KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

J Hilburn

Is this your company?

J Hilburn

Add a Review

J Hilburn Employee Reviews about "stylists"

Updated Jul 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 76 reviews

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
J Hilburn CEO Dave DeFeo (no image)
Dave DeFeo
10 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "stylists"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Can I share the BEST "JOB" I have ever had?

    Jul 26, 2021 - Independent Personal Stylist in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Our successful stylists are very well dressed confident gentlemen who love fashion and would like to get custom at a discount. Power Mom - looking for a side hustle or your own $ Next-Chapter - retired but can’t sit still Professional- wants out of corporate America & flexible real income potential Is this you? #entrepreneur #fashion #clothing #love #job #mentoring Many previous stylist may have negative comments. This is not for everyone however, if it is for you and you can connect with the client who appreciates amazing quality clothing all from the comforts of their home or office and appreciate the importance of looking their absolute best and have a love for fashion, style, being important to important people will love working as a stylist.

    Cons

    Building a clientele who shop and value you is tough if you are not connected to your community and think the clients will knock on your door to build them wardrobes. YOU have to be type A personality (even if only during work hours) and the ambition to build a team. Its not easy, but the rewards are so amazing and well worth the hard work. I absolutely love being a stylist.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great product, training, and support

    May 8, 2021 - Independent Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The product is really good!! They provide great training and sales support. It’s a really good community - both the home office and field stylists.

    Cons

    More corporate leads would be great.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    Love this company, the business model and the work with my clients!

    Mar 20, 2020 - Personal Stylist in Glenwood Springs, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Independent contracted work with a brilliant turn-key business model. I'm my own boss and create my own schedule. Much work can be done from home. Works great as an additional source of income and its flexibility works great when you have all kinds of other things going on in life (I own another business). Great upbeat community of stylists and support from the corporate office.

    Cons

    None really. One of my favorite companies to work for ever.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    The Most Dysfunctional Company I Have Ever Worked For

    Nov 15, 2019 - Stylist Communications Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    • Snacks • Great Stylist Care/Fit Advice team members who really value and care about the stylists.

    Cons

    Originally, I believed the biggest challenge at J.Hilburn would stem from lack of company training. However, I quickly realized that office politics, unsuitable work environment, constant turnovers, and unaligned leadership would prove to be bigger obstacles. • Job Duties: The role I was hired for is not what I did durning my time at J.Hilburn. This role is primarily editing and sending emails on a daily basis, Sending out text messages, filming company videos and editing them, and attending baseless meetings with no goals nor agenda. • Low Company Morale: I witnessed on numerous occasions executive leaders speak inappropriately of the Stylists who keep this business alive. This behavior made it increasingly difficult to continue to assist in company communications of “gratitude” for stylists efforts knowing the real feelings of some leadership members. Executive mentality of stylists is a major contribution to the dismantled work environment and low company morale experienced across all employees. • Work Environment: There is absolutely no culture within the company, toxic work environment, infantile employees who play nerf guns on the floor while other employees are trying to work their day-to-day task, and incompetent leadership. • Opportunities for Growth: The name of the game is favoritism. Stylist Care team members with the longest tenure have been constantly overlooked for career advancement. Yet, promotions are handed out left and right to those who I have no idea to this day what they do all day. • Turnover: Employees of years are dropping left and right. This company is now on its 3rd CEO and 2 COO. I could share more for the purposes of management advice but I have little faith that the information gathered will be compiled to formulate a retention strategy. I refused to experience nor witness any form of disrespect or maltreatment, particularly from individuals whose only credibility resides in their job title as opposed to demonstrated excellence and leadership. I’m positive my experience isn’t an anomaly.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    J Hilburn Response

    HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. J.Hilburn is built on a culture that is evolving, dynamic and collaborative. True, we have experienced change in upper management over the last year. Due to the changing landscape of retail, J.Hilburn is evolving to meet the needs of our Stylists and Clients so that everyone associated with the organization can thrive. Currently we have an experienced management team with an average of 25+ years experience in retail management and operations. This experienced management team is poised to lead us into the future and create growth. J.Hilburn has a fast-paced environment, therefore meetings are important to ensure we are communicating and everyone gains an understanding of the needs of our Stylists and Clients. Meetings are designed to be collaborative, establish priorities and set timelines, thus active participation is critical to the success of these meetings and ensuring we meet the needs of our Stylists and clients. Additionally, as we grow and business needs change, so do the roles we each play. This is an opportunity for individuals to expand their knowledge, challenge themselves, learn new skills and grow professionally. Because we are a small company, successful employees must juggle concurrent projects, flex with the needs of the business, are proactive with a positive attitude and communicate clearly with their managers and team members. Promotions are awarded based on merit and performance. Additionally, the company fosters an environment of mutual respect between our home office employees and Stylists. We continue to work on strengthening that bridge through a culture of seeking to understand and coming from a place of positive intent. We understand that J.Hilburn’s dynamic and fast-paced culture may not be a fit for everyone. At the end of the day we want everyone to find work that fulfills them and we are sorry that you didn’t find that here. We thank you for your service and wish you the best in your future endeavors.

