J Hilburn Reviews | Glassdoor

J Hilburn Reviews

Updated May 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J Hilburn CEO Andy Janowski (no image)
Andy Janowski
4 Ratings
  1. "Working as a personal stylist for J HIlburn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J Hilburn full-time

    Pros

    Create your own client base

    Cons

    For the most part I am working alone

    J Hilburn2017-02-04
  2. "Personal Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Personal Stylist in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn

    Pros

    Freedom to create my own schedule. Beautifully made product. Wonderful support from corporate. Build my own clientele.

    Cons

    If you aren't self-motivated, this may not be the opportunity for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting your stylists. We appreciate every last thing you do to innovate and make selling easier.

    J Hilburn2017-01-15
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at J Hilburn part-time

    Pros

    Flexibility to create your own client base and schedule. A creative business concept. Fun for those interested in working in men's fashion or retail.

    Cons

    Pay structure changes frequently (often to the detriment of the stylist), making it more difficult to maintain or increase income. Stylists are encouraged to develop their teams (MLM style), but markets in smaller towns can quickly become flooded. (Better in big cities.) Company continues to increase stylist's overhead with swatches, catalogs, samples, etc. Much of this should be provided by the company so the... stylist has a chance to make money and succeed. Overall, the company appears to be moving more towards online and brick and mortar sales, and seem to be slowly taking the stylist (one-on-one in-person experience) out of the equation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your stylists! Understand most new stylists will struggle at the beginning. Keep overhead costs to a minimum and help them succeed, if you are truly going to continue with the MLM model.

    J Hilburn2016-12-01
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Stylist Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have recently left a position with a major NEPA healthcare system for J. Hilburn and have never been happier with a job experience. J. Hilburn cares about everyone at every level and constantly strives to better the Personal Stylist as well as improving the product line all the time. It is just mind blowing that one can have so many different people from so many different departments all striving to assist each... person at all times. Why did I wait so long? AND then to see the utter complete satisfaction that all of my clients have exuded is overwhelming.

    Show More

    Cons

    annual conference in Dallas in July---but then the entire country was hot this summer....so what's the difference? Couldn't think of anything else...

    J Hilburn2016-07-29
  5. Helpful (4)

    "J. Hilburn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Partner in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    With 20+ years of Fortune 100 corporate sales experience J. Hilburn equals and exceeds the best training and support I have received. Superior products, customer service to external clients and stylists. Our leadership listens to our needs and suggestions to build a better business. I am proud to represent J. Hilburn

    Cons

    As an independent stylist there is exceptional work life balance, but it is essential to stay plugged into corporate communications, team meetings, team building and client appointments.

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening to the stylist in the street who are meeting and working clients daily. We hear the clients requests and pass them to you.

    J Hilburn2016-07-26
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn part-time

    Pros

    Incredible support, resources and talents available around the country.

    Cons

    Have to build a team for income to be livable.

    J Hilburn2016-07-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Game-changing menswear company is maniacal about excellence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Stylist, Team Builder, and Social Entrepreneur in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J Hilburn part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Truly flexible, fun, and allows you to pull from diverse skill sets. I can be a mother and a professional. A supportive environment of excellence. A GROWING company; totally unique in the market. Uses the direct sales/MLM model to maximize value to the client and the stylists.

    Cons

    You've got to be self-motivated to succeed. Takes some time to build but the growth is determined by you and can easily exceed your expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the incredible support that you're providing to the stylists. Provide incentives to have us recruit the RIGHT stylists-not ones that will end up quitting or hurting this incredible brand.

    J Hilburn2016-07-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Above Average Compny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Stylist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn

    Pros

    Unlimited. Potential Full Support Promo Products Best of the Best

    Cons

    The only con or drawback is yourself

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the excellent job that you are presently about.

    J Hilburn2016-07-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Independent Personal Stylist in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn

    Pros

    Having flexibility is key and this company delivers. Working with a great team of people from diverse background.

    Cons

    Business can be slow but only if you're not working hard for it. I spend a lot of money on product.

    Advice to Management

    Give us our tools at more reasonable prices. Especially for those just starting out.

    J Hilburn2016-07-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "What you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    J. Hilburn has allowed me to bring in extra money for my family and pay for some wonderful vacations. It's a business where you get out of it what you put in. - work on your own time - make your own hours - tax breaks - great resources from your team and the home office

    Cons

    - must be a self starter - no medical benefits - takes time to build business

    Advice to Management

    Health insurance for stylists.. We have enough employees to get a decent plan.

    J Hilburn2016-07-24
Found 48 reviews