JAKKS Pacific Reviews | Glassdoor

JAKKS Pacific Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Stephen G. Berman
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company, great people until you(in 6 reviews)

  • "Fast paced and busy, if you like that(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Quite literally everyone in mid to upper management are people that have been here at least 10 years(in 14 reviews)

  • "I think if anything it would be the long hours(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at JAKKS Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Fun company to work for. Friendly staff. Lots of company events. Great benefits and great HR staff.

      Cons

      The traffic was the only downside to working here.

      JAKKS Pacific2019-03-13
    • "Sinking Ship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at JAKKS Pacific full-time

      Pros

      Great Co workers - it's like a family

      Cons

      Executive management has no clue

      Advice to Management

      Quit before you're fired

      JAKKS Pacific2019-06-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Worst work experience I’ve ever had"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Artist in Santa Monica, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at JAKKS Pacific full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The office space is ok. Located near food trucks. Sometimes you get free toys. Most of the people I worked with directly were nice.

      Cons

      The most personally and creatively frustrating job I’ve ever had. Work wise, the extra mile is always expected of you but the favor never gets returned. Expect to see people with great ideas get ignored. Theres so many projects where company refuses to invest in quality, does it the cheapest way possible and then expects it to be a hit, only for it to fail - but the employees are the ones who pay when the layoffs follow...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Be open to the criticism of your employees past and present. Theres a lot of very true statements on here that have been ignored for too long.

      JAKKS Pacific2019-05-07
    • "Not a bad company to work for but not the greatest one either"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at JAKKS Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        My coworkers are really nice people.

        Cons

        In my opinion, talented people are being underpaid and should be given more important tasks.

        JAKKS Pacific2019-01-10
      • "Don't stay too long"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at JAKKS Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Talented employees, fun industry, youthful environment

        Cons

        Fear of layoffs, below average pay, terrible database/reporting systems, and constant changes implemented but with little to no follow-up

        JAKKS Pacific2019-01-09
      • "Eh"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at JAKKS Pacific full-time

        Pros

        Winning free toys in frequent raffles

        Cons

        You're on your own and minimal training is provided, mass lay-offs and turn over rates.

        JAKKS Pacific2018-12-12
      • "A great run until you..."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at JAKKS Pacific full-time

        Pros

        Great company, great people until you...

        Cons

        ... are stuck with horrible management, favoritism, bias decision makers

        Advice to Management

        why say something to those with eyes and ears closed

        JAKKS Pacific2018-10-20
      • Helpful (1)

        "Get your experience then leave"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at JAKKS Pacific

          Pros

          Great place to start your career and gain a lot of experience

          Cons

          They struggle financially and cut costs but then Executives can spend money on frivolous expenses

          Advice to Management

          Invest in people and resources or become a cheap direct import toy company

          JAKKS Pacific2018-10-18
        • Helpful (1)

          "lol"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at JAKKS Pacific full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Location is decent and building is all right. Company as a whole is okay on a macro level. "Good" PTO because of the 9 sick days.

          Cons

          Where to start. No standard processes in places. Archaic way of doing things with archaic systems in place. Quite literally everyone in mid to upper management are people that have been here at least 10 years. Which means they're all out of touch with how things operate in modern times. All they know how to do is "this is the way we've been doing it." They're not aware that it's now 2018 and software exists....

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Get some new blood in. Both management and processes.

          JAKKS Pacific2018-08-22
        • "Fun Job, fun people"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at JAKKS Pacific full-time

          Pros

          I was able to be myself and enjoyed my co-workers.

          Cons

          Some of their processes are a little stiff and old fashion.

          JAKKS Pacific2018-08-03
        Found 78 reviews