J Sainsbury Customer Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Customer Assistant

J Sainsbury Customer Assistant Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
143 Ratings
  1. "Very accommodating for university students."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J Sainsbury

    Pros

    I work for Sainsbury's for 5 years while being a student at university. They were very accommodating to university students letting me come back to work during the university vacations saving hassle applying for other jobs every vacation. After I graduated from university they offered me a permanent contract which meant I had a job straight out of university. Colleagues were overall very nice and friendly. I had a... chance to be trained in the majority of different departments adding more variety to the job.

    Show More

    Cons

    Low pay and the flexible contract with varied shifts made planning ahead inconvenient. It is very hard to get a full time contract. The sick day policy is very harsh. The Cafe was very badly organised with customers sometimes waiting waiting 45+ for their food and complaining, having to stay over one hour after my shift was due to end because of closing down and this was due to poor management from the team leader... and managers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Overall management was good when managers were approachable to colleagues and gave them credit if they were doing a good job. However, there were some managers who were always trying to only focus on the negatives on observations which can be demotivating which can form a negative mood with the colleague in front of the customers. It is good if both the positives and negatives can be fed back in the observation... feedback. Make sure all managers say hello to their work colleagues. The sick day policy needs reviewing. There were some work colleagues who have medical conditions and were receiving disciplinary action for having to take time off when they were ill. Or some work colleagues with the flu were coming in and spreading their viruses to colleagues and customers because they were too worried about receiving disciplinary action and this was concerning when germs were being spread at a place dealing with food.

    Show More
    J Sainsbury2016-09-17
  2. "Good for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learn how to deal with the general public Great team of Colleagues to work with Discount on shopping Supportive managers

    Cons

    Long hours on feet Not much room for progression Managers changing all the time Some managers with unrealistic expectations Short-staffed most of the time

    J Sainsbury2019-11-17
  3. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant 

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great environment to work in good benefits

    Cons

    managers don't do anything all work is piled onto newbies

    J Sainsbury2019-11-18
  4. "Average pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Hoddesdon, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy and you finish at a certain time no staying over your finish time

    Cons

    Most boring job I’ve ever had, purely scanning items it made me suicidal so I left

    Advice to Management

    Management was good no complaints

    J Sainsbury2019-11-13
  5. "Sainsburys CSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Ilford, England

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hourly rate is higher than most other supermarkets.

    Cons

    The breaks are unpaid now and also the time allowed on a break has also reduced.

    J Sainsbury2019-11-07
  6. "perfect part time job whilst studying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant 

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    pay is decent at the moment however in future other companies will catch up and we will remain

    Cons

    poor management team, not enough training. also not enough overtime,

    J Sainsbury2019-11-08
  7. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generally good management. Company sick pay.

    Cons

    Working every weekend and quite long hours.

    J Sainsbury2019-11-06
  8. "Welcoming company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A welcoming company which celebrates each individual

    Cons

    Management were not always efficient

    J Sainsbury2019-11-03
  9. "C.A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job security, Good Hours, Salary is okay per hour

    Cons

    Understaffed, Cost cutting, workplace politics

    J Sainsbury2019-11-08
  10. "Good hours and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant 

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Huge company so hours are flexible

    Cons

    Job was quite repetitive (checkouts)

    J Sainsbury2019-11-06
Found 391 reviews