KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

J Hilburn

Is this your company?

J Hilburn

Add a Review

J Hilburn Employee Reviews about "stylists"

Updated Mar 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 70 reviews

4.0
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
J Hilburn CEO Dave DeFeo (no image)
Dave DeFeo
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great upbeat community of stylists and support from the corporate office(in 13 reviews)

  • "Flexible role, great quality of fabrics and construction, lots of "back end" support for order entry, payment, shipping, etc(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "build a team(in 4 reviews)

  • "You've got to be self-motivated to succeed(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "stylists"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Contractor, more than 3 years

      Love this company, the business model and the work with my clients!

      Mar 20, 2020 - Personal Stylist in Glenwood Springs, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Independent contracted work with a brilliant turn-key business model. I'm my own boss and create my own schedule. Much work can be done from home. Works great as an additional source of income and its flexibility works great when you have all kinds of other things going on in life (I own another business). Great upbeat community of stylists and support from the corporate office.

      Cons

      None really. One of my favorite companies to work for ever.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Contractor, more than 8 years

      Know what the job entails.....

      Jun 27, 2019 - Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible role, great quality of fabrics and construction, lots of "back end" support for order entry, payment, shipping, etc. Stylist base is for the most part very helpful and friendly. They have allowed for people to stay in longer without as much stress. Not a lot of $$$ to get in the business and ways to earn the on-going materials.

      Cons

      You must get your own clients....which is tougher that you might think. Those with a large, developed network will do best, You can do it without a big network but it will take more time to grow your biz. Also, too much emphasis to grow a team, which turns off many people. Fine to want to have a team but you should also be able to just be a good seller and not feel like a second class person. Adding things that seem to cost a lot of money to launch for little return. IE, Moto jackets and swimsuits to name a few. They also started sending WAY TOO MANY emails to our clients. That seems to have balanced out a bit. Lots of changes in management which made for a bumpy year or so. Hopefully it is getting ready to smooth out.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      The Most Dysfunctional Company I Have Ever Worked For

      Nov 15, 2019 - Stylist Communications Specialist in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      • Snacks • Great Stylist Care/Fit Advice team members who really value and care about the stylists.

      Cons

      Originally, I believed the biggest challenge at J.Hilburn would stem from lack of company training. However, I quickly realized that office politics, unsuitable work environment, constant turnovers, and unaligned leadership would prove to be bigger obstacles. • Job Duties: The role I was hired for is not what I did durning my time at J.Hilburn. This role is primarily editing and sending emails on a daily basis, Sending out text messages, filming company videos and editing them, and attending baseless meetings with no goals nor agenda. • Low Company Morale: I witnessed on numerous occasions executive leaders speak inappropriately of the Stylists who keep this business alive. This behavior made it increasingly difficult to continue to assist in company communications of “gratitude” for stylists efforts knowing the real feelings of some leadership members. Executive mentality of stylists is a major contribution to the dismantled work environment and low company morale experienced across all employees. • Work Environment: There is absolutely no culture within the company, toxic work environment, infantile employees who play nerf guns on the floor while other employees are trying to work their day-to-day task, and incompetent leadership. • Opportunities for Growth: The name of the game is favoritism. Stylist Care team members with the longest tenure have been constantly overlooked for career advancement. Yet, promotions are handed out left and right to those who I have no idea to this day what they do all day. • Turnover: Employees of years are dropping left and right. This company is now on its 3rd CEO and 2 COO. I could share more for the purposes of management advice but I have little faith that the information gathered will be compiled to formulate a retention strategy. I refused to experience nor witness any form of disrespect or maltreatment, particularly from individuals whose only credibility resides in their job title as opposed to demonstrated excellence and leadership. I’m positive my experience isn’t an anomaly.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      J Hilburn Response

      HR Director

      Thank you for your feedback. J.Hilburn is built on a culture that is evolving, dynamic and collaborative. True, we have experienced change in upper management over the last year. Due to the changing landscape of retail, J.Hilburn is evolving to meet the needs of our Stylists and Clients so that everyone associated with the organization can thrive. Currently we have an experienced management team with an average of 25+ years experience in retail management and operations. This experienced management team is poised to lead us into the future and create growth. J.Hilburn has a fast-paced environment, therefore meetings are important to ensure we are communicating and everyone gains an understanding of the needs of our Stylists and Clients. Meetings are designed to be collaborative, establish priorities and set timelines, thus active participation is critical to the success of these meetings and ensuring we meet the needs of our Stylists and clients. Additionally, as we grow and business needs change, so do the roles we each play. This is an opportunity for individuals to expand their knowledge, challenge themselves, learn new skills and grow professionally. Because we are a small company, successful employees must juggle concurrent projects, flex with the needs of the business, are proactive with a positive attitude and communicate clearly with their managers and team members. Promotions are awarded based on merit and performance. Additionally, the company fosters an environment of mutual respect between our home office employees and Stylists. We continue to work on strengthening that bridge through a culture of seeking to understand and coming from a place of positive intent. We understand that J.Hilburn’s dynamic and fast-paced culture may not be a fit for everyone. At the end of the day we want everyone to find work that fulfills them and we are sorry that you didn’t find that here. We thank you for your service and wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    4. 5.0
      Current Contractor, more than 3 years

      Company provides exemplary training and mentoring

      Feb 5, 2019 - Independent Stylist in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You are surrounded by others who want you to be successful. There are weekly training calls and supportive stylists who share their experiences. J.Hilburn products are very high quality and they've cornered the market on best client experience.

