JD Sports Fashion Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Assistant Manager

JD Sports Fashion Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.3
8%
Recommend to a Friend
11%
Approve of CEO
JD Sports Fashion CEO Peter Cowgill
Peter Cowgill
7 Ratings
  1. "part of hanesbrands inc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in San Marcos, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    comfy clothing and tennis shoes!

    Cons

    its a sister company of Hanesbrands and they are a terrible company to work for

    JD Sports Fashion2017-10-06
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Most backward people strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount, international opportunities

    Cons

    Honestly the worst corporate culture of any retailer I have worked for. They don’t let staff charge there phones in the store and make their staff rooms small and miserable. The communication from area managers loss control and other HO departments is negative, unhelpful and often downright rude. Managers are expected to work both days over the weekend as well as covering 6-7 days when another manager is on holiday.

    Advice to Management

    Look at how other retailers are looking after and developing their people rather than making their working environment super unpleasant.

    JD Sports Fashion2019-01-27
  3. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Sales Manager in Walkden, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount, engaging with customers

    Cons

    Snappy managers, didn't feel like I 'fit in' with the staff as they were very young. Very clicky staff.

    Advice to Management

    Have a level head and do not snap at your staff

    JD Sports Fashion2018-05-30
  4. "Horrendous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The fact the store was located near a Greggs, not that you get chance to eat it that is.

    Cons

    - Ridiculous shifts, late finishes constantly. - No enthusiasm from other staff, all just there for a laugh and joke. - Constant ridiculous, un-achievable targets. - 'Too many sheriffs, not enough indians' - Poor pay.

    Advice to Management

    Better train your staff.

    JD Sports Fashion2018-04-16
  5. "JD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Sales Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people working with you are all similar ages so easy to get along with

    Cons

    The company is basically run by children. No professionalism at all, they treat their staff with no respect and expect you to give them the world in return. I have never hated a job and the managers that worked there as much as JD. Plus even though my job title was Sales Assistant i was made to clean and act as security multiple times.

    Advice to Management

    Get a real training program. Pay your staff fairly. Employee more cleaners/security/maintenance workers so the sales assistants don't have to do things that aren't in their job descriptions.

    JD Sports Fashion2018-01-24
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people working for the business

    Cons

    Long hours for average pay

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    JD Sports Fashion2017-09-20
  7. "Poor Structure and Poor Practises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Discounts The Brand Available

    Cons

    No Structure Very Low Wage Budgets Demand Unrealistic By Higher Management No HR Structure

    JD Sports Fashion2017-10-17
  8. "Career changer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JD Sports Fashion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast paced environment with quick progression for staff. Good bonus scheme, loads of support for new managers

    Cons

    Long days, can be extremely demanding during peak trade. All the better to learn from!

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in managers who have been loyal to the company over the years. Review staff pay and look at introducing new strategies to engage staff all round

    JD Sports Fashion2017-08-15
  9. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager/Associate Manager/Assistant Manager in Bury, South East England, England

    I have been working at JD Sports Fashion for more than a year

    Pros

    opportunities may appear frequently there

    Cons

    No time for Personal life

    JD Sports Fashion2016-08-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worst job ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Burnley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hour dinner break. Laughable I know. ... Uhm that's it!! I have to finish a twenty word minimum... There we go.

    Cons

    Awful higher management. Low pay for the hours requested. Terrible training especially if you're new to fashion retail. No concept of disciplinary action, rude and unacceptable team members I was never allowed to give disaplinaries to, even after being told to f off by one of the guys in my team.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to train your managers, and rest of the team for that matter. Also, ensure your employees aren't being treated like dirt.

    JD Sports Fashion2016-07-24
Found 14 reviews