J&L Marketing Reviews | Glassdoor

J&L Marketing Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Scott T. Joseph
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is a lot of changes and upgrading happening at J&L(in 32 reviews)

  • "(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "No downsides that I've seen in my 3 years of working for J&L :)(in 13 reviews)

  • "Can have long hours but it's worth it(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Great Culture and Very Innovative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Brand Strategist in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J&L Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Allows all employees to pitch ideas to be implemented - Great Hours - Fun environment

    Cons

    - there is not any

    Advice to Management

    keep it up!

    J&L Marketing2019-06-22
  2. Helpful (3)

    "This was great place to year until the last year or so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Assistant in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J&L Marketing part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great hard working people for the most part

    Cons

    Upper management has no respect for those who do the work and doesn't abide by the core values but expected others to do so.

    J&L Marketing2019-06-08

    J&L Marketing Response

    June 14, 2019CEO

    Thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry your experience with us did not finish as great as it started. We work hard as a team to create an environment where everyone enjoys the culture and their job. Unfortunately, we have not done that 100% of the time but we will continue to ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Promotion Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Promotions Coordinator in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at J&L Marketing part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I have had some great experiences and have made many networking connections

      Cons

      sometimes long commute. You can be driving for up to 3 hours to get to specific events

      J&L Marketing2018-10-01
    • Helpful (7)

      "Marketing Coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at J&L Marketing full-time

      Pros

      What I like most about working at J&L compared to other agencies I've worked at is that there is minimal micro-management. You have ample independence to work on projects and collaborate with management on ideas. I've developed new skills and made lots of friends. Solid benefits and vacation/personal time. There is also a good amount of office events throughout the year which keeps the environment fun and upbeat.

      Cons

      Hours can be long, client deadlines and last minute changes add pressure. But such is agency life.

      J&L Marketing2018-08-28
    • Helpful (9)

      "A toxic and immature owner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Business Growth Strategist 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at J&L Marketing full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Potential to connect with people within the industry. Can come and go as you leave because the only managers are semi-retired across country.

      Cons

      The Owner is an immature ticking time bomb that goes off weekly firing, & chasing away the only talent in the building. Yes... Has been successful but he personally ran off the people's coat tails he's been riding for over a decade. Products are utter garbage and provide no value you to anyone with an education or automotive marketing experience.

      Advice to Management

      No advice on this planet could possible help except for.. Don't reply to this and put blame on me (which you always do to reviews). Take responsibility and stop blaming others or just close the doors.

      J&L Marketing2018-10-16

      J&L Marketing Response

      October 24, 2018CEO

      Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you feel this way about your business relationship with me and even more importantly your opinion about J&L Marketing. It is my personal goal that every individual at J&L enjoys their work experience. I won't go back and forth on ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (6)

      "Promotions Coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at J&L Marketing part-time

        Pros

        Scheduling is flexible and the job helps develop skills, such as public speaking, customer & employee relationships, populating dashboards, conducting surveys, effective communication, and becoming familiar with sales event statistics.

        Cons

        The only con I can think of is that sometimes the dashboard does not consistently run correctly, so you can't do things electronically, but you can still do your job the old-fashioned paper way.

        J&L Marketing2018-05-16
      • Helpful (21)

        "Fantastic Leadership"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Business Growth Strategist in Louisville, KY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at J&L Marketing full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great Coworkers, Engaging Management/Leadership, Room for Advancement within the company

        Cons

        I don’t have any cons

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the great leadership

        J&L Marketing2018-01-04

        J&L Marketing Response

        February 6, 2018CEO

        Thank you for your kind comments. As you may know, so few people take the time to let a company know when they are happy with the direction and culture. Your review is appreciated.

      • Helpful (15)

        "Great Place!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Print Shop Technician in Louisville, KY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at J&L Marketing full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Fun environment and good management

        Cons

        I do not have any cons working here

        J&L Marketing2018-01-04

        J&L Marketing Response

        February 6, 2018CEO

        Thank you. Our team takes great pride in the quality of their work and love hear from our peers about the fun environment.

      • Helpful (13)

        "Don’t waste your time at this company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at J&L Marketing full-time

        Pros

        The employees are very nice.

        Cons

        It’s a revolving door because once you realize how ridiculous the environment is, everyone leaves. “ It’s not just because of sales.” The sales jobs are awful because you predominantly cold call. Then cold call for a product that no one wants or “the customer doesn’t know they want / need it.” For a Marketing Company, you would think they tactics would be more advanced. Great products can create their own demand.

        Advice to Management

        The managers are just trying to keep up with the emotional and self centered owner. Hard to have compassion about producing when the owner complains about “declining business/coming out of his pocket,” when he goes on vacation every other minute and/or spends $100-200 for a pedicure. Show off your money a little less and people might respect you more. Stop trying to brain wash everyone than the high turnover is normal....

        Show More
        J&L Marketing2017-12-28

        J&L Marketing Response

        December 31, 2017CEO

        Thank you for the kind words about our employees. We do our best to build teams that are good at what they do and even more importantly are even better people. I'm really sorry you felt your time at J&L was wasted and would like to think this is uncommon. I say that because ...

        Show More
      • Helpful (20)

        "Overall an excellent place to work! The job is demanding."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Business Growth Strategist in Louisville, KY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at J&L Marketing full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        It's a great place to learn how to sell. This job is made for people who love sales and want to make it a career. J&L is a leader in the industry and is well known by most car dealers. The job is more difficult than any other I have held, it is also the most rewarding! This is the best company I've ever worked for. It's fun, challenging and good sales people make a lot of money.

        Cons

        Keeping up with new products and improvements.

        Advice to Management

        Don't try to take on too much at one time.

        J&L Marketing2017-09-10

        J&L Marketing Response

        February 6, 2018CEO

        Thank you for the favorable review you gave our company. I'm pleased that you feel the Business Growth Strategist position is challenging, rewarding and a good opportunity to make a lot of money. I would like to thank you once again for your kind words.

      Found 97 reviews