J Sainsbury General Assistant Night Shift Reviews | Glassdoor

J Sainsbury General Assistant Night Shift Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
74%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
13 Ratings
  1. "Sainsburys nightshift (weekends) summer 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Assistant Night Shift in Stanmore, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Taught me how to stay up all night and work.

    Cons

    The time and constraints to restock the shelves for the next day was challenging.

    J Sainsbury2019-09-23
  2. "Good job if staff numbers are up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Assistant Night Shift in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff well looked after, and tight knit night team. Flexible movement within night/early morning roles.

    Cons

    New contract does not favour those who haven't been in the company as long and creates a strained environment. Expecting more from less staff affects orale

    J Sainsbury2019-07-10
  3. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Assistant Night Shift in Wolverhampton, England
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury

    Pros

    people are good.to work with

    Cons

    okay i guess, dont care about staff

    Advice to Management

    ok

    J Sainsbury2018-07-17
  4. "So far so good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Assistant Night Shift in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for the type of job. - The job is physically hard but not intellectually so. Any fit person could do it. Working the night shift requires a bit more discipline in terms of managing sleeping pattern and diet. However, you don't have to deal with customers. Lots of overtime available - You can earn a very decent wage if you do lots of overtime. Friendly Colleagues that much. Management team are... supportive. - I barely see my manager, he only speaks to me when he needs me to do something. Team leaders can be a bit nitpicky but overall feel supportive, at least in my experience. Just do your job and they won't really say anything bad. Good workout - This is a decent job for someone looking to lose weight, especially if you are working in produce. Discount is only 10% but it's better than nothing. Friendly Colleagues - You will find some absolute clowns in every store that just make you laugh everyday. Although you should identify snitches early on. Time goes fast - When you are working, the 45 minute break feels longer than the long hours on the shop floor. Overall, it's a very good job if you come in with the expectations of what the job will actually entail, however, I wouldn't want to spend the rest of my life here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Mindless work - It's not mentally stimulating, you just put some headphones on and get to work. Wouldn't know where to start if I wanted to progress. Foot pains - I'm on my feet for 10 hours, make sure you buy some good quality insoles. Night shift team can feel neglected - night shift team do all the heavy lifting and are not involved in any fun or social events that the day team are a part of. We come... in and see the walls lined with photos of day team staff having all sorts of fun. False promises - main store management team went on about how every colleague (including night shift) would be trained in every area of the store, this was not true. Changing contracts - this isn't so much of a big deal to me because ultimately I will earn more money, however, staff that have been working here far longer than I have seem to be really disappointed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My experience has very positive so far. Perhaps, liaise with you colleagues more on significant changes. Also if you promise to train employees than do so.

    J Sainsbury2018-03-27
  5. "Good to tide you over"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Assistant Night Shift 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours worked around kids and you get an extra premium for working nights.

    Cons

    You really are just a number and nobody cares if you are unhappy and want to leave as they will just employ someone else.

    J Sainsbury2017-11-14
  6. "Night jobs are great with no customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Assistant Night Shift in Gravesend, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Left to get on with my job not hassled by managers. No customers to get in the way. More relaxed than being on day shift.

    Cons

    Always being asked to do over time if you do it once they will keep expecting you to do more.

    J Sainsbury2017-10-27
  7. "Collapsing...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Assistant Night Shift in Brentwood, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time

    Pros

    Lower management can be understanding and will try to balance needs of company vs employees

    Cons

    Getting worse really really fast.major layoofs mainly on hr and back office,even managers don't obey rules,many rules are irrational,upper management doesn't have a grip to reality,many demotivating moves,will reduce time of breaks after Christmas,makes u feel demotivated

    Advice to Management

    You break every established law of human resource management .you demotivated your people and you see only budget numbers and how to cut down costs.but you are a company that relies on local comsumers in every place and when you make a lot of people unhappy,it will come back to bite you

    J Sainsbury2017-11-19
  8. "Decent but not glamourous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Assistant Night Shift in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, colleagues, and manager was okay

    Cons

    Often long hours, and sometimes unrealistic targets

    J Sainsbury2017-08-18
  9. "Night shift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Assistant (Night Shift) in Basildon, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Fairly good salary of rougly £9/h 2. Plenty of overtimes available 3. Friendly staff 4. Coleague discount card and free cake during the tea breaks 5. Music all night! 6. Suitable for students and those with little kids

    Cons

    1. Night shifts can ruin your body clock 2. Can be pretty physically hard 3. Very repetitive and monotonous

    J Sainsbury2017-04-26
  10. "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Assistant Night Shift in Badger, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Instead of 5, 8 hour shifts you work 4, 10 hour shifts

    Cons

    Being at night it is quite tiring and hard physical labour

    J Sainsbury2017-04-23
Found 38 reviews