J. Paul Getty Trust Reviews

Updated Apr 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J. Paul Getty Trust President & CEO James Cuno (no image)
James Cuno
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Supportive supervisors, great benefits, and you get to come to the Getty everyday(in 18 reviews)

  • "The Getty is a beautiful place to work - you can't beat it(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Museum pays so so so so so little(in 9 reviews)

  • "There is little to no room for upward advancement or promotion(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J. Paul Getty Trust full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Loved the locations - Villa and Center; the culture and people

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy and unnecessary policies

    J. Paul Getty Trust2020-04-15
  2. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journeyman Electrician in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J. Paul Getty Trust full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is great. People I work with are great. All staff of the Getty are great people. They treat there employees great and offer amazing benefits!

    Cons

    I have non so far.

    J. Paul Getty Trust2020-03-09
  3. "Good Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Exhibit Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. Paul Getty Trust full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked at the Getty for 10+ years. It is a very progressive, intellectual community. Salary and benefits (medical, dental, vision, 403b) are comparatively good. They will reimburse some educational expenses if it is directly related to your work.

    Cons

    It is very hierarchical with few opportunities for advancement. The culture is quite rigid and there can be a lot of politics. Many of the people in management have art backgrounds but no management training.

    Continue reading
    J. Paul Getty Trust2020-02-21
  4. "Toughest decision to leave"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Assistant 

    I worked at J. Paul Getty Trust full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues, beautiful campus, the collection, every other Friday off, like-minded people who really enjoy working in a museum

    Cons

    location - doesn’t help that the museum is next to the busiest freeway. Parking, pay, elitist attitude, managers who clearly shouldn't have been managers

    Continue reading
    J. Paul Getty Trust2020-02-18
  5. "Good company in great environment"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Assistant 

    I have been working at J. Paul Getty Trust full-time

    Pros

    Supportive supervisors, great benefits, and you get to come to the Getty everyday

    Cons

    the 405 always makes for a busy commute

    J. Paul Getty Trust2019-11-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "The Bad Place"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J. Paul Getty Trust full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Looks like heaven, feels like above.

    Cons

    Oddly soulless for an art institute. Believes in Medieval feudalism and crushes the bottom rung of people, although referring to low level employees as people might get you written up.

    Continue reading
    J. Paul Getty Trust2019-11-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "An amazing cultural heritage organization"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. Paul Getty Trust full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have never worked with so many experts!

    Cons

    The Getty is not a small place...more than 1,200 employees

    J. Paul Getty Trust2019-05-16
  8. "Unique Experience"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Graduate Intern 

    I worked at J. Paul Getty Trust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unique location and ability to make a strong professional network

    Cons

    Compensation could be improved considering the cost of living linked to finding somewhere to live close enough to the work place.

    J. Paul Getty Trust2019-04-12
  9. "Security Officer Position"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J. Paul Getty Trust full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay, fairly easy, and benefits

    Cons

    Long drive and boring job.

    J. Paul Getty Trust2019-02-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Hard work, and good benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gardener 

    I worked at J. Paul Getty Trust full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ability to learn with experienced gardeners in multiple locations and multiple types of landscaping and brush clearance

    Cons

    Early morning start and seasonal

    J. Paul Getty Trust2019-02-05
Found 113 reviews