JCP Portraits Reviews | Glassdoor

JCP Portraits Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 202 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
JCP Portraits CEO Michael Meek
Michael Meek
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "It also gives the opportunity to train to be a Photographer and you learn the computer programs for scheduling and portrait editing(in 19 reviews)

  • "Liked working with kids and families(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay for people with experience(in 19 reviews)

  • "You aren’t the receptionist/phone call taker/photographer/sales associate at the same time(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Caring Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Studio Manager in Novi, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at JCP Portraits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Environment Great Training Decent Pay

    Cons

    understaffed during peak season Only full-time employees receive benefits

    JCP Portraits2018-09-17
  2. "Fast paced environment,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Rogers, AR

    I worked at JCP Portraits part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    You have the chance to work with a broad range of clients, from infants to newlyweds to large groups. This exposure helps stretch your photography abilities. My manager's positive attitude largely contributed to me staying at the company.

    Cons

    With a small staff and rigid scheduling requirements, you don't have the opportunity to work full time unless you are the manager. The biggest downside is being "on-call" and are expected to put your day on-hold, in case extra appointments arise.

    Advice to Management

    If you want your employees to stay motivated and reduce turnover rate, there should be more flexibility with the number of sittings required to have additional staff on hand.

    JCP Portraits2019-05-22
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at JCP Portraits part-time

    Pros

    good work-life balance for employees

    Cons

    sometimes hard to get hours

    JCP Portraits2019-04-17
  4. "Great Seasonal / First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Glendale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JCP Portraits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly managers and willing to go out of their to help you

    Cons

    plenty of employees will just stand around talking when doing go backs or prepping for the next morning

    JCP Portraits2019-04-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Soul sucking job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in West Covina, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JCP Portraits part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meet great friends and have fun

    Cons

    Customers are the worst. People are always asking for coupons.

    Advice to Management

    Be better, y’all suck. They treat people bad and get mad if you are sick and can’t show up to work.

    JCP Portraits2019-04-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Studio Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Studio Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JCP Portraits full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Got to meet a lot of great families, and became a part of some of them. Enjoyed working with the kids.

    Cons

    Worked all holidays and weekends. Practically had to beg for days off even if you had vacation time. Never had an associate work for me more than one season because their hours were based on our appointments so going into Christmas with a whole new staff was ridiculous! I had more people quit before the season even started always leaving me short staffed, and begging other studios to send me help.

    Advice to Management

    Give your part time associates a minimum of 20 hours or you will continue with a high turn over rate.

    JCP Portraits2019-03-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Bronx, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JCP Portraits part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    none at all honestly speaking

    Cons

    all of them to be honest

    Advice to Management

    kick rocks

    JCP Portraits2019-03-13
  8. "Ehhh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at JCP Portraits

    Pros

    - fun environment - at your pace

    Cons

    - gets really busy - too many hours

    JCP Portraits2019-01-09
  9. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at JCP Portraits part-time

      Pros

      Learned a lot, usually had good coworkers, commission was good

      Cons

      Unpredictable scheduling Lots of hours for low pay at Christmas Hours cut dramatically during off season One half hour break for a 12 hour shift, if you're lucky to get a break I'd often get called an hour or two before my shift telling me not to come in Impossible to schedule a life around constantly changing hours Physically demanding, with low pay and no benefits

      Advice to Management

      Treat your workers better and they'll stay longer.

      JCP Portraits2019-01-09
    • "Must love screaming kids"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in Coral Springs, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at JCP Portraits part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Easy to learn and easy to get a job there

      Cons

      Will work you to death for peanuts. Pays minimum wage but if they could go lower they would.

      Advice to Management

      If you stopped treating people like they were disposable then maybe they’d actually commit to staying longer than a month.

      JCP Portraits2018-12-16
    Found 202 reviews