  5. 3.0
    Current Contractor, more than 8 years

    Know what the job entails.....

    Jun 27, 2019 - Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible role, great quality of fabrics and construction, lots of "back end" support for order entry, payment, shipping, etc. Stylist base is for the most part very helpful and friendly. They have allowed for people to stay in longer without as much stress. Not a lot of $$$ to get in the business and ways to earn the on-going materials.

    Cons

    You must get your own clients....which is tougher that you might think. Those with a large, developed network will do best, You can do it without a big network but it will take more time to grow your biz. Also, too much emphasis to grow a team, which turns off many people. Fine to want to have a team but you should also be able to just be a good seller and not feel like a second class person. Adding things that seem to cost a lot of money to launch for little return. IE, Moto jackets and swimsuits to name a few. They also started sending WAY TOO MANY emails to our clients. That seems to have balanced out a bit. Lots of changes in management which made for a bumpy year or so. Hopefully it is getting ready to smooth out.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    Company provides exemplary training and mentoring

    Feb 5, 2019 - Independent Stylist in Raleigh, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You are surrounded by others who want you to be successful. There are weekly training calls and supportive stylists who share their experiences. J.Hilburn products are very high quality and they've cornered the market on best client experience.

    Cons

    Commission isn't great. You can only be successful if you are good at recruiting new stylists.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Just Jump in!

    Mar 6, 2017 - Personal Stylist in San Rafael, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy to start as a stylist. Zero commitment other than your own personal drive to make commissions. Stylist help via Phone or FB is very helpful

    Cons

    Joining costs for membership are $300 but they give you the opportunity to earn it back. Certifications cost additional money. Commissions are low, but the more you sell the higher commission raises.

    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Stylist Advisor

    Jul 29, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have recently left a position with a major NEPA healthcare system for J. Hilburn and have never been happier with a job experience. J. Hilburn cares about everyone at every level and constantly strives to better the Personal Stylist as well as improving the product line all the time. It is just mind blowing that one can have so many different people from so many different departments all striving to assist each person at all times. Why did I wait so long? AND then to see the utter complete satisfaction that all of my clients have exuded is overwhelming.

    Cons

    annual conference in Dallas in July---but then the entire country was hot this summer....so what's the difference? Couldn't think of anything else...

    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    J. Hilburn

    Jul 25, 2016 - Associate Partner in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    With 20+ years of Fortune 100 corporate sales experience J. Hilburn equals and exceeds the best training and support I have received. Superior products, customer service to external clients and stylists. Our leadership listens to our needs and suggestions to build a better business. I am proud to represent J. Hilburn

    Cons

    As an independent stylist there is exceptional work life balance, but it is essential to stay plugged into corporate communications, team meetings, team building and client appointments.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Contractor

    Great opportunity!

    Jul 29, 2016 - Personal Stylist in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love the support the company offers. They listen to their stylists and do everything in their power to answer their concerns. The products are amazing and the training and service for stylists is unheard of in the industry. You have the ability to truly make money on your schedule.

    Cons

    It's not a con but more of a FYI. You are a 1099 employee so you are responsible for paying for supplies but the costs are very minimal.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

Work at J Hilburn? Share Your Experiences

J Hilburn logo
or

J Hilburn Photos

+ Add Photo
J Hilburn photo of: Basecamp 2019
J Hilburn photo of: CEO Andy Janowski toasting to our Basecamp 2019 attendees!
J Hilburn photo of: Stylist Susan with CCO Simon Kneen
J Hilburn photo of: Stylists with CEO Andy Janowski
J Hilburn photo of: Basecamp 2019 social! Stylists enjoying each others company!
J Hilburn photo of: Home Office employees, Krys, Queen, and Wayne, assisting at Basecamp
J Hilburn photo of: Our Stylists love seeing our Home Office employees!
See All Photos