J&L Marketing Reviews | Glassdoor

J&L Marketing Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Scott T. Joseph
63 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Promotion Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J&L Marketing

    Pros

    I worked twice a month.

    Cons

    Considering the travel time, the pay was small. Was not hands on marketing at all. I learned nothing and am now embarrassed to explain to future employers about this.

    Advice to Management

    This is a rip off. I don't understand how dealerships pay you for this.

    J&L Marketing2015-12-17
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Business Growth Stategist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Growth Strategist 

    I have been working at J&L Marketing

    Pros

    Great work environment, laid back and relaxed

    Cons

    Long hours for low pay turnout

    Advice to Management

    There is no management

    J&L Marketing2015-10-14
  3. Helpful (17)

    "Promotion Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J&L Marketing

    Pros

    Travel - Thanks to J&L I have traveled to places that I would not be able to go. Flexible - You work when you can. This is a great job for student and is going to school full time.

    Cons

    Independent Contractor- You do not have a set schedule. There were months that I was working every weekend and other times where I would not work for a month straight. That schedule comes with the position though

    Advice to Management

    More information to PCs. It would be nice to be included in on the newsletter so we can know whats going on within main office.

    J&L Marketing2015-08-14
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Real Review of J&L"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J&L Marketing full-time

    Pros

    This place is a great way to learn about sales - quickly. You will spend time cold-calling, putting together contracts and proposals, travelling and managing a territory, customer service, etc. A lot of times you will feel like your head is spinning, but what other job isn't like that? The tools you learn here, whether you make it or not, will carry over into any other job that you have.

    Cons

    Pay structure was poor, but has been changed. Lots of turnover with the nature of this job. You will be calling and selling to professional car guys that know every trick you are trying to pull. The best advice I can give is be honest, be real, and learn how to push back when you need to - it is okay to tell customers no or recommend solutions you know work better.

    J&L Marketing2015-08-15
  5. Helpful (22)

    "Award winning company who truly cares about the customer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Growth Strategist in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J&L Marketing full-time

    Pros

    I've seen first hand what this company is willing to do in the name of customer satisfaction. I like working for a company that I know stands behind what it sells. Senior management is dedicated to growth, customer satisfaction and helping me make more money. This is the best job I've had.

    Cons

    It's hard to think of any. Can have long hours but it's worth it.

    Advice to Management

    I appreciate the effort to make this company better.

    J&L Marketing2015-06-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Promotion coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J&L Marketing part-time

    Pros

    It's a really nice company headquarters and all of your expenses are covered during the events. Great as a part time job with reasonable pay.

    Cons

    No room for growth and travel times can be inconvenient. While you do get to travel, it's normally really close to your area, and though this may not be a con for most I was more excited to travel a bit further as they had described in the training session.

    J&L Marketing2015-09-11
  7. Helpful (19)

    "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J&L Marketing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Casual laid-back office atmosphere, travel opportunities, great benefits and time off, good pay, lots of professional development opportunities

    Cons

    Fast paced, client-service marketing agencies can be demanding and sometimes late hours but not unreasonable

    Advice to Management

    More involvement in team training, otherwise doing a great job

    J&L Marketing2015-06-28
  8. Helpful (21)

    "Like it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J&L Marketing for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a current employee at J&L I was upset to see the untrue reviews that were posted on this website that obviously came from a few former employees, probably the same 2 to 4. These were the same 2-4 that were probably asked to leave or forced out . J&L has gone through some significant changes and almost all for the better. It is starting to feel much more organized. I would recommend anyone to work at J&L as long...

    Show More

    Cons

    None at this time

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    J&L Marketing2015-06-09
  9. Helpful (21)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY

    I have been working at J&L Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work . Everyone is awesome.

    Cons

    None that I can think of. Immature coworkers.

    J&L Marketing2015-06-03
  10. Helpful (24)

    "Rewarding Experience, Exceptional People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Growth Strategist in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J&L Marketing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome culture and work atmosphere Entrepreneurial environment that rewards those that take the initiative and work hard High visibility to auto executives and decision makers Excellent opportunity to provide creative, customized solutions to a variety of dealer clientelle Managers are clear with thier expectations and provide support to achieve those goals

    Cons

    Travel schedule can be challenging, but it comes with the territory Communication can always be improved and it's getting better

    Advice to Management

    Change is necessary in order to build a great business. Continue to work on being transparent, coaching, and growing your talent, and we will continue to give you the effort and production that is expected. We win together.

    J&L Marketing2015-05-19
Found 97 reviews