JD Williams Reviews | Glassdoor

JD Williams Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
JD Williams CEO Angela Spindler
Angela Spindler
20 Ratings
  1. "Contact center agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at JD Williams full-time

      Pros

      Just your bog standard run of the mill call center job. Pays the bills not much else

      Cons

      Long hours, managers dont care. Sometimes can be hard if targets arnt meet

      Advice to Management

      Hire more managers to help people out who struggle with calls and stuff like that please

      JD Williams2016-02-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Customer service advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service in Manchester City Centre, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at JD Williams for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay and good hours

      Cons

      Too many targets can be hardtoacheive

      Advice to Management

      Very good and very supportive

      JD Williams2016-01-11
    • "Team Trainer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Team Trainer in Shaw, North West England, England
      Recommends

      I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Enjoyed meeting new people when training was needed

      Cons

      Early start 6.00 am but did have benefits when finishing at 2.00 pm

      JD Williams2016-02-14
    • "Customer Service"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Manchester City Centre, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at JD Williams

      Pros

      jd williams is a great company to work for

      Cons

      hi background voice and lots of people on the floor

      JD Williams2016-01-07
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at JD Williams full-time

      Pros

      Amazing people, very knowledgeable Varied and interesting work Lots of responsibility given to the right people Some great changes happening

      Cons

      Ability to manage change and retain knowledgeable staff

      Advice to Management

      Share information more freely with staff, make them feel valued

      JD Williams2016-01-06
    • "Just another number in the company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Enquiries Advisor in Manchester, England

        I worked at JD Williams for more than a year

        Pros

        Great people to work with and good benefits

        Cons

        Just another number to the company

        JD Williams2016-01-04
      • Helpful (1)

        "Good postion"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Trainer in Manchester City Centre, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Trained CSO staff on soft skills and systems training developed a good amount of commercial experience

        Cons

        This company generally was a great place to work. I can only say I had a good experience working here

        Advice to Management

        None to note

        JD Williams2015-11-06
      • Helpful (1)

        "Don't get walked over"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at JD Williams full-time

        Pros

        - Good training. - Free courses available I went on Presentation skills, Negotiation skills and Excel intermediate course. - Nice people to work with, feels like a family.

        Cons

        - VERY outdated - Systems are infuriating, a simple job would take hours because the systems don't interlink and you end up wasting your time on mindless data input. - Management are bias (trading manager freezing pay rises and making members redundant but then hires wife for a unnecessary role on top wage?) - I was sole assistant over two departments because trading manager wouldn't hire anyone else but also won't...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Stop exploitating of employees; Employees get manipulated into roles with more responsibility without any salary increase.

        JD Williams2015-11-21
      • Helpful (4)

        "Starting job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Buyers Assistant in Manchester, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at JD Williams

        Pros

        Experience, given lots of opportunities. Great place for a graduate to learn. City centre location is ideal. The people are great.

        Cons

        Salary and progression. Start you on a low salary and impossible to increase despite increased responsibilities - no real progression.

        JD Williams2015-09-28
      • Helpful (1)

        "Buyer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Buyer in Manchester, England

        I worked at JD Williams

        Pros

        A very rewarding place to work

        Cons

        Can be very stressful at times

        Advice to Management

        Make decisions and stick to them

        JD Williams2015-09-07
      Found 50 reviews