J Hilburn Personal Stylist Reviews | Glassdoor

J Hilburn Personal Stylist Reviews

Updated Feb 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
J Hilburn CEO Andy Janowski (no image)
Andy Janowski
2 Ratings
  1. "Loving every minute- its work but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Stylist in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, generous commission, awesome clients, killer work-life balance

    Cons

    the company is growing and emerging- there are hiccups but we build off them with high energy

    Advice to Management

    you cant communicate to the field enough!

    J Hilburn2019-02-12
  2. "Personal Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Personal Stylist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn for more than 8 years

    Pros

    High commission rates for personal sales compared to industry standards, online training readily available, impeccable quality products.

    Cons

    You have to have the right personality if you want to build a team and derive commission from team sales, otherwise you will only be able to rely on your own client sales. Home office seems to have high turnover and slow learning curve.

    Advice to Management

    Could use more input from field reps to train Home Office personnel on actual challenges faced in the field. Listen to stylists about client requests for styles and colors of fabrics.

    J Hilburn2018-11-13
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Just Jump in!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Stylist in San Rafael, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to start as a stylist. Zero commitment other than your own personal drive to make commissions. Stylist help via Phone or FB is very helpful

    Cons

    Joining costs for membership are $300 but they give you the opportunity to earn it back. Certifications cost additional money. Commissions are low, but the more you sell the higher commission raises.

    J Hilburn2017-03-06
  4. "Love it my business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Stylist in Highlands, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to sell Make your own hours Excellent back office support & training Fun with great rewards trips

    Cons

    Slow growth when first getting started Build clients one-by-one Lots of additional tools to buy in order to up sales

    Advice to Management

    The company is growing fast. Would like to see some more senior people in some of the corporate positions. Otherwise, marketing and learning tools as well as product are excellent.

    J Hilburn2017-02-08
  5. "Personal Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Personal Stylist in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn

    Pros

    Freedom to create my own schedule. Beautifully made product. Wonderful support from corporate. Build my own clientele.

    Cons

    If you aren't self-motivated, this may not be the opportunity for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting your stylists. We appreciate every last thing you do to innovate and make selling easier.

    J Hilburn2017-01-15
  6. "Great opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Personal Stylist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn

    Pros

    Love the support the company offers. They listen to their stylists and do everything in their power to answer their concerns. The products are amazing and the training and service for stylists is unheard of in the industry. You have the ability to truly make money on your schedule.

    Cons

    It's not a con but more of a FYI. You are a 1099 employee so you are responsible for paying for supplies but the costs are very minimal.

    Advice to Management

    They are awesome!

    J Hilburn2016-07-29
  7. "Best in Class"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Personal Stylist in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Incredible company. Excellent support for field stylists. Well entrenched in menswear Nationally. Quality products that delight our customers. Unsurpassed quality, fit,turn around times and styles. I love delighting my customers time and again.

    Cons

    You need to be committed to being an excellent stylist. It is your own business and no one is going to do it for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    J Hilburn2015-03-21
Found 7 reviews