J Sainsbury Reviews | Glassdoor

J Sainsbury Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
1,275 Ratings
  1. "Inexperienced management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sainsburys General Assistant in Otford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    above minimum wage for under 21

    Cons

    young and inexperienced managers meaning constant mistakes

    J Sainsbury2019-12-10
  2. "Sainsburys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - General Assistant 

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Good pay (night shifts)

    Cons

    Poor management recruitment after they got rid of all previous management

    J Sainsbury2019-12-09
  3. "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Restaurant Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for overtime Nice coworkers Good pay per hour Supportive with career advancement Rewards for good customer service

    Cons

    Not a lot of support from upper management in the cafe Often had to pick up other coworker's duties No support with rude or inappropriate customers, 'customer is always right' No opportunities to get involved with store-wide campaigns or charity events No exit interview

    Advice to Management

    More support from management and better systems in place with consultation from cafe staff would have improved things to no end.

    J Sainsbury2019-12-09
  4. "Good place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent 

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Pay, friendly, support, discount, team

    Cons

    Hours of work can be late

    J Sainsbury2019-12-08
  5. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online Assistant in Saltash, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible shifts and plenty of overtime

    Cons

    Management are awful and should be ashamed.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t continue like BB

    J Sainsbury2019-12-08
  6. "Stay clear of working here unless in desperate need of money or something to put on CV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Picker in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to book Holiday Good for first few months Decent Hourly pay

    Cons

    Barely saw manager and when I did it was only to pick faults Very repetitive work as it is literally just going round the store putting items into a trolley. There could be 130 different items in one run. Very little gratitude for returning items to the store if they were rejected by customer. Staff were very unfriendly only had 2 people who spoke to me like a normal person instead of some kind of slave.... Sometimes I would arrive and all the items had been done so would get paid nothing as had already clocked in and holiday couldn’t get booked. This could of been avoided by a simple text by manager. No chance of promotion here this is literally a dead end job doing the same exact thing every single time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with respect it would make them want to be there. Inform Employees when there are little to no items needed. Actually give employees there entitled discount card as i was there for over a year and never even got it, despite numerous attempts. Offer the online shoppers a chance to do something different for once in a while such as helping drivers make deliveries as this would improve morale... massively.

    Show More
    J Sainsbury2019-12-08
  7. "hm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supermarket Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay of £9.80, good canteen

    Cons

    not a place to stay for too long

    J Sainsbury2019-12-06
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Assistant in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Permanent - Lots of overtime possibilities - Good rights as an employee - HR is very helpful if you have an issue

    Cons

    - Management tend to be moved around a lot - Sometimes you don't get recognised for doing a good job - It can be a bit dull at times

    J Sainsbury2019-12-06
  9. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - BDM 

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time

    Pros

    Nice work environment to be in.

    Cons

    Potentially long hours but thats about it.

    J Sainsbury2019-12-06
  10. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    not terrible ok, acceptable, min wage

    Cons

    not great min wage ok

    J Sainsbury2019-12-06
Found 3987 reviews