J.P. Morgan Reviews

Updated May 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great company with great benefits(in 1142 reviews)

  • "Good benefits for new employees(in 925 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long daily working hours throughout year(in 460 reviews)

  • "Hard work / no work life balance(in 302 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of J.P. Morgan and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Great place to work

      Jan 20, 2021 - Managing Director in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stable well run organization. It is a durable company

      Cons

      It is a big bank and a big organization and therefore has the associated bureaucracy

      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      May 14, 2021 - Product Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, opportunities for growth because of size

      Cons

      No annual merit or inflation increases

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Go elsewhere

      May 14, 2021 - Mortgage Processor in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are good. They do tend to keep people employed even when their lines of business are no longer needed. They will always try and keep the employee with Chase.

      Cons

      If you work for Chase you will be using outdated systems , and when seeking new employment it makes you undesirable to hire. There are systems that are used so frequently in the industry and no other company wants to take the time to train you in them. Their work life balance is terrible. They pay significantly lower than other companies and you’re expected to do so much more than your average loan processor. I had to train myself to do my job basically. Training is poor and they tell you “you won’t need to know that” about so many aspects of your job. When in reality they are putting you at a disadvantage . Their training is very poor. Again, this makes you a very undesirable candidate for other companies even with years and years of experience !! I think it’s strategic. They just want to keep you there , underpay you and treat you like a number not a person. Their systems are from the 90s and they do not give their processors bonuses no matter how much you book for them.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Just don't

      May 7, 2021 - Review Appraiser 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are good, pay its ok. Some of the coworkers are helpful

      Cons

      Management is not there to builds you up or support you or to lead you so you grow and become a better employee. They do everything to show you that you are incompetent, are rude, sometimes will scream at you, not helpful, if you are in doubt and need them they will ask you counter questions that will leave you even more confused. Will point out every single mistake and ask why? I get it but when you're working on hundreds of loans a month there will some mistakes. Even when you are in your learning stage. This is not coaching, this is standing behind you with a stick. Which makes Job extremely stressful and that leads to mistakes. And complaining to higher up Management doesn't do anything, even if you can prove unprofessional behavior. How big of a hypocrite you have to be to treat your employees poorly but with other people around be super nice... They are news of return to office circling around, which is very unsafe. Why would you want to wear a mask and risk another sickness because of doing so if you can satisfactory perform your job from the comfort of your home office. I will tell you, its because management its supporting micromanagement and they don't trust anyone which is very sad in such reputable company as JPMorgan Wealth Management is, and wants to be. You will think because Wealth Management is designated for high profile clients the operations will be treated good. But unfortunately that will be a lie.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      The cons outweigh the pros

      May 10, 2021 - Associate Software Engineer in Wilmington, DE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of ways to get involved, good benefits & # of PTO days, good amount of opportunity to learn

      Cons

      Internal mobility is encouraged, but tons of bureaucracy during the actual job transfer. If you take a job that is posted as a salary grade above what you currently are, HR won't allow you to take the promotion or raise. It saves the company money because they could pay you less even though the skills and job requirements are worth more money (and they would have paid an external candidate more money).

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Terrible Culture

      Apr 25, 2021 - Private Banking Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -good opportunities to learn (global morning meeting call) -a few decent people that will support you during your time there and beyond -salary

      Cons

      I have PTSD from working here especially as 1) a woman 2) a person of color. Forget it. Save yourself. It’s an awful culture. They act like this is IB when it’s not. Not everything has to be so urgent. They will talk down on you if you’re a woman and again especially if you’re POC. It’s a white male dominated industry. That will never change. Wake up! It’s 2021. The women who work here are intense because they have to be and in turn I never felt supported by them. They felt like they worked hard to get to where they were and that’s that. There is so much bureaucracy. I was also client facing but the client service associates who do all the back end work deserve to be paid more. That will reduce turnover and make them a bit happier. So many politics. I hate office politics more than anything and this is one place people will backstab you. Be prepared. They also hate when you want a higher education. Beware. I’m going for my MBA now and they laugh at that. I would have stayed for the actual work but the culture is just so, so awful.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Eliminated position

      May 12, 2021 - Personal Banker II in Kennesaw, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pro and Health care. You earn off times with long term employment but never have chance to use to due to short stuff .

      Cons

      Branch Management is in constant turn over. They come and go as they got trained , using experienced personal and than they go different places or get promoted . Lots of connection is in play. In no way result would bring you promotion it's al about who you kiss .All the position got filled with connection so no reason to apply unless you chosen one . Unfair employment practices

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Working for little to no incentives or recognition

      Apr 7, 2021 - Part Time Associate Banker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None really, but could be completely dependent on my market. Wait, I did have fun at some events I went to and the places I got to volunteer with. I had some amazing clients who I will miss so so much.

      Cons

      Don’t expect to get credit and move up for bringing in any money if your manager doesn’t have that type of supportive vibe up front. I’ve never been more used. No scorecards; PB role is now gone; and RBs & PCBs no longer credit you for your referrals. When I first started I could atleast get paid for getting people to open accounts and credit cards, and referring them to our HLA & PCB and other associates. But now I get nothing and absolutely no recognition while fattening up others jackets, with numbers that wouldn’t exist if I didn’t personally take the time to find them our individual customers, face to face. I thought if I worked harder I’d actually move. Found leads bigger than some of our RBs and got customers to bring in serious $$$$ after introducing them to our associates and PCBs and my BM & PCB got a bonus; They got recognized. What did I get? Not a promotion. But I was saddled with the responsibility of two roles w bs pay, no incentives, no scorecards and wasted time. A product of bad management. “Diversity & inclusion” a lie The only reason I stayed so long is because I had a handful of amazing women as me who’ve since moved on.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Teams - Challenging But Doable

      May 6, 2021 - Senior Project Manager in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      (NOTE: I last worked here in 2009, but I could not select that in the dropdown.) Since the company was large and well-resourced, we rarely had budgeting issues on projects. Although teamwork, collaboration, communication, negotiation and diplomacy is required to get the maximum from your cross-functional team, generally, we always had enough people on our project teams to do the work. Most everyone was reasonable and good to work with. You must be a great problem-solver, be able to hunt down solutions across multiple business areas and be able to deal with lots of personalities, but this is simply required of all project managers.

      Cons

      There are often long hours and late or early morning hours due to international teams balancing time zone constraints. Balancing this job as well as young children would be challenging but doable if you are highly organized, prioritize well and commit to a fit and healthy lifestyle so that you can work as fast as you can in order to leave each day with enough time to handle your "second job" at home.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Return to Work

      May 4, 2021 - Vice President 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers, paid time off, and attempts to support career growth

      Cons

      Getting hired is based on who you know not what you know. Lack of respect and consideration of employees wants and needs. After working from home for 15 months, senior leadership arbitrarily decided we should return to work in the office. There was no consultation with people doing the job, complete disrespect for us. It’s clear they intend to return to pre-pandemic, little wfh flexibility options other than a day here or there. Obviously the decision was made with the mindset of a long gone business model. Good people will leave because remote work is the wave of now. They are making efforts to diversify leadership but many feel it’s just for show. Same for career advancement and growth opportunities ,

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 23,904 Reviews

    Popular Careers with J.P. Morgan Job Seekers

    Vice President
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Investment Banking Associate
    Learn About the Job

    Work at J.P. Morgan? Share Your Experiences

    or