J Hilburn Reviews | Glassdoor

J Hilburn Reviews

Updated May 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J Hilburn CEO Andy Janowski (no image)
Andy Janowski
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Sorry J. Hilburn, I'm just not buying it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Hilburn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    First of all I worked directly in the corporate office right along side the owners of the company. As far as I'm concerned so called "partners" as they are called are not employees and should not be posting on this site as if they were employees. "Partners" pay to sell products - J. Hilburn is an MLM organization... pay to play it's that simple. I want to make it clear that I did not have a bad experience here, everyone was professional and there were no major issues. My review of this company is an honest assessment based on my experience working here for over a year.

    Cons

    Young inexperienced staff, overwhelmingly female. Attitudes of employees are what you would expect from a company dealing with fashion, stuck up - especially in the creative and IT departments. The companies management would have you believe they are raking in the cash but I didn't buy it for one minute. It's a provatly held company so there is no real way to look at the books. Management is dis-jointed and the "board" has no clue. In my opinion this is a disaster waiting to happen.

    Continue reading
    J Hilburn2014-09-26

    J Hilburn Response

    November 4, 2014COO

    Thank you for your input. First, I never consider an overwhelmingly female staff as a negative. We (and certainly I) take incredible pride in our diverse workforce. We embrace a culture that understands diversity in every aspect only makes us stronger. As far as inexperienced staff, this is a place where we encourage initiative and development. We also let people take on big projects - if this is viewed as inexperience, I can certainly understand your comment but we will remain an organization that fosters growth. Specifically about creative and tech, these two organizations are some of the most empathetic and helpful teams. I would encourage anyone to spend time with these professionals. I cannot comment more favorably about the quality of these two teams - and i am very confident other employees would not agree with your comments. Concerning the engagement of the board and the profitability of the company - the board remains very well informed (fully audited accounting records, audit partner meets with the board) and supportive. We have also encouraged the board to meet directly with our employees (past board meetings have included "social" gatherings with employees and board members). I also benefit directly from the wealth of experience and the active engagement of our board. We are a dynamic, growing workplace. We encourage our staff (women, inexperienced as well as creative and IT) to question our past practices, to actively engage and to not view titles as entitlements. If this is the environment you desire, we are a good fit. If you view diversity as a negative, feel comforted by rules and embolden by titles, you may find a better fit elsewhere in DFW.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed Bag at HQ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J Hilburn full-time

    Pros

    Supportive team, fast-paced and always interesting, I learned a lot and believe in the company. Really want J.Hilburn to succeed.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is non-existent. No progression plans, despite employees asking for them for years. There is a very significant gap between executives and employees, though they will tell you otherwise. One of their core values is "do more with less" which becomes very apparent very quickly. Though this is a great concept, their application is very disappointing. Employees are expected to go above and beyond for the company with very little reward, small salaries, little recognition, and very little time off -- which is a recent change.

    Continue reading
    J Hilburn2014-09-24
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Eye opener"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Hilburn

    Pros

    Work on your own time

    Cons

    There was never steady work

    J Hilburn2014-08-19
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Franchise Opp, Not a Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Style Consultant 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn for less than a year

    Pros

    National opportunity, Car Program for qualified mega sales team leaders, Autonomy, beautiful catalogs, no set territories for reps or where you build your down line from...

    Cons

    This is an investment. This is not a job. They post on employment sites, but they are an MLM. You pay for the materials you need to sell their products. You pay for their mandatory training. You pay to get to their mandatory training. -you'll be reimbursed if you exceed X amount of sales following THEIR training. You pay for your web portal, which you need to enter orders. You pay for samples & fabric books necessary for sales consultations. You pay for any healthcare benefits you might want, because you are a contractor. -Not an employee. You pay your quarterly taxes, Social Security, etc. You get my drift? Is this a bad company, a bad investment Opportunity, or shifty MLM? Probably not. Is the company being fair or honest when posting on job/career boards for employees? Definitely not. After undergoing a couple of interviews, Team Leaders prey on desperate unemployed people with the promise of an 'Independent Lifestyle' and 'unlimited earning potential', following your initial investments totaling hundreds of dollars...

    Continue reading
    J Hilburn2014-03-09
  5. Helpful (3)

    "This company is a scam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Style Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn

    Pros

    I can't really see any pros to working here

    Cons

    It's an investment not a job opportunity. If you get contacted through indeed or any other job site, do not respond you will get harassed with calls and emails.

    Continue reading
    J Hilburn2014-04-10
  6. "Awesome!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Consultant in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Hilburn part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Potential is unlimited, great leadership, company has excellent support systems for the consultants. Fun and exciting, primarily untapped market.

    Cons

    You truly have to be self-motivated and determined to be consistently successful. This is not an easy way to make money initially.

    Continue reading
    J Hilburn2013-11-21
  7. "I love my J Hilburn Business! The company is growing and adding new partners nationwide!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Partner in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J Hilburn part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Be your own boss. Own your own franchise without the startup costs. Great comp. plan and bonus/incentive plan. Amazing products. Fun!

    Cons

    There are no cons, but you must be a self-starter and want your own business and to work for a rapidly growing and changing company.

    Continue reading
    J Hilburn2012-07-25
  8. "Art Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dhaka

    I have been working at J Hilburn full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I am working as a senior manager, I want to established myself as an Art Director any well known group of company. So J Hilburn is my main preference,

    Cons

    I have no idea

    Continue reading
    J Hilburn2016-03-02
Found 48 reviews