J D Wetherspoon Team Leader Reviews | Glassdoor

J D Wetherspoon Team Leader Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Horrendous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Wakefield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than a year

    Pros

    Gained friendships. Money off food on shift. You're always busy..

    Cons

    Zero hours contract so one week I could earn an amazing amount and the next be so broke I can't afford transport to and from work. Taxis as I did a lot of late shifts. Management allow bullying to take place. Management are supposed to back you up if someone is drunk or rude etc.. but in my experience they haven't done this at all. Promised the world promotion wise and they gave someone else the job that was lined...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn't even bother giving advice it's that much of a joke.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-04-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 18, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    Thank you for your comments, we will pass your all of them on for further discussion and investigation. Just to pick up on your feedback around hours, we do not work with zero hour contracts at all as a company, we agree a minimum guaranteed hours when we employ to minimise the fluctuation ...

    Show More
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for people just starting

    Cons

    Under staff issues making work stress

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-06
  3. "For a pub, it’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Enfield, England
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are nice Fairly flexible hours Weekly pay

    Cons

    Anti social hours Rude customers Cleaning jobs

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-01
  4. "Pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Keswick, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good pay shares in company A lot of hours

    Cons

    Hard work Mostly weekends and nights

    Advice to Management

    More staff

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-31
  5. "What spoons is actually like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay per hour. Good benefits. Good opportunity to progress

    Cons

    Runs on an ideal world basis and it’s never an ideal world No person to person training all online Not much support for abuse in the workplace Understaffed Too much stress and pressure for what the job actually is.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-01

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your review. You have raised points which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch so that we can understand more @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  6. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good pay for industry Sociable staff Staff discounts Free share scheme

    Cons

    Too corporate in places Company used as a political propaganda tool Late hours Over-working the staff Expecting too much of part-time staff Service industry, so often horrible experiences with customers Little sympathy for mental health issues

    Advice to Management

    Focus on staff welfare. Consider yourselves all on a level playing field, working for the same company. Not, them working for you. A greater connection with the staff will work wonders in any Wetherspoons.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-21
  7. "Amazing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at weatherpersons for 2 , almost 3 years. Had an amazing time learning the trade and building relationships with the regulars and co workers/managers. This is specific to my branch, however know other weatherpersons in the area with similar cultures. Flexible shifts if a good worker, good discount in all branches and attitude of constant self improvement with skills that are transferable in any business.

    Cons

    Sometimes the drive for success from head office, with new incentives and ideas can improve some areas, however if specific branches arnt making enough to fund extra staff, the options left are leaving later on closes to ensure all jobs (new and old) are done, or all jobs are done to a lesser standard where staff leave earlier. Requires Extremely high motivation to complete with quality in specific time frame.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-04

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review

  8. "Pinch of Salt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay and bonus scheme Great holiday Internally promotes

    Cons

    Customers are absolute trash Managers can also be trash dependant on location

    Advice to Management

    Lead by example

    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-15

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 23, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We’re sorry to hear that Wetherspoon wasn’t for you and hope that you find a role that better suits you

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Kitchen team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Team Leader in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People you work with Flexible job You can Learn a lot

    Cons

    Very inexperienced workmates sometimes Hard job at times specially city centre pubs Life balance struggle a bit

    Advice to Management

    Salary should be higher in city centre pubs Gap Salary should be a lot higher for Kitchen Team leader comparing with associates. Some kitchen pubs request an urgent refurbish. Improve pay for bank holidays.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-08-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bar staff are exploited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can make many friends working behind a bar

    Cons

    Poor pay, no sick pay, minimum breaks. As a bar staff, you are at the mercy of managers in terms of your rota/hours. Pub management treats their staff unfairly and are often offensive and unprofessional.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-25
Found 64 reviews