      Cons

      Commission isn't great. You can only be successful if you are good at recruiting new stylists.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      When you're handed everything you need to be successful, in the end, it's in your hands!

      Feb 1, 2015 - Managing Partner in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A senior management team who cares and values employees and independent stylists. Brilliant distribution and supply chain that continues to adapt with increasing growth demand. Maintains the original vision of the company and continues to carry out being a solution to save men time and money by providing high quality garments at reasonable prices. The ability to control your own success is a feeling of freedom (and responsibility) that is rare. With J Hilburn, the corporate support has no match! If you want to be successful, it is all yours for the taking!

      Cons

      It is hard to truly know who the self-starters are (as anyone play the part). If you are not willing to work, you will not succeed. This is not for everyone, but what is? To be in control of your own success can be fearful and intimidating to some. However, overcoming the fear and intimidation (if you are willing) results in the freedom to determine your own success.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Stylist Advisor

      Jul 29, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have recently left a position with a major NEPA healthcare system for J. Hilburn and have never been happier with a job experience. J. Hilburn cares about everyone at every level and constantly strives to better the Personal Stylist as well as improving the product line all the time. It is just mind blowing that one can have so many different people from so many different departments all striving to assist each person at all times. Why did I wait so long? AND then to see the utter complete satisfaction that all of my clients have exuded is overwhelming.

      Cons

      annual conference in Dallas in July---but then the entire country was hot this summer....so what's the difference? Couldn't think of anything else...

      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      J. Hilburn

      Jul 25, 2016 - Associate Partner in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      With 20+ years of Fortune 100 corporate sales experience J. Hilburn equals and exceeds the best training and support I have received. Superior products, customer service to external clients and stylists. Our leadership listens to our needs and suggestions to build a better business. I am proud to represent J. Hilburn

      Cons

      As an independent stylist there is exceptional work life balance, but it is essential to stay plugged into corporate communications, team meetings, team building and client appointments.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Do-able but Limited

      Jul 23, 2016 - Stylist in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The clothing is beautiful, of best in class fabric and skillfully made. As a stylist, you can determine your own hours and have the opportunity to meet and develop relationships with new people. Your fellow stylists are a self-selected group of friendly, positive and motivated people.

      Cons

      First of all, a stylist must generate her own leads, which is very challenging. Furthermore, with the JH business model - selling individual pieces of clothing versus, say, a trunk club or at least a discount for buying multiple pieces of clothing - it is rare to sell a ticket of more than a couple hundred dollars at a time. Also, the percentage earnings of sales is quite low. As a result, a stylist must put in many hours including a great deal of drive time to generate mediocre income.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Game-changing menswear company is maniacal about excellence

      Jul 25, 2016 - Personal Stylist, Team Builder, and Social Entrepreneur in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Truly flexible, fun, and allows you to pull from diverse skill sets. I can be a mother and a professional. A supportive environment of excellence. A GROWING company; totally unique in the market. Uses the direct sales/MLM model to maximize value to the client and the stylists.

      Cons

      You've got to be self-motivated to succeed. Takes some time to build but the growth is determined by you and can easily exceed your expectations.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Get out while you still can.

      Oct 22, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people you interact with on a day to day basis-this will keep you sane. Nice view from the 20th floor and occasionally a free lunch. Our Stylists are great and are a huge part of the reason people stay connected to the company, we want them to succeed.

      Cons

      Underpaid, undervalued, overworked, zero growth plan. Management is basically nonexistent..based off of the favorites and considering there is no management training it is hard to have hope that things will get better. You are expected to put in long hours and covering jobs of people who have quit or been fired but there is no additional compensation. It is a negative and toxic environment. They have no flexibility, though they would never say that..but taking your hour lunch break is frowned upon. To say there is a lack of communication is an understatement.

      3 people found this review helpful

      J Hilburn Response

      COO

      Thank you for your feedback. I agree completely with your comment about our stylists being a huge part of our success. I am certainly sorry that you feel underpaid and overworked. Please talk to your manager or directly to the COO or CEO. We do provide coaching for employees working on their leadership and management skills. No one should feel compelled or required to work extra hours - we try to make it a point to encourage people to have a healthy work / life balance. We offer a pretty liberal paid time off policy - but always look to improving our benefits. We also have monthly corporate updates to increase transparency. We routinely benchmark our compensation against comparable positions - if we are wrong, please talk to your manager or anyone of us. We try to be fair - but certainly welcome your input. thank you

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

    Popular Careers with J Hilburn Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at J Hilburn? Share Your Experiences

    J Hilburn logo
    or