J.P. Morgan Los Angeles Reviews

Updated May 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of J.P. Morgan and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Solid Start

    Apr 21, 2021 - Corporate Banking Summer Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great development and comprehensive work

    Cons

    Long hours that struggle with normalcy

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    If you like growing as a developer, don't work here

    Feb 23, 2021 - Associate Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - relatively good benefits (health, 401k and matching, pension) - relatively stable workplace (don't feel like I could ever get fired lol) - this isn't true for all teams, but my team has been very flexible in allowing me to work remotely full-time which has been great for me - if you like finance, working for a bank, specifically as an eng in the IB, gets you as close to traders as you could get which can be interesting if you like that stuff

    Cons

    Working for a bank obviously has its cons but the biggest things that stand out to me: - we don't retain good engineers (everyone leaves) and we also don't listen to the concerns of our engineers - we don't have competitive pay compared to other tech companies - lack of diversity in engineering (specifically among females and BIPOC) - very hard to make it above VP level and we really don't promote women or BIPOC into leadership (levels are analyst, associate, VP, ED, MD, e-board) - we don't adopt new technologies frequently so engineers skills remain stagnant - tech stack is very internal (a lot of stuff was built in house so skills are not very transferable) - teams are overstretched to the point where everyone experiences burnout (we don't backfill positions when people leave so team is still operating at previous level with less people) - team has on-call rotation which progressively gets worse as people leave/we onboard newly built technology and our production support team effectively does nothing to help (so half of your job is site reliability which isn't for everyone) - overall, seems like everyone hates their job which isn't the best work environment

    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Company

    Apr 27, 2021 - Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture, values my opinion.

    Cons

    Awful technology, slow, and inefficient systems.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Not at all what was expected

    May 1, 2021 - Relationship Banker in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I don’t think there are any

    Cons

    You will work long days with the lack of support from management and leadership. The icing on the cake will be doing work an not receiving any incentive for your work. Chase doesn’t pay for account opening an service products.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent job for a college student

    Apr 13, 2021 - Bank Teller in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits and decent pay Friendly work environment

    Cons

    Short hours Always on feet Short breaks

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good Company

    Apr 12, 2021 - Personal Banker in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Part of recognized national bank.

    Cons

    Pay has decreased over the years. Firm expects more work and no annual pay increases.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great supporter

    Mar 15, 2021 - Personal Banker in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Support many causes but primarily those in low income communities by assessing their opportunity to purchase a home.

    Cons

    Not easy to get up in the career ladder.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    N/A

    Apr 8, 2021 - Receptionist/Administrative Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Teller and Banking experience, Customer Service

    Cons

    Rude Customers , mental exhaustion

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Money

    Mar 24, 2021 - Investment Banking Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get paid a lot, but the working hours are long

    Cons

    The work-life balance is really bad

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Associate Banker

    Mar 18, 2021 - Associate Banker in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits are great Team is knowledgeable.

    Cons

    New position so they don't have everything set in yet to be able to open accounts and get licensed.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 117 Reviews

Popular Careers with J.P. Morgan Job Seekers

Financial Analyst
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Government Relations Manager
Learn About the Job

Work at J.P. Morgan? Share Your Experiences

or