing, so get home late

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-21
  3. "Difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not many, half price food on shift

    Cons

    Management Hours Over worked Under payed

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-05
  4. "room for improvement, needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good salary for the amount of hours management work

    Cons

    long and antisocial hours, lots of hops to jump through to get simple things done, bias shift patterns causing a select from staff and managers being dealt an unfair hand

    Advice to Management

    need systems set up to make work hours fair for everyone, bias shift patterns constantly.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-21
  5. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and weekly too

    Cons

    Stressful particularly on weekends and bank holidays

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-21
  6. "Short-term student job, but they messed me around a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House Staff in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -50% off food on shift, 20% when you're off shift. - Great co-workers and some fun regulars (if you're lucky on the latter) -You'll always have amazing stories to tell your friends after every shift, especially in city pubs where people are just downright sleazy most of the time. - Depending on where you are, the managers can be nice.

    Cons

    - Poor training, I treated like an imbecile after swapping pubs because I hadn't been fully trained. - Last minute rotas despite being told rotas would always be up 3 weeks in advance. - Discrete rota changes, and they ignored the fact that I couldn't work on Sunday evenings because I have 9AM lectures, constant closing shifts despite saying I cannot afford an uber home during the weekend so I would be forced to cycle/walk...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you employ students, don't pressure them to prioritise a dead-end bar job over their degrees just because you need Sunday cover. Also, you might want to look into how your managers treat their staff and customers in all of your central Birmingham pubs, it's frankly quite disgusting.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-03
  7. "For a pub, it’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Enfield, England
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are nice Fairly flexible hours Weekly pay

    Cons

    Anti social hours Rude customers Cleaning jobs

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-01
  8. "associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Foh/Kitchen Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    can meet lots of people due to high turnover

    Cons

    extremely bad management, long hours, bad pay, extremely stressful, bad hours and alot of overtime. Holidays not taken seriously and put off by managers for weeks or even months in my case, instead of properly being filed straight away.

    Advice to Management

    Treat workers right and maybe the turnover won't be so high.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-22
  9. "Pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Keswick, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good pay shares in company A lot of hours

    Cons

    Hard work Mostly weekends and nights

    Advice to Management

    More staff

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-31
  10. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good for overall development

    Cons

    Easy to get stuck in the job

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-15
Found 1195 reviews