J Hilburn Reviews | Glassdoor

J Hilburn Reviews

Updated May 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J Hilburn CEO Andy Janowski (no image)
Andy Janowski
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Uses the direct sales/MLM model to maximize value to the client and the stylists(in 11 reviews)

  • "The quality of the clothing is spectacular, given the fabrics are imported from Italian mills(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you’re a stylist or at corporate, find a way out ASAP(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing Part Time Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Limitless growth, excellent training and mentorship.

    Cons

    You get out of it what you put in, but there is so much opportunity.

    J Hilburn2019-05-07
  2. "Great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn full-time

    Pros

    Everything! I love it here!

    Cons

    None! I really do love it here!

    J Hilburn2019-05-03
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Loving every minute- its work but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Stylist in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, generous commission, awesome clients, killer work-life balance

    Cons

    the company is growing and emerging- there are hiccups but we build off them with high energy

    Advice to Management

    you cant communicate to the field enough!

    J Hilburn2019-02-12
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible; going nowhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Hilburn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Absolutely nothing- there are a few remaining smart people but they get overruled & overlooked by the execs

    Cons

    Almost all of the remaining upper management, including the CEO & COO, are incompetent & burning through cash (flying in from NYC & SF certainly doesn’t help). If you’re a stylist or at corporate, find a way out ASAP.

    Advice to Management

    Fire yourselves- you don’t know what you’re doing. All of the money you’re spending on flights & hotels & meals could be given back to the stylists who actually deserve it.

    J Hilburn2019-01-30
  6. "Great People/Quickly Changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing employees. Open to new ideas, casual enviroment

    Cons

    Moving way to fast and roles change internally much too quickly.

    J Hilburn2018-09-23
  7. "overwhelmed support agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist Care in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Hilburn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    small company, great camaraderie amongst team mates

    Cons

    no mid-level management system. executives didn't encourage department team members to move up in the company. low pay.

    J Hilburn2017-10-16
  8. "Good company for flexible schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at J Hilburn

    Pros

    Allows you to make your own schedule and select your clientele. Your mentor is always willing to help and provide training.

    Cons

    No base salary. It is only commission and depends on a selling percentile. Sometimes your mentor does not live close to you.

    J Hilburn2017-08-06
  9. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexibility, you decide how and when you work

    Cons

    100% commission based and must find your own clients

    J Hilburn2017-07-31
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Just Jump in!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Stylist in San Rafael, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to start as a stylist. Zero commitment other than your own personal drive to make commissions. Stylist help via Phone or FB is very helpful

    Cons

    Joining costs for membership are $300 but they give you the opportunity to earn it back. Certifications cost additional money. Commissions are low, but the more you sell the higher commission raises.

    J Hilburn2017-03-06
  11. "Love it my business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Stylist in Highlands, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to sell Make your own hours Excellent back office support & training Fun with great rewards trips

    Cons

    Slow growth when first getting started Build clients one-by-one Lots of additional tools to buy in order to up sales

    Advice to Management

    The company is growing fast. Would like to see some more senior people in some of the corporate positions. Otherwise, marketing and learning tools as well as product are excellent.

    J Hilburn2017-02-08
Found 48 reviews