J&L Marketing Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

J&L Marketing Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
J&L Marketing CEO Scott T. Joseph  (no image)
Scott T. Joseph
64 Ratings
  1. Helpful (12)

    "Fun, growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J&L Marketing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love the people I work with. This is an informal culture where people can get their job done but without being stuffy about it. I think most of leadership is approachable and wants to help. You can become more than your job title, if that is something you want. I like that people who want to make a name for themselves can do so. This is a team environment. Fun perks; tickets, company events, and lots of community involvement. I like that it is a smaller company and change can happen quickly!

    Cons

    There has been a lot of growth and there has been some growing pains. If you aren't OK with sometimes working harder than 40 hours a week, this won't be the right job for you. This company is smaller and isn't as streamlined as large corporations, if you aren't comfortable with being resourceful, this might be a hard place for you.

    Continue reading
    J&L Marketing2013-03-12
  2. Helpful (14)

    "Awesome learning experience and great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J&L Marketing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people, very team oriented. Great place to work, fun environment.

    Cons

    during busy times of the year you may have to work an extra hour here and there but what job doesn't. If you are a good employee and care about your company/job it shouldn't matter.

    Continue reading
    J&L Marketing2012-11-27
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Best Marketing Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Promotions Coordinator in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J&L Marketing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hands down, the best place to work. The entire PC team is awesome and very understanding when it comes to work/life balance. Definitely recommend it to any outgoing, energetic college student who wants to gain great marketing and sales experience and make a little extra money. The perks are awesome too!

    Cons

    Literally cannot think of one.

    Continue reading
    J&L Marketing2012-09-20
  4. Helpful (29)

    "Excellent place to make a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Growth Strategist in Louisville, KY
    Recommends

    I have been working at J&L Marketing

    Pros

    The training program was second to none. I've had three B2B positions in my career and learned more about the art of selling in the 6 week training program than I did in those other three positions combined. Yes, they expect you to work hard and set as many appointments as you can. Why wouldn't you want to? No matter who you work for or the product you're selling, all sales is a numbers game. The more calls you make, the more appointments you set, the more sales you close. There is a certification process in order to be assigned a territory with National Accounts with BMW, Mercedes Benz, Chrysler and MINI. In all honesty, it's in the company's best interest to do it this way. Lots of hard work went into obtaining and maintaining these national accounts with some of the most respected names in the auto industry. Speaking for myself, it only makes sense that those people that put in the hard work in the past to put the opportunity in front of us want to make sure we're presenting J&L with factual information and with the clients best interest in mind. I haven't met one person who isn't willing to take as much time as needed to help you become successful. Coming out of training it can be overwhelming especially to those that are recently out of college or never been in sales. You really get the sense that you're working in a team atmosphere and have the support of all the people you work with. If you put in the hard work and dedication you can make a fantastic living and have a lot of fun doing it too. The products we "sell" truly have our clients best interest in mind. I put "sell" in quotations because the main goal is to build a strategic business relationship with our clients, not sell them on a product and move on to the next never to hear from us again. We want to partner with our clients in order to produce the best results with them and J&L. It truly is a win/win situation.

    Cons

    I'm hard pressed to think of a "con". However, the certification process could be more streamlined. When a training class is released to make calls on their own those responsible for certifying are bombarded with presentations. These presentations are on average an hour in length. Perhaps delegating some to others would help.

    J&L Marketing2012-03-10
  5. Helpful (28)

    "A lot of traveling a lot of fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Promotion Coordinator in Louisville, KY
    Recommends

    I have been working at J&L Marketing

    Pros

    I have gotten to travel to many cities in the US, even to Puerto Rico. It is a great place, they are always there to help you. Everybody there is great!

    Cons

    Only on weekends, wish it could be a full time job.

    Continue reading
    J&L Marketing2011-07-08
  6. Helpful (28)

    "Amazing company to start your career path at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Promotion Coordinator in Louisville, KY
    Recommends

    I have been working at J&L Marketing

    Pros

    The best reason to work for J&L is that they are flexible and will work around your schedule. For the most part you choose the weekends that you are available and they will try and find something for you. They compensate you for your travels and any expenses that you incur. You get to travel with all expenses paid for and get a lot of networking.

    Cons

    You will have to travel a bit and usually it is alone. Since you are "independently contracted" they don't take taxes out of your paychecks so you have to watch for that. Sometimes you can go a month without any work.

    Continue reading
    J&L Marketing2009-04-21
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Wonderful company to work for and with! FANTASTIC!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Growth Strategist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J&L Marketing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture that enables you to succeed! Great enviroment and team work. You are given the lattitude to be your own man.

    Cons

    At times the client base can be challenging. The responsibilities of managing accounts can be overwhelming because of the rapid growth of the company.

    Continue reading
    J&L Marketing2012-08-30
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Promotion Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Promotions Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J&L Marketing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have had some great experiences and have made many networking connections

    Cons

    sometimes long commute. You can be driving for up to 3 hours to get to specific events

    J&L Marketing2018-10-01
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Promotions Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J&L Marketing part-time

    Pros

    Scheduling is flexible and the job helps develop skills, such as public speaking, customer & employee relationships, populating dashboards, conducting surveys, effective communication, and becoming familiar with sales event statistics.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is that sometimes the dashboard does not consistently run correctly, so you can't do things electronically, but you can still do your job the old-fashioned paper way.

    J&L Marketing2018-05-16
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Promotions Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J&L Marketing

    Pros

    great travel and good pay for college student job

    Cons

    wasn't properly notified of termination and was given no explanation other than they didn't need me anymore after almost 2 years

    J&L Marketing2017-06-20
Found 99 reviews