J Sainsbury Reviews | Glassdoor

J Sainsbury Reviews

Updated 11 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
1,275 Ratings
  1. "Excellent culture and rewarding work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time

    Pros

    People to work with are excellent and family-oriented culture helped foster work-life balance. Also, I loved my team - smart colleagues who helped push me to be better, while giving me authority to implement changes I wanted to make. Couldn't have asked for a better place to work!

    Cons

    Nothing major stands out for me. If I hadn't relocated I would have stayed!

    J Sainsbury2018-12-08
  2. "Excelent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Home Delivery Driver in Derby, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury for more than a year

    Pros

    Gd pay and hrs holiday allowance paid to wait

    Cons

    Management hrs nothing a a a a a. A a a a a a a a

    J Sainsbury2016-09-03
  3. "assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    meeting people and good benefits

    Cons

    odd hours to work, weekends as well, but by choice

    J Sainsbury2015-07-30
  4. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Shopper in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    amazing job progression good communication throughout all levels of the business good relationships with staff

    Cons

    very customer based work so must be suited for this type of work

    J Sainsbury2019-12-11
  5. "After one year, still the greatest place to work, Knotty Ash Liverpool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stock Replenishment in Knotty Ash, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Was taken on as a xmas temp in 2018, and so so lucky to be kept on. Cannot fault the place at all, great management, all muck in, as they say, and the colleagues are so friendly and I do look forward to being with them., same with the Customers who are all, without fail, really friendly. I work on Produce (the first port of call with the cusomers) and on chilled fresh foods too. I am so lucky to have found this... job. Great overtime availablity too, if you want any. Always plenty to do, and the management are very trusting with us taking our breaks, and therefore I respect them for this, and never over exceed break time, which can also be split into two, if required. Pay is amazing, discount card too, and if you do your work and care, you will always be happy there.

    Show More

    Cons

    Non really, no problems, I live far away, Haydock, so shame about the distance, takes up to an hour to get there, but would not change it for the world.

    Advice to Management

    Some of the managers, you can see are stressed, a lot of responsibility and the need to get those shelves up to date and to avoid waste etc, so we all try and help them and give it our best to take this pressure away from them all.

    J Sainsbury2019-12-10
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Assistant in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Permanent - Lots of overtime possibilities - Good rights as an employee - HR is very helpful if you have an issue

    Cons

    - Management tend to be moved around a lot - Sometimes you don't get recognised for doing a good job - It can be a bit dull at times

    J Sainsbury2019-12-06
  7. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - BDM 

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time

    Pros

    Nice work environment to be in.

    Cons

    Potentially long hours but thats about it.

    J Sainsbury2019-12-06
  8. "Good review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service 

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Had a very good experience

    Cons

    Nothing bad had a very good time

    J Sainsbury2019-11-29
  9. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, friendly staff, decent staff benefits. Management are quite understanding also.

    Cons

    Can get boring sat on a till all day.

    J Sainsbury2019-11-29
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Online Shopper in Calcot, England
    Recommends

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very simple and easy to perform

    Cons

    Early hours can be taxing

    J Sainsbury2019-11-25
Found 3990 reviews