JD Williams Reviews | Glassdoor

JD Williams Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
JD Williams CEO Angela Spindler
Angela Spindler
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people , great facilities good fun(in 4 reviews)

  • "Learned a lot of work related skills from other co-workers, location is good since it was in the city centre, met a lot of nice people(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "New CEO and management team completely out of their depth and destroying what was once a great company(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at JD Williams full-time

    Pros

    Large design team with great manager. Always looking to future opportunities.

    Cons

    Constantly changing structure can be a distraction to daily work.

    JD Williams2017-06-15
  2. "Nice Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at JD Williams full-time

      Pros

      Learned a lot of work related skills from other co-workers, location is good since it was in the city centre, met a lot of nice people.

      Cons

      A bit muddled with their management, the office layout felt like a call centre.

      JD Williams2015-07-14
    • "Life at jd williams"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Adv in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great people , great facilities good fun

      Cons

      None , can’t think of any negatives

      Advice to Management

      None

      JD Williams2019-04-30
    • "Aggressive Management Style"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The staff discount and location

      Cons

      The management style was aggressive. Staff micromanaged and set with unachievable KPIs. To progress or develop career here you must be overtly friendly with management. Ethics are diabolical. HR were useless. Did not follow any procedure. Systems were useless.

      Advice to Management

      Get in the 21st century

      JD Williams2019-01-24
    • "Bad bonus structure - VERY bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Outbound Sales in Manchester, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible holidays Some great managers Relatively easy Not terrible pay

      Cons

      Extremely repetitive. Standard for an outbound role. You find pitches and techniques that work best, and you repeat them. Commission is almost a scam. You lose the lot if your returns are over 50% The average company returns are 60%. Targeted on literally everything, including toilet breaks

      Advice to Management

      Change your commission structure to make your best advisers stay.

      JD Williams2018-12-19
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at JD Williams full-time

      Pros

      Great people, good working hours

      Cons

      Limited Opportunities, declining share price.

      JD Williams2018-09-02
    • "Shop Assistant at Simply Be"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at JD Williams part-time

        Pros

        Staff and management were nice

        Cons

        Have been owed tax rebate for 3 years and whenever I call the manager (who was my manager at the time) claims to not have my records on file and cannot assist

        Advice to Management

        Keep records on file for the legally required amount of time (6 years)

        JD Williams2018-08-23
      • "Wouldn’t recommend at all."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Customer Recovery in Manchester, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at JD Williams full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        There really isn’t one. Other than the building we work in offers costa and lovely cooked meals.

        Cons

        Disrespectful management, forgotten staff, ridiculous expectations and bully’s for managers. It’s unfair to speak to staff the way that they do. The fifth floor “financial services” is treated so unfairly and poorly. Management are constantly changing our job roles without our permission or us knowing. Everything is to save money. Even at the expense of our bonus’ and customers get done over so much so that they fall...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Treat your staff as humans. Putting more pressure on us doesn’t get the best outcome. Happy staff work harder. Doesn’t help that the manager is a bully!

        JD Williams2018-06-01
      • "Enquiries Advisor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Enquiries Advisor in Manchester, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at JD Williams full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great incentives, Decent Pay, Amazing on-site facilities. Great short term job choice

        Cons

        Opportunities to grow are limited due to staffing size. Awkward set shifts. After working in small, close companies can be very cold and isolated as just another number.

        JD Williams2017-12-10
      • "An OK company to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Excellent discount and opportunity to grow and learn skills outside of your job spec. The second area manager I worked with was great to work for.

        Cons

        The company is very disorganised and wastes tonnes of money on things that then effect the overall business. This coupled with bad business acumen meant that they had to close 5 stores in recent times due to bad profit management. Head office have no idea how to run a tight knit ship.

        Advice to Management

        Figure out how brick and mortar stores work and don't overreach before the company had enough money to sustain stores, losing jobs does not make others feel stable in the company.

        JD Williams2017-10-07
      Found 49 reviews