J D Wetherspoon Shift Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Shift Manager

J D Wetherspoon Shift Manager Reviews

Updated 30 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
40 Ratings
  1. "better than most"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    extensive training scheme; plenty of room for progression

    Cons

    micro management from upper level management; little to no social life

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-02-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 21, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a local level.

    Continue reading
  2. "Only as good as the manager above you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No two days the same. Excellent training available for management.

    Cons

    Training relies upon pub manager authorising progression. Terribly unsociable working hours. Very low consideration for rotation of shift patterns between staff - some people work every Friday and Saturday night. Excess hours are not redeemed over the next weeks, so being on salary becomes worse than being hourly paid unless you are the pub manager. Very little help from senior management when these issues are brought to their attention.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-02-01

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 14, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

    Continue reading
  3. "Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Burnley, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discounts for food and soft drinks. Job security. Meet friends easily. Management wage is very competitive. Share incentive scheme.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours and late weekends. Unempathetic to life commitments out of spoons. Managers/area managers/head office procrastinate too much at advancing or sign people off on training done - leaving members of staff feeling used and frustrated. Lack of thought for members day off - after a 1am close but before a 6am open leaves little of day off left after sleep.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-01-13

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 31, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a local level.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Nice but challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Shift Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training program Friendly environment Career opportunity

    Cons

    Bad working hours Abusive customers Poor support when really needed

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-12-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    December 12, 2016Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

    Continue reading
  5. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Chester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Shift work can be good Good to get to know some great people

    Cons

    Work life balance No over time Always want more from you

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-10-26

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 15, 2016Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that some things were not as you had expected and will work to resolve such issues.

    Continue reading
  6. "Challenging but not always for the right reasons."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Chester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Free shares Bonus when achieved Progression opportunities sometimes available The people you work with can be great

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance Blatant favouritism in some cases Management salaries for shift managers not as good as they once were when compared to competitors within the industry. Regularly understaffed. It's difficult not to come across as negative given the atmosphere on my particular area over the last couple of years.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-09-02
  7. "Real"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Its challenging at times but what was meant to be a pit stop of a job has turned in to a career and I wouldn't have it any other way.

    Cons

    Not everyone sees it as a business oppurtunity

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-07-26
  8. "Crap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Blackpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good customers. Some decent staff

    Cons

    Salaried as a shift manager and they believe in getting there moneys worth. more and more to do before you get away Hard work and just another number

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-06-27

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 5, 2016Recruitment and Training Manager

    Thank you for your comments

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Worst experience of my life!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, employee discount. You can leave with only a weeks notice when you realise you have made a big mistake with this company.

    Cons

    Pub falling apart, daily dramas, discrimination rife, customer service non existent, dirty, rats, bonus's impossible to hit, rude management. Just about everything to be honest.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-06-06

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    June 13, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for your review, I note you no longer work for the company, and wish you all the best in your next career move. We will pass your review to the Area Manager for the area you mention for further review.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Shift Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager Grade IV 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Training - Job satisfaction - Good hours now they have been reduced - Progression - Free meals

    Cons

    - Pay - No support from area managers - No recognition rom Op's directors, GM's, or AM's - Having to save too many associate hours

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-04-17

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 25, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    thank you for your feedback - greatly appreciated

    Continue reading
Found 64 reviews