J&L Marketing Business Growth Strategist Reviews | Glassdoor

J&L Marketing Business Growth Strategist Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Scott T. Joseph
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (21)

    "Fantastic Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Growth Strategist in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J&L Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Coworkers, Engaging Management/Leadership, Room for Advancement within the company

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great leadership

    J&L Marketing2018-01-04

    J&L Marketing Response

    February 6, 2018CEO

    Thank you for your kind comments. As you may know, so few people take the time to let a company know when they are happy with the direction and culture. Your review is appreciated.

  2. Helpful (9)

    "A toxic and immature owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Growth Strategist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J&L Marketing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Potential to connect with people within the industry. Can come and go as you leave because the only managers are semi-retired across country.

    Cons

    The Owner is an immature ticking time bomb that goes off weekly firing, & chasing away the only talent in the building. Yes... Has been successful but he personally ran off the people's coat tails he's been riding for over a decade. Products are utter garbage and provide no value you to anyone with an education or automotive marketing experience.

    Advice to Management

    No advice on this planet could possible help except for.. Don't reply to this and put blame on me (which you always do to reviews). Take responsibility and stop blaming others or just close the doors.

    J&L Marketing2018-10-16

    J&L Marketing Response

    October 24, 2018CEO

    Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you feel this way about your business relationship with me and even more importantly your opinion about J&L Marketing. It is my personal goal that every individual at J&L enjoys their work experience. I won't go back and forth on ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (20)

    "Overall an excellent place to work! The job is demanding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Growth Strategist in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J&L Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a great place to learn how to sell. This job is made for people who love sales and want to make it a career. J&L is a leader in the industry and is well known by most car dealers. The job is more difficult than any other I have held, it is also the most rewarding! This is the best company I've ever worked for. It's fun, challenging and good sales people make a lot of money.

    Cons

    Keeping up with new products and improvements.

    Advice to Management

    Don't try to take on too much at one time.

    J&L Marketing2017-09-10

    J&L Marketing Response

    February 6, 2018CEO

    Thank you for the favorable review you gave our company. I'm pleased that you feel the Business Growth Strategist position is challenging, rewarding and a good opportunity to make a lot of money. I would like to thank you once again for your kind words.

  4. Helpful (22)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Growth Strategist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J&L Marketing full-time

    Pros

    - Company culture - People and relationships - Inspiring - Variety of activities - Fast paced - Strong commitment to results - Commission and comp structure

    Cons

    - Some late hours - Lack of creativity in sales day to day

    Advice to Management

    None. I believe that they do a good job and do everything in their power to run as best as can be.

    J&L Marketing2017-07-19
  5. Helpful (4)

    "It's a good job- but not a good career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Growth Strategist in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J&L Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Decent pay structure -Not a lot of employees so there is a lot of potential for sales -The other BGS are great -The managers are supportive -Can live in your territory -Lots of travel

    Cons

    -The automotive industry is ruthless -There is no growth in the company for the sales team -Toxic office environment -No one looks out for you -Constantly changing commission structure

    Advice to Management

    The management needs to create a better work environment, one that is positive and uplifting. Sales is hard enough as it is, but the toxic work environment in the office makes it miserable to work there. Something needs to change if the company is going to last.

    J&L Marketing2017-09-02

    J&L Marketing Response

    September 5, 2017CEO

    We are very sorry to hear that you would not recommend us. I would like to think this is uncommon. We'll work hard to improve the areas you mentioned and we'll do better. We appreciate your feedback an will learn from it. I am hopeful you feel comfortable enough to call me to discuss ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (18)

    "Bad Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Growth Strategist in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J&L Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You learn a lot about yourself and what you are looking for in your career. Mostly you learn exactly what not to do.

    Cons

    Well first off.... Its true, they base everything off of two books that they claim to have read. They even went as far to hire someone to come in and gauge how well they are following the books. There will always be the excuse of "We have been working things out but think we have them figured out now". The truth is they are the definition of "its not us, its you". The company is ran by a over controlling, manipulative,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You will read this and blame it on someone else and think that whatever I am doing I am not successful or happy. Best advice I could give you is to step back and realize what you have created. The "management" you have in there is not the right fit. You have created an atomic atmosphere that only the owner can fix. My advice, sell the company and let people who truly want to help others run it.

    J&L Marketing2016-02-22
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Stepping Stone Sales Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Growth Strategist in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at J&L Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This position is definitely a grinder type of role. The position did teach a lot about selling and also how to handle multiple types of people. This is a perfect position to start out a sales career but not a long term career with this company.

    Cons

    Extremely low base salary and low commission- definitely more sales positions (not with J&L) that will pay more and have opportunity for growth. Turnover is extremely high which has management saying it's due to the book they read called, "Traction." Reality is- they're losing great people right and left.

    Advice to Management

    Management has great ideas but they are ideas. They need to realize that you cannot implement an "idea" ASAP. Everything was always rushed when they came up with an idea and did not make sense when you looked at the ideas and compared to the finances of the company.

    J&L Marketing2016-01-20

    J&L Marketing Response

    February 16, 2016CEO

    Thanks for the feedback and sorry to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations and frankly of what we expect for ourselves and for our sales staff. I appreciate and respect your comments about being a stepping stone sales position because it's important to us that ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Good work environment but your head is always on the chopping block !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Growth Strategist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J&L Marketing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment Good culture

    Cons

    Product and client is difficult to work with/sell. Very little base pay, other companies pay way more base while still paying a great commission percentage. A lot of issues with production team screwing up your jobs, thus hurting your future and current business. High turn around ... On both sides .. Production, management and sales office. They are not scared to fire you!

    Advice to Management

    Raise the pay and realize how difficult your product and target is to sell to. Yes traction is a great book but how to expect to excel if you just keep losing people left and right.. How can you not see this is hurting you in the long run!!! You need managers ! You need better education and training for employees instead of just chopping them as soon as they make a mistake!

    J&L Marketing2016-01-17
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Business Growth Stategist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Growth Strategist 

    I have been working at J&L Marketing

    Pros

    Great work environment, laid back and relaxed

    Cons

    Long hours for low pay turnout

    Advice to Management

    There is no management

    J&L Marketing2015-10-14
  10. Helpful (22)

    "Award winning company who truly cares about the customer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Growth Strategist in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J&L Marketing full-time

    Pros

    I've seen first hand what this company is willing to do in the name of customer satisfaction. I like working for a company that I know stands behind what it sells. Senior management is dedicated to growth, customer satisfaction and helping me make more money. This is the best job I've had.

    Cons

    It's hard to think of any. Can have long hours but it's worth it.

    Advice to Management

    I appreciate the effort to make this company better.

    J&L Marketing2015-06-28
Found 22 reviews