JHM Hotels Reviews | Glassdoor

JHM Hotels Reviews

Updated August 17, 2017
41 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
H.P. Rama
28 Ratings

41 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Manager in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - Front Desk Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JHM Hotels full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Hospitality at its highest
    Great company to work for if you love guest service
    Pay is not too bad for work done

    Cons

    Small company
    Moving up may be difficult because there arent many jobs


  2. "Great company to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Manager in Orlando, FL
    Former Employee - Front Desk Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Inventive
    Hard working
    Kind people
    Fun environment
    Great management

    Cons

    Long hours
    Doesn't pay very well

    Advice to Management

    Pay quality people quality salaries

  3. "Very wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hotel Employee
    Former Employee - Hotel Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JHM Hotels full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Very great benefits medical, 401k.

    Cons

    hotel management needs to be trained more on employ management relationships

    Advice to Management

    Have each hotel manager go through employee relationship training so there wont be a power struggle between managers and employees. We should work together.

    JHM Hotels Response

    Oct 7, 2015 – Vice President, Human Resources

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your time with JHM Hotels, we are always looking for ways to improve how we serve our associates, and this was very helpful.


  4. "Guest Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenville, SC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Company Culture is really great.

    Cons

    none everything has been great

    JHM Hotels Response

    Oct 21, 2015 – Vice President, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review!


  5. "Westin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Human Resources in Herndon, VA
    Current Employee - Director of Human Resources in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Commitment to guest, associates, community and the hotel. Open to feedback and suggestions. Resource Center (Corporate Office) actually functions as a resource for the individual units supplying insights and support.

    Cons

    No issues at this time. The company continues to grow and there will be some growing pains but that is to be expected.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to provide the support the operations need in order to meet the 5 Star Philosophy. Also consider capital expenses not as expenses but as a way to strengthen the asset to maintain or improve market share.


  6. "My Other Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - General Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great Support team from upper management and the resource center

    Cons

    Pay could always be better, but that's most places you go.

    JHM Hotels Response

    Nov 17, 2015 – Vice President, Human Resources

    Thank you, your caption says it all about our efforts to improve and become a better employer. It's not just a business , but a family of over 1800 serving together. I appreciate all of your comments.... More


  7. "Hospitality at its Finest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Lake Buena Vista, FL
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Lake Buena Vista, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JHM Hotels full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I was hired for one of JHM's new Delta properties, due to some delays the hotel wasn't able to open before the 2015 holidays so many of us were without income for the month, JHM made sure that we were all offered hours and pay as often as possible in some of their other properties. Management on all levels in all departments is always friendly and willing to answer questions. You really feel like they want to get to know who you are rather than just what you can do for them.

    Cons

    For me it isn't so much a con of the company, just situational. New hotel openings are always stressful, but there seemed to be a lot of disorganization throughout the process. But this isn't out of the ordinary from my experience.

    Advice to Management

    Just keep up what you are doing, I have only been an employee since Nov. 2015, but I really love this company!

    JHM Hotels Response

    Jan 18, 2016 – Vice President, Human Resources

    First, I'd like to say welcome to our family! Opening any new hotel is a challenge for sure, but the Delta team has kept their heads high and pushed on. Our first goal is always to look out for our... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager
    Current Employee - Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JHM Hotels full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Its hard to find a company that really cares for you... but when your CEO/President know your name - you've found it! It is important in this company for them to make sure that your goals are being met and helping you get where you need to be.

    Cons

    Occasionally it can feel as if the hotels are being put on the side burner with large expenses.

    Advice to Management

    The hotels have to be provided with the items necessary to run the hotels efficiently.

    JHM Hotels Response

    Jan 28, 2016 – Vice President, Human Resources

    Thank you so much for the review and comments. As always, they will be shared with leadership to help in improvement of expense approval and providing proper tools for the team.


  9. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager
    Current Employee - Sales Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great work life balance, great management, caring company. They give back to the communities.

    Cons

    Have not come across any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep Up The Great

    JHM Hotels Response

    Mar 15, 2016 – Vice President, Human Resources

    I can't put it any better than that! Thank you for being "awesome" and providing valuable comments on your experience.


  10. "Well Structured Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Coral Gables, FL
    Former Employee - Accountant in Coral Gables, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JHM Hotels full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The company is very well structured with every level of management lending support to the other. Plenty of opportunity for growth with loyalty and strong work ethic being rewarded frequently. Company is very caring and has a family atmosphere. Employee training methods are also among the best I have seen.

    Cons

    As with any hospitality job, the schedules can be difficult so work/life balance takes a hit, particularly for management. Pay and benefits were about average or slightly below.

    Advice to Management

    Not much, really a great company to work for, I would suggest to analyze the cost of living for each city where a managed property is located in order to provide more equitable wages.

    JHM Hotels Response

    Mar 15, 2016 – Vice President, Human Resources

    Thank you for such constructive feedback. Comments and suggestions such as yours are important to making your experience even better and I appreciate you taking time to provide it!


Showing 41 of 41 reviews
Reset Filters