J Sainsbury Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
1,423 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay for what you are doing always overtime if wanted(in 469 reviews)

  • "They had Flexible hours whilst I attended college(in 161 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours but good flexibility with shifts(in 153 reviews)

  • "When the company got rid of team leaders there is very little room for career progression(in 135 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Ae in New York, NY

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture and company and growing fast

    Cons

    Not great management and need to focus on employees

    J Sainsbury2020-03-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Love working here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best part-time job for a student, I only work 12 hours a week. Nice management and team.

    Cons

    Ability to contact HR - not a thing. WOulnd't know what to do if there ever was an issue. Sick days are also VERY strict.

    J Sainsbury2020-01-05
  3. "good stuff"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Lon, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly staff but not interesting

    Cons

    stress should be reduced for all employees

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2019-11-16
  4. "Good employer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good employer overall and good job considering it is retail.

    Cons

    Started to lose its greatness due to shift in business and CEO.

    J Sainsbury2019-07-24
  5. "what you expect"

    3.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - General Assistant 

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    good colleagues and consistent hours,

    Cons

    clueless management within the store

    J Sainsbury2019-07-15
  6. "Excellent culture and rewarding work"

    5.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time

    Pros

    People to work with are excellent and family-oriented culture helped foster work-life balance. Also, I loved my team - smart colleagues who helped push me to be better, while giving me authority to implement changes I wanted to make. Couldn't have asked for a better place to work!

    Cons

    Nothing major stands out for me. If I hadn't relocated I would have stayed!

    J Sainsbury2018-12-08
  7. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff 

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, good benefit, 401k

    Cons

    None, none, none, none, none

    J Sainsbury2018-12-06
  8. "Sainsburys general assistant."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some staff are friendly. An easy job for anybody of any type. Short Shifts. 25% discount card after 3 months employment.

    Cons

    Payments are irregular or incorrect. Unpaid Breaks. Regular Security searches. Rota is often wrong. Repetitive. A lot of unhappy or rude staff. No room for progression.

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2019-01-09
  9. "customer service"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    good hours, good and friendly management

    Cons

    repetitive shifts, prone to boredom

    J Sainsbury2017-09-06
  10. "Team leader"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Hrs very unsocialable and unflexible

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2017-05-16
Found 4418 reviews