J Sainsbury Customer Trading Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

J Sainsbury Customer Trading Manager Reviews

Updated 16 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
28 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Trading Manager in Maidstone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career progression Great pay Good pension scheme Nice amount of holiday

    Cons

    Long hours Never in one place

    J Sainsbury2019-11-06
  2. "great retail process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer and Trading Manager in Gillingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The technology and training that is available

    Cons

    No-one to oversee that training and technology is being used or rolled out correctly

    Advice to Management

    Give more support to training the colleagues as managers are seriously time poor having to undertake manager, HR, operational and maintenance issues

    J Sainsbury2019-11-06
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Depends on a store, I guess..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Trading Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent values, good wages for colleagues, Great Place to Work team that addresses important events and colleague recognition scheme, high quality products offered to the customers and excellent customer service standards.

    Cons

    Not many colleagues recognising and living by the company's values, very few managers that have any interest in those values or show actual care for colleagues' well being, instead I have been a witness to extreme favoritism and unfair treatment despite strict policies with regard to those issues. Our shop lacks integrity, leading by example is unheard of and responsibilities are handed down from one person to... another

    Show More
    J Sainsbury2019-11-17
  5. "Positive but the workload can be large"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer & Trading Manager in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A great people focussed company with good progression and training opportunities.

    Cons

    The amount of work a shift manager will get is fairly large due to no in store HR managers and no team leaders.

    J Sainsbury2019-11-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good company but it’s retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer & Trading Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    6 weeks holiday, discount at Sainsbury’s, habitat and Argos. 15% off at Xmas, discounted shares, cycle to work scheme. Very good when it comes to personal problems or family life

    Cons

    Long hours which are unsociable. Having to do more work with less resources and still be expected to deliver the same results. The wage isn’t as high compared to other retailers and should be more

    Advice to Management

    Don’t give unrealistic targets with less resources. A lot of politics is involved with progression. It’s not just about how good you are but who you know. Talk about being a diverse and inclusive retailer yet not many managers are from BAME backgrounds

    J Sainsbury2019-10-20
  7. "Not as great as it used to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Trading Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great teams. Great pay for colleague roles. Great if you're part time.

    Cons

    No work/life balance due to hours you work Especially as full-time and management. No support with security instore even after reporting to police and logging it. Lots of 1-1 shifts. Over reliance on certain staff which leaves the store short on colleague when they're off. Lack of staff training as we're not given hours to train them.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff better as humans not just as numbers.

    J Sainsbury2019-11-09
  8. "Sainsburys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer and Trading Manager in Shrewsbury, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, pension, discounts etc

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    J Sainsbury2019-10-19
  9. "Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer and Trading Manager in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great Colleauges - Good Holiday Allowance - Lots of training available

    Cons

    - Senior management is a bit all over, some good, some bad - Hard to develop careers past CTM level - Horrible Work/Life balance

    Advice to Management

    We are told to use our judgement, that the rules are now a guideline. Do the same.

    J Sainsbury2019-11-01
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Trading Manager 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time

    Pros

    Inclusive and becoming more diverse

    Cons

    There are no cons at the moment

    J Sainsbury2019-10-08
  11. "Better than other supermarkets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer and Trading Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good culture, good progressing opportunities.

    Cons

    Lots of cliques and face fits or not

    Advice to Management

    Work hard , keep head down

    J Sainsbury2019-10-04
Found 49 reviews