J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1191 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
489 Ratings
  1. "s"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    it is very reliable and interesting

    Cons

    lots of people and friends

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-08

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

  2. "If you fit the part then sure, if not AVOID"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, frequent bonuses, 50% off meals

    Cons

    Long shift hours, Very rude customers, Finishing at 3AM, Management pick who they like and treat the rest like dirt, for example I requested to be bar trained but was refused due to having a little facial hair, which I shaved off and was still refused. Management granted me holidays but then took my last day of my holiday away without advising me and I got a disciplinary for not turning up for work, Shift patterns are...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Speak with your staff about issues instead of jumping the gun on certain issues you have with them. Treat all staff equally regardless of facial hair or any appearance, Stop speaking to staff like children, Work out fair shift patterns instead of random each week. Take the time to actually thoroughly train your staff instead of throwing them in the deep end.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-23
  3. "A great student job to have"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Staff in Birmingham, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working behind a bar, full training was given and I liked being thrown in the deep end.

    Cons

    Weekly rota changes made it hard to plan ahead

    Advice to Management

    Have more consistent rotas

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We aim to provide a rota at least two weeks in advance and any changes agreed. We are sorry to hear this was not the case for you.

  4. "Kitchen Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Monthly Bonus, Quarterly Bonus, Good Teams

    Cons

    Long-ish hours, but very flexible

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-06

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It’s great to hear you are benefitting from the bonus scheme. Thank you for your hard work

  5. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Canterbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    20% discount, and nothing else

    Cons

    Literally everything except the discount

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-09
  6. "Spoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Part paid break Holiday pay

    Cons

    Late closes Open later on bank hol

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-29

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review and best wishes for the future.

  7. "Friendly Environment but management tend to delegate a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Leicester, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun working environment There are some available bonus such £1 extra for hours after 12

    Cons

    associates tend to get the dirty unwanted jobs

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-13
  8. "Hard Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours, well paid, great promotion opportunities

    Cons

    Bad management, focus not on staff

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-13
  9. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    friendly people and management is good

    Cons

    low pay and long hours

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-27

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback. Best wishes for the future

  10. "Good, but it depends on the pub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay for your position Progression opportunities can be plentiful Good bonus scheme and discounts

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, sometimes rotas can be established only last minute

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-27

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It’s great to know that the things we have invested in such as rates of pay and bonus are valued. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review

Found 1191 reviews