KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

J&B Group

Is this your company?

J&B Group

Add a Review

J&B Group Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 16 reviews

3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
J&B Group President Michael Hageman (no image)
Michael Hageman
9 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Mar 31, 2021 - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked at 5 companies in my long career, this is the best culture I have found. The vision put forth by the owners and management permeates through all of the employees. It is a very customer-centric company.

    Cons

    I guess the location (St Michael) isn't ideal for some in the metro area.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Okay but not great

    Jun 12, 2021 - Sales Support in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, small town environment, decent benefits, investment in employee training

    Cons

    Although everyone was incredibly friendly, there were no lines when it came to professional relationships. I can recall a situation that I wanted to approach HR but felt as though it was pointless because of the HR manager's relationship with my supervisor. I was once reprimanded for disagreeing with a manager's decision regarding a customer request and was later told my supervisor was disappointed that I questioned their morals. Because I gave them a solution they didn't like I was told I "did not understand the business", and "did not know enough about the issue". After leaving and working in a similar industry, I am 100% confident that I was correct. The lack of support and confidence in my abilities was incredibly disappointing.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    hard work

    May 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    3 breaks a day, ability to move up, good quality products

    Cons

    little assistance and room for growth for ethnic employees, long hours on your feet

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great team environment

    Apr 22, 2021 - Recruiting Coordinator in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family culture Great people Flexible Friendly

    Cons

    No health benefits fir part-time and temp workers

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    It’s decent work for the money and benefits.

    Sep 8, 2020 - Warehouse Associate (Night Shift/Sun-Tues) in Saint Michael, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The supervisors and warehouse leads are understanding and accommodating to a point. The health benefits are good, there are multiple packages you can choose from. There is also dental and vision you can receive along with HSA, 401K with good company match, etc.

    Cons

    I worked the night shift for Sun-Tues and the coworkers I had were immature and not professional. Countless sexual harassment comments made to the few women working the shift, lots of horseplay, and disrespectful communication between coworkers(ie.unnecessary screaming, swearing, slurs, etc.) The hours were long, it’s a work until finished job so be prepared for long nights extending well past the 12hrs. It is cold like they post so be prepared. The hourly rate is hard to keep up with if you’re not getting “easy” orders. You can get a 1 stop for 500 cases order or you can get a 89 stops for 92 cases order. There are a few “favorites” on the shift who seem to always get the “easy” orders. Also the equipment isn’t the best, there is always something wrong with whatever machine is being used(pallet jacks, forklifts). It’s a work injury waiting to happen.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Place to work

    Aug 24, 2020 - Inside Sales Associate in Albertville, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good atmosphere Steady paced environment Nice people

    Cons

    Poor upper management Poor communication between departments

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    IT Internship

    Jan 16, 2019 - IT Intern in Saint Michael, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company treats it's employees well and leadership has clear goals.

    Cons

    Honestly no cons while I was there. It's a pretty consistent environment in IT, so if consistency in the work environment is a con for you...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Aweful. Wouldn't recommend it.

    Jun 20, 2013 - Executive in Saint Michael, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not many. Get wholesale price discounts on meat. Whoopee!!

    Cons

    Very unprofessional, unsophisticated workforce. Mostly undereducated, blue collar employee base Alarming lack of up-to-date management systems. Lack of data integrity in financials, no talent management or development system, no consistent performance management system Decisions based more on anecdotes than reliable data No discernable business strategy for winning. More of a collection of one off executions. Old school philosophy- beilief that career success is based on the fiefdom you create Management team is not very business savvy. They seem more concerned about their individual compensation and bonuses than in doing what is right and growing in a sustainable way Very mediocre management talent. Family ownership beliefs permeate the culture in a very non progressive way. Employees with any alternative lifestyle or belief will encounter a hostile environment Not a forward thinking organization. In fact, it's almost shocking how they could be successfully with their belief system.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company to work for

    Jan 22, 2018 - Warehouse Associate in Saint Michael, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This one of the best companies to work for. The people that work there and the respect they have is incredible. J&B has great work values. The work was hard and long (I worked in the warehouse), but the pay was great. I highly consider working here if you're interested.

    Cons

    some nonfriendly warehouse workers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Proud of what I do. My co-workers and I are a very effective team and our crew can get the job accomplished.

    Jan 18, 2016 - Entry Level Management - Warehouse in Saint Michael, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company. Competitive pay scale (especially for those recently graduated from high school). Wonderful people.

    Cons

    Periodic communication breakdowns. Situationally fluctuating morale. Sporadic spikes in business leaving us unprepared for the work load labor-wise.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Popular Careers with J&B Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at J&B Group? Share Your Experiences

J&B Group logo
or